Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hot Cereal & Oatmeal or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz

Kosher. Non-GMO. 100% Whole Grain. Hot Cereal Smoothies and Much More. Quinoa (keen-wa) known to Bolivians as "The Mother Grain" is now being heralded as the "Supergrain of the Future". Ancient Harvest has worked with local indigenous farming communities for over 30 years to offer delicious authentic foods you can trust. Our ancient grains descend from farms that span the entire length of Bolivian "Altiplano" (high plains) at the base of the Andes Mountains. Not only do our products deliver a taste your whole family will love but they are always gluten free organic non-GMO and delicious.  . Now you can enjoy the goodness of quinoa in an instant! Ready in 90 seconds Quinoa Flakes make a smooth and delicious hot cereal. Eat them plain or spice them up with your favorite toppings. Quinoa Flakes are not only for breakfast. Substitute a portion of Quinoa Flakes for flour in your favorite cookie recipe include some in your smoothies for added nutrients and texture or use them in place of bread crumbs to create the perfect gluten free coating on chicken tenders or fish.
Overall rating:
4.759 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(54 reviews) 49
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 54 reviews
5 Stars
45
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
52 out of 54(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Review 1 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lplscse
fromMelbourne, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Quick and easy to prepare!
 August 18, 2015
"Been buying this product from Vitacost for some time and have recommended it to my friends. I use it primarily as a breakfast cereal, making it with coconut milk, adding fruit, raw honey, cacao powder and sprinkling with raw hemp seeds. It's the main ingredient in a highly nutritious start to my day. I also use it as a coating in place of breadcrumbs and in various cookie recipes instead of oatmeal. Price is much lower than my local health food store or supermarket, even including shipping cost, and it's delivered right to my door. What could be better?"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KarateMom75
fromVermont
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great for baking and quick meals!
 July 13, 2015
"This was my first time using quinoa flakes. They cook up quickly and are great with toppings for an easy meal. They are great in baking muffins. I mix some in with oat flour and the muffins have a nice texture, like bran muffins. I have also used them when making quinoa patties and "meat" balls, along with regular cooked quinoa as a binder and they work great!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
vidottsen
Needs larger packaging.
 July 11, 2015
"Loved the product, but I wish it came in a larger package. It was tasty and easy to use."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ellen9nyc
fromNew York, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great breakfast!
 July 2, 2015
"love this for breakfast--quick, lots of protein, lighter than oatmeal. Fave way to make it is do two servings with a tablespoon of coconut or MCT oil. super healthy!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Suli
fromTucson, AZ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 June 24, 2015
"Wonderful product and the price is great!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TTLA
fromLos Angeles, CA
Love this cereal!
 June 22, 2015
"Fast cooking. Important in the morning. I make it with unsweetened almond milk, vanilla extract, stevia, and cinnamon. Yum!!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
joeanne
fromNew Jersey
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
best cereal !
 June 15, 2015
"I love this cereal, it tastes so good, and it is quick to make.
also a very good price.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
2BHealthy2014
fromFlorida
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Tasty Quinoa Flakes
 May 7, 2015
"My first time to try this product. The quinoa flakes made a tasty bowl of cereal. I added some ghee and a splash of almond milk. So easy to prepare and a timesaver when in a hurry."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
skj42
fromtop of mississippi
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great Product and Value.
 April 30, 2015
"I have used Ancient Harvest product for some time and always pleased with the product. I substitute 1/2 quinoa flakes for many recipes which call for oatmeal. It is an excellent source of protein. I will toast a few cups to use for granola and also to make breakfast cereal. I make cookies, granola, pancakes, waffles and breads with it. I am very allergic to wheat and also gluten sensitive. I am also a good cook and have fed my family for 57 yrs with gluten free products. They haven't complained yet. I learned a lot from my mom about gluten free cooking and also have read everything I could by those who have mastered the skill. I recommend the product."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MyNest
fromIllinois
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good for baking
 February 25, 2015
"I use this in seed and nut bar recipes instead of oats. I dry toast it in the oven to give it some crunch when I sprinkle it on fruit. I didn't care for it fixed as a hot cereal on it's own....too bitter for my taste. But love it mixed with other seeds and fruit and it's a great way to add protein to anything. Got it here at a much better price than at my local health food store."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jillybeanmwc
fromPhoenix, az
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
We love these!
 January 3, 2015
"My whole family eats this for breakfast every morning! We love them!! It's a great gluten free cereal!"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
3pupsontherun
fromMichigan
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great for baking
 January 2, 2015
"I use this in place of using oats for baking my homemade energy bars. I love that it's organic and gluten free. Always fresh and it's a great value from Vitacost."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Reid
Tastes awful
 December 30, 2014
"I can't imagine why this product is getting good reviews. I found it has that bitter, musty taste of unwashed quinoa. It took way to much sugar and fruit to try to cover it up, so not a healthy breakfast. I'm a fan of quinoa, but very disappointed in this product!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
LivingLighter
fromVancouver, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good alternative to oatmeal
 December 30, 2014
"I recently found out i was allergic to oats. I found this product. I didn't give it 5 stars as it isn't "to die for", but a good alternative. I am going to try baking with it. Very filling."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Caperica75
fromNorth Carolina
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Filling morning cereal without all the calories
 November 8, 2014
"I had to get used to the taste, but I use it every morning. High in protein and low, low in calories. Great product for those who can't eat wheat."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Infoarchitect1
fromSan Jose, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Great morning cereal and in cookies
 November 2, 2014
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"This is my favorite gluten-free morning hot cereal but I use just a quarter cup. I add berries, nuts, Acai pulp, bee pollen, and sometimes granola to kick it up. It seems to agree with my system contributing to daily regularity. The flakes continue to expand with additional liquid. The peanut butter cookie recipe on the box makes a great cookie as well especially with the Once Again nutty peanut butter. And this stuff is available at Whole Foods for $8.75 everyday."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
edan
love this!
 October 22, 2014
"I just love this stuff. It's quick, easy and best of all gluten free!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Papeness
fromMinneapolis, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Me likey
 October 10, 2014
"I eat this every day for breakfast. Quinoa is great because it's the only grain which is a complete protein. I add vanilla almond milk because I don't like the taste of this on its own. I also add raisins. Buying this in any store is very expensive. It has kept going up in price over the past few years. It is now between $8 and $10 per box. Ouch. The Vitacost price is so much better. I buy many boxes at once."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Buffy0415
Delicious!
 September 4, 2014
"Excellent replacement for any hot cereal, or side dish, etc. Great, mild taste and can be made sweet or savory."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
4HisGlory
fromCT
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Love these!
 August 20, 2014
"These are easy to make, taste great and I know I am eating something nutritious for me. I add fresh blueberries and strawberries with a little touch of honey and it is so delicious. I get about 10 servings or so out of this box. Definitely worth the price."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next