Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

Surya Brasil Henna Cream Hair Coloring Light Brown -- 2.31 fl oz

Hair Coloring and Hair Treatment. With Vegetable Extracts. Does Not Contain Ammonia PPD Peroxide Parabens Resorcinol Heavy Metals or GMOs. Cruelty Free. Certified Vegan. Surya Henna Cream colors while conditioning moisturizing and revitalizing your hair. Our formula enriched with vegetable extracts nourishes hair for increased luster softness and elasticity. The unique coloring process does not strip the melanin from the cortex of the hair but rather forms a protective coat of rich semi-permanent color around each strand.  . Surya Henna Cream is a new concept in hair coloring and treatment; it won't harm your hair or your health. Based in the principles of Ayurveda Surya Henna Cream is formulated with a botanical complex of 15 herbs and fruits from India and Brazil's Amazon rainforest.  . Hypoallergenic and dermatologically tested.  . Natural Properties. Henna: moisturizes and forms a protective layer on each hair strand. Arnica: functions as a capillary stimulant and as a vasoprotector. Guarana: a Brazilian fruit that functions as a capillary stimulant. Acai: a Brazilian fruit that moisturizes and acts as an emollient and remineralizer. Jua: a Brazilian fruit that is anti-inflammatory and stimulates circulation of the scalp. Aloe Vera: an emollient that moisturizes and softens. Brazil Nut: an emollient that moisturizes revitalizes and conditions.  . Surya Henna Cream Benefits. Guaranteed to cover gray and white hair on the first application. Intensive treatment and shine from scalp to hair-ends. Safe for damaged and chemically treated hair including perms body waves relaxed highlighted and color treated hair. Raw materials extracted with environmental responsibility pursuing sustainable development.
Overall rating:
4.103 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
16
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
4
33 out of 39(85%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Surya Brasil Henna Cream Hair Coloring Light Brown -- 2.31 fl oz
Review 1 for Surya Brasil Henna Cream Hair Coloring Light Brown -- 2.31 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromOhio
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Easy to use
 March 17, 2016
" I really like the surya creams. Have dark brown hair which is mostly grey now. I use the light brown in summer and I end up with lighter streaks in a couple of washes. Does not last as long as the dark brown but I like the highlights in summer.
One tip - use vaseline around your hairline and ears to keep your skin from dying brown.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Surya Brasil Henna Cream Hair Coloring Light Brown -- 2.31 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromFort Collins, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great non-toxic hair color
 February 7, 2016
" This henna lasts 6 weeks. It's easy to use and comes premixed so you don't have a mess in the kitchen trying to get the right consistency. My hair is shorter so 1 bottle colors my head with enough left over for a quick root touch up weeks later.
Excellent product!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Surya Brasil Henna Cream Hair Coloring Light Brown -- 2.31 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromLos Angeles, California
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
easy to use, fatastic results
 January 14, 2016
" I love Surya Henna! I like to use two colors together. Light Brown for my roots & Golden Brown for the ends. This gives a very natural hair color effect, not an all one color dyed hair look. My hair is medium brown with auburn undertones. These two colors blend any greys into the rest of my hair without covering up my natural color. I dont have very many greys, so this works as a highlighter look for them. May not work as well on lots of greys. The product is so easy to use & does not run off my head while I sit around for two hours with it on. I am far too lazy to mix henna myself! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Surya Brasil Henna Cream Hair Coloring Light Brown -- 2.31 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCalifornia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 December 19, 2015
" No mixing required, creamy consistency makes it easy to apply,. Leaves hair soft and shinny "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Surya Brasil Henna Cream Hair Coloring Light Brown -- 2.31 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
fromNew York, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
didn't work on greys at all
 May 17, 2015
" I have thick indian dry hair with greys at the roots. I put this on for an hour and 15 minutes on towel dry hair as the directions said and absolutely nothing took. There was literally all my grey showing again. This might be meant more for thinner hair. "
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Surya Brasil Henna Cream Hair Coloring Light Brown -- 2.31 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNH
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Easy to use
 November 12, 2014
" I have grey hair and this gives me a dark brown color with "purple" highlights. I have never received more compliments. "
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Surya Brasil Henna Cream Hair Coloring Light Brown -- 2.31 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromManitoba, Canada
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good but very temporary
 October 31, 2014
" Great ingredients and color turns out nicely. Only wish color lasted longer. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Surya Brasil Henna Cream Hair Coloring Light Brown -- 2.31 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
nice medium brown shade
 October 21, 2014
" I've tried three colors...Dark Brown, Chocolate & Light Brown. The Light Brown is definitely the most natural looking & my favorite of the three shades but it fades the fastest. The Light Brown is more of a medium golden brown while the other two colors have a lot of red/purple in them. The Light Brown only lasts about 2 weeks (maybe 3 depending on how much you wash your hair)...I'm wondering if it's possible to use less of the bottle & apply it weekly but leave it on long enough to keep your hair tinted? Not sure if it's worth the effort. Makes hair softer & glossy. "
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Surya Brasil Henna Cream Hair Coloring Light Brown -- 2.31 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
It turned my hair lavender or purple
 September 17, 2014
" My hair looks much healthier but it was not the light brown I was expecting to cover my grey.
I got lavender or purple instead.
I tried to take a pic but the color doesn't show in the pic....it doesn't look light brown either. "
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Surya Brasil Henna Cream Hair Coloring Light Brown -- 2.31 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromPacific NW
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Will Retry This Color
 August 10, 2014
" Why a 4? No hair color is perfect. Chemicals "eat" my hair. I used this before, but went darker. Chocolate Surya covers my roots the best of the brown colors. If you use henna and have lots of gray, you might have to go darker to get coverage. If henna washout made my hair orange, I would either go red or go darker brown.
I leave my henna treatments on overnight, and usually use heat to "lock" the color in. Works for me. When I don't use henna, my fine hair has almost no body, so the henna is as important to me for body as it is for color. Also, I try to use powdered henna every month or so, but I still use Surya at the roots. You can mix it with your henna powder for more color/conditioning if you like. I will try this one again and see if I like it, but I know it will look more like "highlights" than full color.
"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Surya Brasil Henna Cream Hair Coloring Light Brown -- 2.31 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromManitoba
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
nice colour
 November 30, 2013
" I really like this colour. It's easy to apply & lasts quite well. It gives the greys a golden colour like highlights. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Surya Brasil Henna Cream Hair Coloring Light Brown -- 2.31 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Gorgeous!
 November 25, 2013
" I just used this product. It is great! I had been using another Henna and it really dried out my hair even when adding olive oil and it was a total mess to use. I had to wait longer. This product was so easy to use because it comes in a little squeeze bottle. I had 98% less mess and it smells better. My hair feels very soft, it is so shiney, and my gray is covered. The color is lovely! I have long hair and I still seem to have plenty left for next time. Love it! "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Surya Brasil Henna Cream Hair Coloring Light Brown -- 2.31 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromNC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Faster and easier than all other Henna colors
 November 20, 2013
" I only had to leave it on 45 mins and no mixing, usually I have to leave the mix up kind on 2 hours for good color. This covered my gray spots much better, they are light brown not blonde. I used light brown on medium brown hair with gray in it. Ingredients list I think are not 100% natural though. These are dyes I think, they are: HC Blue 2, HC Yellow 4, HC Red 1 and HC Red 3. They are the very last 4 ingredients. For that reason I gave it 4 stars as I wanted 100% natural and I am not sure. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Surya Brasil Henna Cream Hair Coloring Light Brown -- 2.31 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 November 3, 2013
" Very easy to use.....really like this product! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Surya Brasil Henna Cream Hair Coloring Light Brown -- 2.31 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromfl
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
best all natural henna
 October 17, 2013
" best henna product , easy to use, you do have to use it often but it is much easier than henna you have to mix "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Surya Brasil Henna Cream Hair Coloring Light Brown -- 2.31 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromSan Diego, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
No Harsh Chemicals Yet Makes My Hair Shines
 August 26, 2013
" I started coloring my hair about a year. The very first coloring was done by a specialist in a hair salon. It was expensive and took long to finish. Soon I noticed that my hairs were so dry. I needed to try something different product . Somehow I remembered that henna is good for hair, and I ordered and tried myself as soon as I received it. The result was much better than I expected. It is easy to apply although it was my first time to color my hair by myself. I used Light brown and let it stay on for more than two hours. It covered very well. Other nice thing is the color fades away nicely everytime I wash my hair. Now I color my hair every two months. Whether I like it or not, coloring my hair became a part of my life now. I am glad that I found this product, and I will use it until I find a better product. "
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Surya Brasil Henna Cream Hair Coloring Light Brown -- 2.31 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromCanada
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Keeps hair healthy and shiny
 July 31, 2013
" Great product!
The only disadvantage is that initially the colour is darker. After some fading, it remains the same colour for quite a while.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Surya Brasil Henna Cream Hair Coloring Light Brown -- 2.31 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromBelleville, Illinois
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
helps with tinting gray hair
 June 16, 2013
" I use this because I don't want a "solid"color, the ingredients are mostly natural. My hair is so porous everything affects it/dries it out, even the natural dyes. The Surya cream works better on the gray, making it more like a highlight, but I can usually see some of the gray again in a day or two. But it looks more natural and covers most of it. I usually use the henna every 3 months or so. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Surya Brasil Henna Cream Hair Coloring Light Brown -- 2.31 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSaint Paul, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Very pretty and natural!
 February 20, 2013
" I normally love my trips to the salon and I love getting highlights, but I do not love dousing myself in chemicals so I decided to try this and I really love it. It's a pretty brown with dimension so it looks more natural. My old highlights have a nice golden color without any brassiness. I have a few greys that it covers well too. I had tried the chocolate and while pretty, it was a bit too warm for my taste. I like this one better. It's also super easy to apply and not messy. "
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Surya Brasil Henna Cream Hair Coloring Light Brown -- 2.31 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Chemical Free Hair Color
 February 4, 2013
" Chemical free hair color that conditions and lasts. Have been using for 5 months and hair looks and feels more healthy each time! "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next