Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hot Cereal & Oatmeal or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz

Kosher. Non-GMO. 100% Whole Grain. Hot Cereal Smoothies and Much More. Quinoa (keen-wa) known to Bolivians as "The Mother Grain" is now being heralded as the "Supergrain of the Future". Ancient Harvest has worked with local indigenous farming communities for over 30 years to offer delicious authentic foods you can trust. Our ancient grains descend from farms that span the entire length of Bolivian "Altiplano" (high plains) at the base of the Andes Mountains. Not only do our products deliver a taste your whole family will love but they are always gluten free organic non-GMO and delicious.  . Now you can enjoy the goodness of quinoa in an instant! Ready in 90 seconds Quinoa Flakes make a smooth and delicious hot cereal. Eat them plain or spice them up with your favorite toppings. Quinoa Flakes are not only for breakfast. Substitute a portion of Quinoa Flakes for flour in your favorite cookie recipe include some in your smoothies for added nutrients and texture or use them in place of bread crumbs to create the perfect gluten free coating on chicken tenders or fish.
Overall rating:
4.682 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(63 reviews) 58
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 63 reviews
5 Stars
50
4 Stars
10
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
60 out of 63(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Review 1 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grandma9Florida
fromZephyrhills, Florida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best price and product
 January 28, 2016
"I have this product every day for breakfast, due to grain, dairy, and egg allergies, this is great with ground flax seed and black strap molasses. I also add some organic coconut oil! I add an apple or banana for some flavor and fruit. GREAT!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
naturalhiker
fromHoughton, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Yucky for hot cereal!
 January 18, 2016
"I was so pleased when I found this product. I cannot eat gluten, rice, corn, soy, dairy, or oats, so finding a breakfast cereal has been impossible. I thought I found an alternative to eating eggs every morning. However, the consistency and taste of this product was very unappealing. I could not finish the bowl. I did try adding it to meatloaf, but it made it too moist and gave an odd flavor. I would not recommend."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Daniela21
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
I like it, but I mix it with another hot cereal
 December 31, 2015
"It's a little bit bitter, but with mixing with other hot cereal (such as buckwheat or gluten free oat) it very tasty!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RustyRunner
fromOlympia, WA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best price around.
 December 24, 2015
"This is an expensive product, but Vitacost has the best pricing available. It is my go-to runner's breakfast with added whey protein powder, flax meal, and blueberries. I can be running 30 minutes after eating with no ill effects and it gets me through for 1 and a half hours of running before needing to refuel. Easy to digest for the gluten impaired like myself."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheArtfulFelina
fromCleveland, OH
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
In love...
 December 23, 2015
"I am in love with these quinoa flakes, and have them for breakfast almost every morning. As an individual with celiac disease, I appreciate that they are gluten-free. They are also highly nutritious, and have a very fine texture that cooks up smoother than other hot cereal grains. They are wonderful in a breakfast "bake" as well, or in one of the healthful recipes included on their packaging. Great stuff, and a staple in my pantry."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ckabonick
fromItaly
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Healthy and warms the tummy!
 December 20, 2015
"I recently purchased the Ancient Harvest Quinoa Hot Cereal from Vitacost and I have to share the great news....it is fantastic, easy to make, and healthy. I have revamped my diet to exclude gluten and this product is a staple for me. Kudos also to Vitacost for not only having every product imaginable and great savings, but for having the most awesome customer service! Thank you Vitacost!!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Celiacguy
fromWilmington, DE
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Easy to digest, fast
 November 17, 2015
"The quinoa flakes do not upset my digestion in any way and quick to cook. An easy way to flavor the quinoa is to throw a flavored tea bag into the mix as one boils up the water. A bowl of quinoa in the morning will not keep me running past about 10:00. To last until noon, I like to throw in chunks of chicken or pork."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ljrskk
fromNaples, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 October 21, 2015
"I like the ease of usage of the Quinoa flakes for my morning breakfast muffin, in my granola, and other dishes that I prepare.
I am always assured of the extra fiber and protein that Quinoa flakes offer, in anything that I put it in.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
JustMeEverytime
fromWilliston, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Fast Hot Breakfast
 October 3, 2015
"I love how conveniently fast this cereal cooks up. I can have breakfast ready to eat in a couple of minutes - a boost for busy mornings. And a little goes a long ways. I have been using 1/3 cup cereal to 1 cup water, but will cut back to 1/4 cup cereal. I sometimes stir in chia seeds for added texture during the cooking process, along with raisins and cinnamon. For me, the icing on the cake is a nice drizzle of pure maple syrup, sorghum, or molasses before topping with unsweetened vanilla almond milk. The cereal taste is completely unique from all other grains I've tried, but probably comes closest to buckwheat. I'm still getting used to it, but it is palatable."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lplscse
fromMelbourne, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Quick and easy to prepare!
 August 18, 2015
"Been buying this product from Vitacost for some time and have recommended it to my friends. I use it primarily as a breakfast cereal, making it with coconut milk, adding fruit, raw honey, cacao powder and sprinkling with raw hemp seeds. It's the main ingredient in a highly nutritious start to my day. I also use it as a coating in place of breadcrumbs and in various cookie recipes instead of oatmeal. Price is much lower than my local health food store or supermarket, even including shipping cost, and it's delivered right to my door. What could be better?"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KarateMom75
fromVermont
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great for baking and quick meals!
 July 13, 2015
"This was my first time using quinoa flakes. They cook up quickly and are great with toppings for an easy meal. They are great in baking muffins. I mix some in with oat flour and the muffins have a nice texture, like bran muffins. I have also used them when making quinoa patties and "meat" balls, along with regular cooked quinoa as a binder and they work great!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
vidottsen
Needs larger packaging.
 July 11, 2015
"Loved the product, but I wish it came in a larger package. It was tasty and easy to use."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ellen9nyc
fromNew York, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great breakfast!
 July 2, 2015
"love this for breakfast--quick, lots of protein, lighter than oatmeal. Fave way to make it is do two servings with a tablespoon of coconut or MCT oil. super healthy!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Suli
fromTucson, AZ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 June 24, 2015
"Wonderful product and the price is great!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TTLA
fromLos Angeles, CA
Love this cereal!
 June 22, 2015
"Fast cooking. Important in the morning. I make it with unsweetened almond milk, vanilla extract, stevia, and cinnamon. Yum!!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
joeanne
fromNew Jersey
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
best cereal !
 June 15, 2015
"I love this cereal, it tastes so good, and it is quick to make.
also a very good price.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
2BHealthy2014
fromFlorida
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Tasty Quinoa Flakes
 May 7, 2015
"My first time to try this product. The quinoa flakes made a tasty bowl of cereal. I added some ghee and a splash of almond milk. So easy to prepare and a timesaver when in a hurry."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
skj42
fromtop of mississippi
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great Product and Value.
 April 30, 2015
"I have used Ancient Harvest product for some time and always pleased with the product. I substitute 1/2 quinoa flakes for many recipes which call for oatmeal. It is an excellent source of protein. I will toast a few cups to use for granola and also to make breakfast cereal. I make cookies, granola, pancakes, waffles and breads with it. I am very allergic to wheat and also gluten sensitive. I am also a good cook and have fed my family for 57 yrs with gluten free products. They haven't complained yet. I learned a lot from my mom about gluten free cooking and also have read everything I could by those who have mastered the skill. I recommend the product."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MyNest
fromIllinois
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good for baking
 February 25, 2015
"I use this in seed and nut bar recipes instead of oats. I dry toast it in the oven to give it some crunch when I sprinkle it on fruit. I didn't care for it fixed as a hot cereal on it's own....too bitter for my taste. But love it mixed with other seeds and fruit and it's a great way to add protein to anything. Got it here at a much better price than at my local health food store."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ancient Harvest Organic Quinoa Hot Cereal Flakes Gluten Free -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jillybeanmwc
fromPhoenix, az
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
We love these!
 January 3, 2015
"My whole family eats this for breakfast every morning! We love them!! It's a great gluten free cereal!"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next