Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Soy Candle Lavender -- 7.2 oz

Sometimes it feels good just to have a nice candle giving off some extra fragrance while you're busy with your chores. A Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day Candle can help you do exactly that. It's in a cute jelly jar that you can reuse as a juice glass or hold your marble collection. All candles are made from vegetable (soy) wax. For years the lavender herb has been valued for its wonderful relaxing scent that’s soothing and believed to relieve fatigue. What more could you ask of an herb? The Real Mrs. Thelma A. Meyer. People are always asking "Is Mrs. Meyer a real person?" Well by golly I'm here to confirm it once and for all. My name is Thelma Meyer and my daughter started Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day to honor my good old-fashioned values. I'm retired now but I have cleaned my own home for more than 40 years and believe me after raising nine children I know a little something about cleaning. If only I had these products back then it would have made our chores more enjoyable. Today I use my cleansers around our home in Iowa as well as our camper in Arizona where I go with my husband Vern in the winter. Our fragrances are inspired by our gardens. We plucked essential oils from garden-fresh flowers and herbs that are especially powerful against dirt grime fingerprints and the like. Our philosophy is to make straightforward honest cleaners that smell good and work like the dickens on dirt. They are also aromatherapeutic which is another fancy word for healthy and good. So no I'm not a cleaning superhero but I really do exist. And every once in a while I show up at an event or drop by the office to answer some customer phone calls. Natural Ingredients. Mrs. Meyer’s Clean Day makes honest hardworking cleaners that work like the dickens on dirt. Remember keeping clean is easy. All you need is a sensible pair of shoes a little elbow grease and the right soap. Biodegradable. Mrs. Meyer’s makes environmentally friendly biodegradable cleaning products. All of our liquid cleaning products will biodegrade. Our powdered products do contain minerals that do not biodegrade; yet they break down into non-harmful decomposition products. Cruelty-Free Products -- No Animal Testing. Mrs. Meyer’s Clean Day manufactures cruelty-free cleaning products. None of our products have ever been tested on animals and never will be. Safety & Allergies. We want a healthy world for ourselves our families and our pets. That is why Mrs. Meyer’s Clean Day products are safe to use in the presence of children pets and expectant women. There are no solvents no petroleum distillates no bleach no phosphates and no ingredients that could cause harsh fumes. In addition most of our products have a near neutral pH that makes them safe for skin contact. Simply follow the directions on every product. Please keep in mind that our products are richly fragranced and some women have increased sensitivity to fragrances during pregnancy – sometimes this creates a very positive feeling sometimes quite the opposite.
Overall rating:
4.067 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
13 out of 15(87%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Soy Candle Lavender -- 7.2 oz
Review 1 for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Soy Candle Lavender -- 7.2 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Maglyn
fromCa
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great candle
 June 19, 2014
"Excellent candle for the price. Nice scent"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Soy Candle Lavender -- 7.2 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jayersgould
fromBay City, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Strong, Beautiful Scent and Clean Burning
 June 10, 2014
"This candle was one of the most strong and pleasing fragrances I have ever experienced and being a soy candle, it was very clean burning and long-lasting. Even though it is a small candle, it adequately fragranced a large 12 x 12 room. I will definitely recommend this brand and purchase it again. I am very pleased with this purchase."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Soy Candle Lavender -- 7.2 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
littlemissbeaner
fromNew York
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love these.
 June 4, 2014
"Great smell. I would love them more if they lasted longer but the fragrance is so pleasant i cant help but give them five stars."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Soy Candle Lavender -- 7.2 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tessg
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Lovely Lavender
 May 16, 2014
"I absolutely love the smell of this lavender candle. It burns really well with no black smoke. I also found it lasted much longer than some other candles. The scent is just enough to make the room smell nice but isn't overwhelming."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Soy Candle Lavender -- 7.2 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
FIREPLACEGIRL
fromMARYLAND
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
long burning
 May 8, 2014
"These candles have a great aroma and lasts throughout the burning of the candle. Long lasting and no black smoke when it burns."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Soy Candle Lavender -- 7.2 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
JFrazee76
fromGilbert, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Smells great but not what I expected
 April 19, 2014
"I also bought the basil candle with this and would pick the lavender over the basil. The basil doesn't put off any kind of smell but the lavender does. However its really subtle which is okay but I would love the whole room to smell like the candle. Maybe my expectations were too high, but its just because I love Mrs. Meyers products!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Soy Candle Lavender -- 7.2 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
WineCountryGirl
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Lavender????
 April 14, 2014
"This candle does not smell remotely like lavender. The smell is more like .... cleaning supplies. Not exactly unpleasant, but a little synthetic-smelling. Also, the scent is pretty overwhelming. I didn't have the candle burning for more than 15 minutes before the entire house (upstairs too!) was scented enough to make me feel a little nauseated. The two stars are for nice packaging and props to Mrs. Meyers for making an affordable soy candle."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Soy Candle Lavender -- 7.2 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BodybuildingRN
fromNew England
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Long-lasting scent
 February 25, 2014
"This is the first soy candle I've used - I am impressed by how evenly and cleanly it burns. The lavender scent is pretty strong floral/perfume-y; it's not *totally* natural smelling, but it's not at all unpleasant. The candle works as an air freshener even when not lit - just remove the lid. Love that it comes in a reusable glass jar with a tightly sealing lid."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Soy Candle Lavender -- 7.2 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
mjbc
fromMckinleyville, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Smells great, but hard to light the candle
 January 6, 2014
"Initially I had no issues lighting the candle. Afterwards, it would take me a really long time trying to light the wick, as it gets covered by the wax. I had to clean off the wick with paper towels and tweezers to light the candle. Perhaps I got a faulty product, not sure. It's great that it's cruelty free which is why I bought the product in the first place."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Soy Candle Lavender -- 7.2 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RaylansGirl
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Best lavender scent ever!
 July 23, 2013
"This is by far my favorite of any scent. Other candles say they are a certain scent but when lit you can't really notice it. Mrs. Meyer's candles fill the whole house with the scent, and the lavender one is my absolute favorite along with any other cleaning products in the line."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Soy Candle Lavender -- 7.2 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
newby97
fromBerkeley, Ca
Awful smell
 May 1, 2013
"This is the worst smelling candle I've ever purchased. I gave it away."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Soy Candle Lavender -- 7.2 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DRenee
fromMilwaukee, WI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Lot of scent for a few dollars
 November 4, 2011
"We use quite a few soy candles every year and I have to say that this one is the most reasonably priced. That said, I do wish the wick were lead free. That would make it five stars in all categories!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Soy Candle Lavender -- 7.2 oz
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product