Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Assorted Seafood or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Emerald Cove Sea Vegetables -Kombu -- 1.76 oz

Premium Quality Dried Seaweed. An Edible Ocean Plant. Emerald Cove® Kombu is a fine source of natural sodium glutamate and when used as a base for soups and broths acts as a natural flavor enhancer for all other ingredients. Kombu also softens beans and makes their protein more digestible.
Overall rating:
4.778 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(9 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 9 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
9 out of 9(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Emerald Cove Sea Vegetables -Kombu -- 1.76 oz
Review 1 for Emerald Cove Sea Vegetables -Kombu -- 1.76 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TRILD
fromFL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Perfect
 August 10, 2015
"I love putting some in my bone broth & letting it simmer for hours...adds good iodine & flavor"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Emerald Cove Sea Vegetables -Kombu -- 1.76 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gkitty
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
health giving product
 June 22, 2015
"Using sea vegetables is an easy way to get iodine (necessary for thyroid health) into my body. I add Kombu to soup broths. DON"T use iodized table salt to add iodine to your diet since it is a "dead" salt, processed in a factory, with synthetic iodine added. Your body can't utilize iodized table salt and it is very hard on the kidneys. Use a high quality air-dried sea salt, instead. Two things your kidneys need are water and salt; the right kind, of course."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Emerald Cove Sea Vegetables -Kombu -- 1.76 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
urbanhomesteader
fromTri-Cities, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Needed for cooking legumes
 May 7, 2015
"I read a great article a long while back on how to make beans the most digestible and nutritious. It mentioned soaking beans for several days even, with a piece of kombu in it.
Even a half or quarter piece is sufficient for soaking with the beans. I change out the water twice a day and soak for 3-5 days. Then I cut the kombu with kitchen scissors into small pieces and cook with the beans in my pressure cooker. Stovetop cooking is even better as the kombu will break down and enrich the bean "gravy" even more. Great umami flavor addition!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Emerald Cove Sea Vegetables -Kombu -- 1.76 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anon2207
fromUnited States
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Adds "Sea" Flavor
 April 7, 2015
"I use bits of this in curries and soups that call for fish sauce or other fishy items. I unfortunately cannot stomach fish for whatever reason, but in recipes that rely on that flavor profile (like thai foods or pho stock) I find this adds that bit of oomph to balance the taste. Bonus is the added iodine!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Emerald Cove Sea Vegetables -Kombu -- 1.76 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AllyTheNatureVegan
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
 May 26, 2014
"I use this to add to my beans when cooking to make them softer and more digestible. It works, and you can also make dashi with it"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Emerald Cove Sea Vegetables -Kombu -- 1.76 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NanaRuth
fromWaynesville GA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Have never found a better product
 June 2, 2013
"I use the Kombu in many recipes, and always with outstanding results. I like the way it cooks up, and the freshness of the taste in my recipes. I will not be using any other brand in the future."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Emerald Cove Sea Vegetables -Kombu -- 1.76 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
BiskyPal
fromMichigan East
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Very Tasty and Mild Seaweed
 April 29, 2013
"I decided to try this because I wanted to increase my intake of iodine. I was skeptical that it would be something that I would want to keep eating. Found it very easy to cook. Eating it was no problem, a very mild taste. Its drawback would be that it is still "rubbery" and needs to be cut with a knife- fork will not do. So after I cook it, I then cut it into little squares and add it to chicken or tuna salad, or just about any kind of casserole.
Haven't been using it long enough to mention if it is making benefits - but do know that it hasn't harmed in any way.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Emerald Cove Sea Vegetables -Kombu -- 1.76 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jeanjackie
fromCleveland, OH
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Decent product.
 January 7, 2013
"New to Kombu -- bought it to flavor soup, less for health reasons. Taste is very mild but that might be because I don't use a lot of it. Does impart interesting texture and color to soup when it hydrates."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Emerald Cove Sea Vegetables -Kombu -- 1.76 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taste:
4 / 5
4 / 5
OralB
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Kombu
 January 8, 2012
"Knowing that seaweed is a superfood containing more nutrients than all land vegetables makes me feel good about eating it regularly. I wish there were more in each bag, but it is a very thick, solid seaweed/sea vegetable. I use it to make a delicious Japanese seaweed cucumber salad, or to dice up & toss into seaweed soup made with chicken broth."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.