Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Seasonings & Spices or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Modern Products Spike® Original Magic Gourmet Natural Seasoning -- 14 oz

All Purpose. New Label - Same Great Spike! New Taste Excitement Starts here! Spike Adds Zip & Zest to All Foods! From the Italian kitchens of internationally acclaimed gourmet nutritionist Gayelord Hauser comes this special blend of 39 flavorful herbs vegetables and non-irradiated exotic spices with just the right amount of salt crystals. Discover the taste excitement that has made SPIKE ORIGINAL MAGIC! the favorite all purpose seasoner with great chefs everywhere. SPIKE ORIGINAL MAGIC! adds a little magic to every meal.  . It's terrific on salads sauces stews meats eggs cottage cheese pizzas barbecues vegetables salad dressings dips appetizers popcorn tomato drinks snacks and main courses. SPIKE ORIGINAL MAGIC! adds great flavor not calories!
Overall rating:
4.913 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
23 out of 23(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Modern Products Spike® Original Magic Gourmet Natural Seasoning -- 14 oz
Review 1 for Modern Products Spike® Original Magic Gourmet Natural Seasoning -- 14 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
brainonsups
fromTexas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
General seasoning
 July 1, 2014
"i love this seasoning. However, be aware that it does contain salt. If you use this, don't add any salt separately!
I use it as my favorite seasoning.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Modern Products Spike® Original Magic Gourmet Natural Seasoning -- 14 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
courtme
fromCalifornia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Belongs in EVERY kitchen!
 May 10, 2014
"Spike is the perfect seasoning for so many dishes, from eggs to pasta sauce. I use Spike daily. I love being able to purchase the more environmentally friendly and economical 14 oz. size. It is the best seasoning for just about any dish!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Modern Products Spike® Original Magic Gourmet Natural Seasoning -- 14 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DebLovesAlvin
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Spike is AMAZING!!! :)
 February 28, 2014
"This seasoning is just wonderful!!! I use it in everything I make! My soups, rice, eggs, anything!! I love it and can't cook without it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Modern Products Spike® Original Magic Gourmet Natural Seasoning -- 14 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chloso
fromSarasota, Fl
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best spice for everything
 January 27, 2014
"I use this for everything...it is the best spice you could find ....over 30 spices all in one"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Modern Products Spike® Original Magic Gourmet Natural Seasoning -- 14 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
romf
fromIL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This Spike is delicious in all foods!
 September 25, 2013
"I especially love the flavors in the 'original' Spike. This seasoning makes all my meals and salads taste so-o good. I always get compliments from my family on all my meals. I also use it when canning soups. I'm glad Vitacost sells the 14 oz size for all my cooking needs. I appreciate the savings and quick delivery Vitacost offers. It makes my life a lot easier!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Modern Products Spike® Original Magic Gourmet Natural Seasoning -- 14 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
matriar
fromDE
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
It's ON my list.
 September 21, 2013
"Spike has always been a favorite. Just recently I used it to replace a seafood seasoning for alaskan king crab and shrimp. I have to say it did a wonderful job to add seasoning too and a nice change of pace from the normal seafood seasoning too. With this Spike seasoning you just can't go wrong."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Modern Products Spike® Original Magic Gourmet Natural Seasoning -- 14 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trixie2012
fromEcuador
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Really good product
 August 5, 2013
"Original Spike is good on everything from egg salad to alvacado to chicken cooked in a crockpot! Vitacost has a great price for it too. I was lucky to get it as a bogo."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Modern Products Spike® Original Magic Gourmet Natural Seasoning -- 14 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ecletic
fromNew York, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Didn't realize how much I got..
 May 11, 2013
"I have been using Spike seasoning for years. It give you a nice blend of spices with sea salt yet not a whole lot of sodium with a lot of flavor. I sprinkle it on everything and use very little to season salads, or roasted vegetables.
It's a larger box than I had before. This will last me a long time."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Modern Products Spike® Original Magic Gourmet Natural Seasoning -- 14 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
earthworker
fromNorth Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
YUMMY!!!
 May 4, 2013
"This is a great product. I've been using it for over 30 years and find it's delicious on so many things....including popcorn. It's a wonderful general seasoning with a well balanced flavor of blended spices and vegetables."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Modern Products Spike® Original Magic Gourmet Natural Seasoning -- 14 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LoriClinchAdams
fromWinter Haven, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This one product replaces a variety of others
 March 25, 2013
"Using spike replaces up to 20 other spices and herbs that I would season with so it's a no brainer."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Modern Products Spike® Original Magic Gourmet Natural Seasoning -- 14 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
iammamacoley
fromManti, UT
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
 February 11, 2013
"My kids love this on most of their veggies; especially potatoes."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Modern Products Spike® Original Magic Gourmet Natural Seasoning -- 14 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cookiegirl
fromPasco, WA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best mixture of spices in one place
 January 26, 2013
"I've been using Spike for years after trying it at a Health Food restaurant. It has the best mixture of spices in one place with the best flavor."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Modern Products Spike® Original Magic Gourmet Natural Seasoning -- 14 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kuickcarl
fromartinez Ca.
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great Spice
 January 18, 2013
"Can't cook without it.Been using it for over 20 years. It is a must have spice in your cabinet. You can put it on anything you would put salt on"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Modern Products Spike® Original Magic Gourmet Natural Seasoning -- 14 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
magimagic
fromnew york, ny
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Best value anywhere
 November 6, 2012
"I use this for seasoning EVERYTHING. Healthy combination of hers and spices keeping sodium in take low. Not sodium free however a wonderful balance of healthy ingredients and a terrific value"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Modern Products Spike® Original Magic Gourmet Natural Seasoning -- 14 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sceptre
fromSomerset, UK
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
 September 21, 2012
"I have used Spike for seasoning food - everything but deserts - since 1978. Now that I live in the UK, I cannot find it here so rely on Vitacost to ship internationally. My family say no one seasons food the way that I do - and I have had so share my secret ingredient - SPIKE. Love it!!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Modern Products Spike® Original Magic Gourmet Natural Seasoning -- 14 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ValyaK
fromSan Francisco, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Excellent product, using it many years!
 August 6, 2012
"I started to use this particular Spike mix at least 6 years ago, and it never failed to add great taste to any soup, meat, chicken, fish, vegetables - anything. I'm pretty sensitive to any non-natural ingredients, and this is what is the best about this mix - it is very well balanced and natural. Thank a lot!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Modern Products Spike® Original Magic Gourmet Natural Seasoning -- 14 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
dvit2
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Recommend
 July 4, 2012
"Our family has used this product for years, but our local health store prices have increased considerably. I was happy to find that you carry this product at a better price."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Modern Products Spike® Original Magic Gourmet Natural Seasoning -- 14 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Montie
fromTexas
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
My Favorite Seasoning
 June 21, 2012
"I have used Spike for years and it is the secret to my cooking. My family and I love the way it makes vegetables, meats, salads and soups taste. I buy it by the box and use it every day. It is wonderful! At one time I was restricting salt, and my doctor said I could still use Spike."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Modern Products Spike® Original Magic Gourmet Natural Seasoning -- 14 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ruralroot
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Family Member
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Enhances everything
 July 16, 2011
"I love Spike. It subtly enhances the flavor of any meat, vegetable, or casserole."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Modern Products Spike® Original Magic Gourmet Natural Seasoning -- 14 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Okimama
fromOkinawa Japan
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 June 6, 2011
"We can't live without it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next