Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Room Freshener Lavender -- 8 fl oz

Mrs. Meyer’s Clean Day Room Freshener contains natural essential oils and fragrance to quickly freshen any room. Comes in a non-aerosol bottle this earth-friendly formula is such a treat! For years the lavender herb has been valued for its wonderful relaxing scent that’s soothing and believed to relieve fatigue. What more could you ask of an herb? The Real Mrs. Thelma A. Meyer. People are always asking "Is Mrs. Meyer a real person?" Well by golly I'm here to confirm it once and for all. My name is Thelma Meyer and my daughter started Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day to honor my good old-fashioned values. I'm retired now but I have cleaned my own home for more than 40 years and believe me after raising nine children I know a little something about cleaning. If only I had these products back then it would have made our chores more enjoyable. Today I use my cleansers around our home in Iowa as well as our camper in Arizona where I go with my husband Vern in the winter. Our fragrances are inspired by our gardens. We plucked essential oils from garden-fresh flowers and herbs that are especially powerful against dirt grime fingerprints and the like. Our philosophy is to make straightforward honest cleaners that smell good and work like the dickens on dirt. They are also aromatherapeutic which is another fancy word for healthy and good. So no I'm not a cleaning superhero but I really do exist. And every once in a while I show up at an event or drop by the office to answer some customer phone calls. Natural Ingredients. Mrs. Meyer’s Clean Day makes honest hardworking cleaners that work like the dickens on dirt. Remember keeping clean is easy. All you need is a sensible pair of shoes a little elbow grease and the right soap. Biodegradable. Mrs. Meyer’s makes environmentally friendly biodegradable cleaning products. All of our liquid cleaning products will biodegrade. Our powdered products do contain minerals that do not biodegrade; yet they break down into non-harmful decomposition products. Cruelty-Free Products -- No Animal Testing. Mrs. Meyer’s Clean Day manufactures cruelty-free cleaning products. None of our products have ever been tested on animals and never will be. Safety & Allergies. We want a healthy world for ourselves our families and our pets. That is why Mrs. Meyer’s Clean Day products are safe to use in the presence of children pets and expectant women. There are no solvents no petroleum distillates no bleach no phosphates and no ingredients that could cause harsh fumes. In addition most of our products have a near neutral pH that makes them safe for skin contact. Simply follow the directions on every product. Please keep in mind that our products are richly fragranced and some women have increased sensitivity to fragrances during pregnancy – sometimes this creates a very positive feeling sometimes quite the opposite.
Overall rating:
3.919 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
22
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
7
26 out of 37(70%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Room Freshener Lavender -- 8 fl oz
Review 1 for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Room Freshener Lavender -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
romf
fromIL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Lavender scent is way too strong.
 June 17, 2014
"I bought this product because I love the smell of lavender. However, this obnoxiously strong perfume smell emanates throughout my whole house with one tiny spray in the bathroom. I'm going to have to super dilute it, to tolerate it. Unfortunately, I bought two. I never have liked strong perfume scents. I expected it to be a more natural product. I hold my breath when spraying and run out of the room. wow"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Room Freshener Lavender -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
schnibbler
fromBuckingham, PA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Just what I was looking for!
 June 1, 2014
"It's smell is subtle and effective.
Best part for me is that it's non aerosol.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Room Freshener Lavender -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Anonymous73
fromLong Island, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Gross
 May 22, 2014
"Not at all what I expected, especially from the other Reviews. Let me tell you, yuck! I don't smell any Lavender. It's more like a strong, spicy mess. I can't even describe it. It's indescribable. I am going to return it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Room Freshener Lavender -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MsAllergy
fromBoston
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Effective room deodorizer
 May 4, 2014
"Don't need much of this spray to totally cover offensive orders. Plus, the lavender has a very soothing effect on the spirit! Lovely, subtle smell. And a good buy."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Room Freshener Lavender -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
oreospeedwagon
fromPennsylvania
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
a little disappointed
 May 2, 2014
"I read the ingredients on this website and "fragrance" is listed last. On the bottle, it is the third item listed, before the essential oils. I would like a more natural spray. It's ok,"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Room Freshener Lavender -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dream15x
fromMammoth Lakes, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Lavender
 March 2, 2014
"The scent is slightly too strong for me, but this definitely rids of the bad odors."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Room Freshener Lavender -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Magnolias
fromArkansas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Perfect!
 November 12, 2013
"Love this scent and the lingering ...."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Room Freshener Lavender -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HarleyMama63
fromMilwaukee,WI
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love the scent
 October 17, 2013
"I bought this so I can spray in room, pillows, & blankets to help me fall asleep. This has helped me alot It relaxes me enough to fall asleep"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Room Freshener Lavender -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
CatF
fromColchester, VT
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
not what you would expect
 July 30, 2013
"I was under the impression this brand was primo. smells nothing like lavender. more like sweet candy. i should have known..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Room Freshener Lavender -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Shue
fromManchester, NH
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Smells funny
 July 23, 2013
"The whole reason for buying this room freshener is to make my house smell nice, which is difficult to do with this product. My family and friends had a neutral opinion to the scent but I found it very unappealing. Needless to say it smells nothing like lavender. I use Mrs. Meyer's basil scented products which smell great :) I would love a basil room freshener."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Room Freshener Lavender -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ShopWhisperer54
fromSpencer, OK
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Pricey, but worth it.
 June 20, 2013
"I've been using Mrs. Meyers products since I found them several years ago. They are available at Target, but VItacost has a better price. This air freshener was a surprise, as it's somewhat spicey, but w/a noticeable hint of lavender. A little bit goes a long way & it lasts in the room for quite sometime. Will continue to purchase & recommend to anyone who wants a nice fragrant room freshener that's natural."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Room Freshener Lavender -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ruby2sday
fromnowhere, wyoming
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
I love this fragrance
 December 14, 2012
"We've used other natural air fresheners but this one rules. We love the fragrance plus the pumper is, to me, is preferrable to aerosol."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Room Freshener Lavender -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
allenmalu4
fromMinnesota
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
sept 2012
 September 12, 2012
"We have been using this product, lavender, for approx 2 yrs. The fragrance is long lasting. Just wish Vitacost carried all the other fragrances. Will purchase again"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Room Freshener Lavender -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Tallchick1966
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Harsh chemical smell
 July 14, 2012
"I prefer a more natural product. This spray does indeed reduce odors and provides a fresh scent, but I'm not sure it's much safer than the air fresheners I was trying to avoid. It left me with a stinging feeling in the back of my throat."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Room Freshener Lavender -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Noly
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
 July 11, 2012
"This product has a very pleasant scent you will love."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Room Freshener Lavender -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hitman71
fromWebster Texas
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
 July 2, 2012
"This is the only air freshener I use now. Along with all the other Mrs. Meyer's products. People are always asking me what it is."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Room Freshener Lavender -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
abwm
fromWoodstock, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Decent
 July 1, 2012
"If you like Mrs. Meyer's lavender fragrance line then you'll love this product. I tried this and ended up giving it to a friend who I know loves Mrs. Meyer's lavender scent. I, however, love the basil scent the best!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Room Freshener Lavender -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BellaTB
fromKY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
So far so good
 June 4, 2012
"Just started using this in the bathroom. It seems to be very effective but a little goes a long way! Its potent! I would use it anywhere in my house."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Room Freshener Lavender -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BBBabe
fromSonoma County, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Better than orange
 May 30, 2012
"This scent is so nice to freshen up a room-especially the restroom. I appreciate the light scent that does the job."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Mrs. Meyer's Clean Day® Room Freshener Lavender -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
GratefulLucyA
I like it
 May 24, 2012
"This doesn't smell like lavender to me at all. It reminds me of my grandma's homemade applesauce (did that actually have a smell?). Not lavender, but it's pleasant and it does freshen up the room. One spray is all you need and it makes the room feel "clean". Weird that it doesn't even hint of lavender... but I like it."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next