Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Snacks or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

bella+bella Yogurt Starter with Probiotics -- 1 oz

Casei. Bifidus. Acidophilus. Freeze Dried Yogurt Starter. Use With Yogourmet II or Multi Yogurt Makers
Overall rating:
4.462 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
10
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
12 out of 13(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for bella+bella Yogurt Starter with Probiotics -- 1 oz
Review 1 for bella+bella Yogurt Starter with Probiotics -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
romf
fromIL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
makes a creamy yogurt
 April 6, 2014
"This yogurt starter not only provides the valuable probiotics, but tastes great too! My family enjoys adding nuts, granola, fruit, honey and more to this healthy snack. I use it in out smoothies with frozen fruit for a breakfast option for my teenager. I also add it to my pups dog food. They love it. The starter doesn't require refrigeration like other brands. I use the 15 hour setting on my yogurt maker."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for bella+bella Yogurt Starter with Probiotics -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RattlerFan
Excellent results.
 December 4, 2013
"This yogurt starter is far superior to any other when making greek-type yogurt. The results are smooth and creamy, plus providing probiotics."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for bella+bella Yogurt Starter with Probiotics -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Krat828
fromBelle Mead, NJ
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Makes Great Yogurt
 November 21, 2013
"I use this with every yogurt batch and get great, thick yogurt ( I also use whole milk to get rich texture and flavor). I love that I know I am getting good probiotics without the additives with other yogurts. If you want thicker yogurt (like greek) go for closer to 20 hours before putting in fridge."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for bella+bella Yogurt Starter with Probiotics -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Mavri888
fromSan Francisco
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
YogourmayI - works well
 October 15, 2013
"I use 1 packet to three quarts whole milk in slow cooker. Heat to 200, cool to 100, mix in gently, keep at temp for 8 hours or so, keeping in oven with light or pilot on frequently works, test with thermometer."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for bella+bella Yogurt Starter with Probiotics -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Lucee123
fromSt. Louis
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Only for use in Yogourmet Yogurt maker
 September 29, 2013
"The fact that this product is not clearly labeled is frustrating. I purchased it without realizing that it only works properly in the Yogourmet Yogurt makers. I tried three batches each turning out to be totally inedible. Unless you have their yogurt maker, I would suggest you not purchase this product."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for bella+bella Yogurt Starter with Probiotics -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
SunPrairieHousewife
fromSun Prairie, WI
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great taste, but not reusable
 September 16, 2013
"I bought this yoghurt starter with the intention of producing a (quart) batch of homemade yoghurt from organic milk at least twice a week. The yoghurt turned out very tasty and creamy, but I had expected to be able to set aside a small portion from the first batch to use as a starter for the second batch. This did not turn out so well - I only got a very sour and runny liquid from the second batch. As it turns out, this yoghurt starter is not reusable.
If you're looking to create your own sustainable yoghurt culture, I recommend simply buying a plain yoghurt with live cultures from the store and using a few spoonfuls of that as your first starter."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for bella+bella Yogurt Starter with Probiotics -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
loyal1
fromColorado
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
makes great yogurt
 May 8, 2013
"Works great! Only wish it wasn't so expensive. Discovered I can use 1 envelope plus 1 6oz commercial vanilla yogurt in 1/2 gallon milk and still get nice results."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for bella+bella Yogurt Starter with Probiotics -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
naturegram
fromNewington, Ct
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great Starter
 February 24, 2011
"Love making my own yogurt. Make it in a glass container instead of the plastic when you buy it. Can make 1 qt. of organic yogurt for half the cost of readymade."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for bella+bella Yogurt Starter with Probiotics -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Olivejar
Yogourmet Yogurt Starter with Probiotics
 March 3, 2010
"Excellent product (though a little pricey) and arrived on time."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for bella+bella Yogurt Starter with Probiotics -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ajlq
Perfection!
 December 28, 2009
"This starter made terrific yogurt, thick and rich, and if you compare the nutrition information with other starters, you'll find that it's much healthier. The full directions for this product imply that the corresponding yogurt maker must be used but that's not necessary, I don't have that brand and mine turned out great, although it may be necessary to have their brand to create the full range of cultures (their maker takes longer as it heats at a lower temperature).
Highly recommend although the other variety from the same brand is much cheaper so I'll try that and compare."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for bella+bella Yogurt Starter with Probiotics -- 1 oz
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product