Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Snacks or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Yogourmet Probiotic Yogurt Freeze-Dried Starter -- 1 oz

Contains: Casei Bifidus Acidophilus. Live Cultures and Active Cultures
Overall rating:
4.368 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
17 out of 19(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Yogourmet Probiotic Yogurt Freeze-Dried Starter -- 1 oz
Review 1 for Yogourmet Probiotic Yogurt Freeze-Dried Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
padraig
fromLynchburg, VA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
makes good yogurt
 May 24, 2015
"I get the best results by using 2 pkts of starter per quart of milk, even though the directions call for using 1 pkt. Making it with 1 pkt gave a yogurt that was too thin for me. Two pkts makes a quart of mild tasting, thick and creamy yogurt. Delicious!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Yogourmet Probiotic Yogurt Freeze-Dried Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mayie
fromTexas
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
It is a good products easy to use.
 January 17, 2015
"One of the good features is that is in individual
servings.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Yogourmet Probiotic Yogurt Freeze-Dried Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Qman
fromDallas, Texas
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Always Sets Good Yogurt
 December 10, 2014
"I have a Eurocusine yogurt maker and this starter never fails."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Yogourmet Probiotic Yogurt Freeze-Dried Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
livingpeaceful
fromPainter, VA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Very good and easy to use
 August 18, 2014
"I have used this starter the last 4 months. I make yogurt every week and this has a good consistancy and flavor. I leave my yogurt for 24 hours, add honey and refrigerate for at least 6 hours."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Yogourmet Probiotic Yogurt Freeze-Dried Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Icecream1982
fromChina
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
unsuccessful
 August 14, 2014
"I'm trying to find out what had gone wrong. This did not turn out so well - I only got a runny liquid yoghurt. like milk mixed a little cream....all three times failure...."
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Yogourmet Probiotic Yogurt Freeze-Dried Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TexasFive
Really good stuff
 June 1, 2014
"Really good stuff - but I have a yogurt maker to make it in."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Yogourmet Probiotic Yogurt Freeze-Dried Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
romf
fromIL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
makes a creamy yogurt
 April 6, 2014
"This yogurt starter not only provides the valuable probiotics, but tastes great too! My family enjoys adding nuts, granola, fruit, honey and more to this healthy snack. I use it in out smoothies with frozen fruit for a breakfast option for my teenager. I also add it to my pups dog food. They love it. The starter doesn't require refrigeration like other brands. I use the 15 hour setting on my yogurt maker."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Yogourmet Probiotic Yogurt Freeze-Dried Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RattlerFan
Excellent results.
 December 4, 2013
"This yogurt starter is far superior to any other when making greek-type yogurt. The results are smooth and creamy, plus providing probiotics."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Yogourmet Probiotic Yogurt Freeze-Dried Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Krat828
fromBelle Mead, NJ
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Makes Great Yogurt
 November 21, 2013
"I use this with every yogurt batch and get great, thick yogurt ( I also use whole milk to get rich texture and flavor). I love that I know I am getting good probiotics without the additives with other yogurts. If you want thicker yogurt (like greek) go for closer to 20 hours before putting in fridge."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Yogourmet Probiotic Yogurt Freeze-Dried Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mavri888
fromSan Francisco
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
YogourmayI - works well
 October 15, 2013
"I use 1 packet to three quarts whole milk in slow cooker. Heat to 200, cool to 100, mix in gently, keep at temp for 8 hours or so, keeping in oven with light or pilot on frequently works, test with thermometer."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Yogourmet Probiotic Yogurt Freeze-Dried Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Lucee123
fromSt. Louis
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Only for use in Yogourmet Yogurt maker
 September 29, 2013
"The fact that this product is not clearly labeled is frustrating. I purchased it without realizing that it only works properly in the Yogourmet Yogurt makers. I tried three batches each turning out to be totally inedible. Unless you have their yogurt maker, I would suggest you not purchase this product."
+9points
10of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Yogourmet Probiotic Yogurt Freeze-Dried Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
SunPrairieHousewife
fromSun Prairie, WI
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great taste, but not reusable
 September 16, 2013
"I bought this yoghurt starter with the intention of producing a (quart) batch of homemade yoghurt from organic milk at least twice a week. The yoghurt turned out very tasty and creamy, but I had expected to be able to set aside a small portion from the first batch to use as a starter for the second batch. This did not turn out so well - I only got a very sour and runny liquid from the second batch. As it turns out, this yoghurt starter is not reusable.
If you're looking to create your own sustainable yoghurt culture, I recommend simply buying a plain yoghurt with live cultures from the store and using a few spoonfuls of that as your first starter."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Yogourmet Probiotic Yogurt Freeze-Dried Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
loyal1
fromColorado
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
makes great yogurt
 May 8, 2013
"Works great! Only wish it wasn't so expensive. Discovered I can use 1 envelope plus 1 6oz commercial vanilla yogurt in 1/2 gallon milk and still get nice results."
+1point
4of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Yogourmet Probiotic Yogurt Freeze-Dried Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
naturegram
fromNewington, Ct
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great Starter
 February 24, 2011
"Love making my own yogurt. Make it in a glass container instead of the plastic when you buy it. Can make 1 qt. of organic yogurt for half the cost of readymade."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Yogourmet Probiotic Yogurt Freeze-Dried Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Olivejar
Yogourmet Yogurt Starter with Probiotics
 March 3, 2010
"Excellent product (though a little pricey) and arrived on time."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Yogourmet Probiotic Yogurt Freeze-Dried Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ajlq
Perfection!
 December 28, 2009
"This starter made terrific yogurt, thick and rich, and if you compare the nutrition information with other starters, you'll find that it's much healthier. The full directions for this product imply that the corresponding yogurt maker must be used but that's not necessary, I don't have that brand and mine turned out great, although it may be necessary to have their brand to create the full range of cultures (their maker takes longer as it heats at a lower temperature).
Highly recommend although the other variety from the same brand is much cheaper so I'll try that and compare."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Yogourmet Probiotic Yogurt Freeze-Dried Starter -- 1 oz
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product