Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Krill Oil or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Schiff MegaRed® Omega-3 Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels

May Reduce the Risk of Coronary Heart Disease. Compare To Fish Oil. Just 1 Small Softgel Per Day. No Fishy Odor or Aftertaste. 100% Pure Krill Oil/ 300 mg.  MegaRed® contains oil from 100% pure Antarctic krill tiny crustaceans that thrive in the frigid water of  the Antarctic.  MegaRed® provides an optimal combination of omega-3 fatty acids phopholipids and powerful antioxidants including astaxanthin to support heart and joint health.  Just one small easy-to-swallow MegaRed® softgel to take each day. .  . MegaRed® Omega-3 Krill Oil contains omega-3 fatty acids DHA and EPA.  Research has shown the DHA and EPA may reduce the risk of coronary heart disease.  . Unlike fish oil the omega-3 fatty acids in MedaRed® Omega-3 Krill Oil are absorbed and carried to the body's cells in phospholipid form.  . Phospholipids form the structural basis of cell memebranes so MegaRed® phospholipids with omega-3 fatty acids are easily recognized incorporated and utilized by the body.  . Importantly because MegaRed® omega-3s are carried in phospholipid form there is no fishy aftertaste.
Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 39
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 50 reviews
5 Stars
38
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
47 out of 50(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Schiff MegaRed® Omega-3 Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Review 1 for Schiff MegaRed® Omega-3 Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
raven20
frombaltimore maryland
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
 December 14, 2013
"very pleased with this product.noticed results quickly"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Schiff MegaRed® Omega-3 Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SimonsMom
fromWashington
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Doesn't stink up the cupboards
 December 7, 2013
"Until now, the krill I've bought have been so smelly, it was hardly tolerable if we didn't keep them in ziplock bags.
These are so much better!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Schiff MegaRed® Omega-3 Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dklhp
fromSouth Florida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
NO AFTER TASTE
 November 18, 2013
"These pills are the best I have ever tried. I will not use any others. No fishy after taste. You can even take them on an empty stomach and not worry about indigestion. They are the best!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Schiff MegaRed® Omega-3 Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ohma
fromWingdale, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great source of Omega-3s
 November 10, 2013
"I need extra Omega-3 and can't get it from nuts. This product allows me to get a recommended amount without the fishy after taste of most supplements."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Schiff MegaRed® Omega-3 Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
leucadiaS
fromLeucadia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Mega Red
 August 31, 2013
"bought this for a friend I take care of and the price can't be beat and he is on a limited income... thanks Vitacost !!!!"
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Schiff MegaRed® Omega-3 Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jonutsu
fromcolumbia, mo
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Krill Tastes Better Than Fish Oil ...
 August 23, 2013
".. because there is no taste with MegaRed like one experiences with fish oil. No after taste, no belching up fish oil and according to studies much better for you. I found this to be a better bargain than from my local Sam's Club price wise."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Schiff MegaRed® Omega-3 Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DMC713
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Omega oil
 July 8, 2013
"Seems to be working well with no after taste of smell/odor."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Schiff MegaRed® Omega-3 Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Harley4Me
frommobile, AL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
No Fishy taste, smell or after taste!!
 June 27, 2013
"I began a diet program on my own and wanted to make sure my body was receiving the nutrients that it needed and to remain as healthy as I could during this process. I had tried other products but found the Schiff MegaRed Krill Oil the best and will continue to take this supplement even after I have reached my ideal weight. I am always looking for a good deal and have found it with Vita Cost....they have the best prices and fast delivery!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Schiff MegaRed® Omega-3 Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
writerjmc
fromChicago
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
So much better that fish oil supplements!
 June 7, 2013
"I have been taking Schiff MegaRed softgels for several years. The softgel tablets are easy to swallow with no aftertaste. I highly recommend Schiff MegaRed Omega-3 Krill Oil!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Schiff MegaRed® Omega-3 Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mrscoco
fromDetroit, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great product
 May 8, 2013
"What I really like about MegaRed Krill oil is that you only need to take one softgel a day and there is no fishy taste after."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Schiff MegaRed® Omega-3 Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Olinda
fromKansas City MO
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Easy to take
 May 4, 2013
"I just need one of these and there is no need to refrigerate as there is no after taste. They are also smaller."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Schiff MegaRed® Omega-3 Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
trissmith
fromNewberry Springs, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
small but powerfull
 March 26, 2013
"small easy to take no after taste"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Schiff MegaRed® Omega-3 Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Crumblybones
fromCharleston SC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Better than other brands
 December 25, 2012
"No fishy aftertaste. My chiropractor recommended I try krill oil."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Schiff MegaRed® Omega-3 Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cheryannemmy
fromSan Antonio, Tx.
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
No aftertaste
 September 19, 2012
"My doctor recommended this brand as being the best in cutting bad cholesterol. Easy to take, no fish burps or aftertaste."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Schiff MegaRed® Omega-3 Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
jjjjj
comparatively tiny dose
 March 18, 2012
"Compare this to other krill oils. Their recommended dose of 1 softgel has 300 mg krill oil, 90 mg omega-3's. Others have 1000 mg of krill oil (usually in two softgels) with 300 omega-3's."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Schiff MegaRed® Omega-3 Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sweetp1
fromMemphis, Tn
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Schiff MegaRed™ Omega-3 Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 S
 February 2, 2012
"I like this Krill Oil because it is a very small, one a day capsule. One of the best. Even my husband will take these."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Schiff MegaRed® Omega-3 Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sumass
fromMassachusetts
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Awesome product
 December 15, 2011
"My 13-year old son and I have been taking these for the past 2-3 years. This is an excellent and more pure form of Omega 3."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Schiff MegaRed® Omega-3 Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bonbon29
fromCentral NY
Age:65-74
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Very Satisfied
 September 11, 2011
"I was buying this product in a local store, but the price was so expensive. I wanted to keep taking it as it is small enough for me to swallow w/ no problem. I looked to see if I could find it at a better deal, and got two bottles so I'd have it for a while. I'm very satisfied."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Schiff MegaRed® Omega-3 Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
irishqueen
Fantastic Product
 July 28, 2011
"I have tried a couple other brands that claim no fishy after taste but there always was..I have been using this product for a couple months now and a fishy taste taste has never occurred. I am totally impressed with this product. Do not hesitate to use it if you are needed Omega 3 fish oil in your health plan."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Schiff MegaRed® Omega-3 Krill Oil -- 300 mg - 60 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lily9
 July 20, 2011
"These are so much easier to swallow than the fish oil I was taking before! They are said to be much more effective, too, but I've not been taking them long enough to tell yet. Vitacost saved me a lot of money on them! This is where I'll buy them from now on!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next