Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Snacks or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

Yogourmet Freeze Dried Yogurt Starter -- 1 oz

For Better Yogurt With Any Machine. Also Use to Start Creme Bulgare. Contains three 10g Packs (each pack makes 2 fresh quarts). Yogourmet yogurt starter is meticulously manufactured and scientifically balanced to ensure that you make a smooth creamy and great tasting yogurt every time. The starter when used with the Yogourmet Multi yogurt maker produces delicious yogurt in only 4 1/2 hours. Yogourmet yogurt starter is packed in sealed double-layered envelopes for long-lasting quality. Yogourmet yogurt starter is available in boxes of 3 envelopes of 2 X 5 grams. Each envelope makes 2 litres of yogurt. Envelopes are divided in two sections of 5 grams to allow you to prepare only one litre at a time if desired. Home made yogurt with Yogourmet™ ...It's easy natural and delicious. May be used with any make of appliance according to instructions.
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
16 out of 16(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Yogourmet Freeze Dried Yogurt Starter -- 1 oz
Review 1 for Yogourmet Freeze Dried Yogurt Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
drsmtl
fromSouthern, IN
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Great product
 August 22, 2012
"If you are a do it yourself yoguart person this is just what you want. Great tasting and simple to use."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Yogourmet Freeze Dried Yogurt Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
boosgramma
fromCaldwell, ID
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
good yogurt, good price
 August 10, 2012
"Made very tasty yogurt (I recommend Organic Valley whole milk for yogurt making). Price is good compared to similar products around the web."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Yogourmet Freeze Dried Yogurt Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Schwarmerei
fromNew York, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great product
 August 2, 2012
"This is yogurt starter for dummies... pre-measured packets that ensure a delicious and firm batch of yogurt every time. Couldn't be easier, and the price is good, esp. if you eat a lot of yogurt. (Some use part of a batch to start a new one, but I found that this is a lot less reliable than just using a fresh packet.)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Yogourmet Freeze Dried Yogurt Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
soleil
great
 June 14, 2012
"This makes a wonderful yogurt and is approved for the specific carbohydrate diet. I like to make the yogurt with half and half. It comes out very thick."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Yogourmet Freeze Dried Yogurt Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Frida
yogurt starter
 June 4, 2012
"It makes delicious tasting yogurt and I have used it time and time again. I always get more so I can have my yogurt everyday. This way I know that I make it with fresh 1% milk and it will taste wonderful!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Yogourmet Freeze Dried Yogurt Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tttiger
fromct
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
perfect yogurt
 March 13, 2012
"i used this with a 30 year old yogurt machine inherited from my mother and had no yogurt to use as starter @ the time. followed instructions and in time recommended had perfect yogurt! i will probably only use it when i forget to save yogurt for the next batch."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Yogourmet Freeze Dried Yogurt Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bjhouse
fromLiberty, Mo
Age:35-44
I love this Product
 November 29, 2011
"I love making yogurt with this yogurt starter instead of store bought. I do not have or use a machine to make my yogurt. I use 1 quart Hot tap water, 1 1/2 cup powdered milk and this yogurt starter. I use a little lunch box size igloo to incubate my yogurt in for about 8 hours. I am on batch 4 of using 1 packet of starter. To use the made using your made up yogurt simply do everything the same except use 1/4 - 1/2 cup of your made up yogurt."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Yogourmet Freeze Dried Yogurt Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gbshaw
Terrific yogurt!
 September 23, 2011
"I used to use grocery store yogurt for my starter and would get uneven results. Sometimes it would be stringy, maybe bitter. This is wonderful and easy to use. I am very pleased with it and best of all,
it has a delicious taste.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Yogourmet Freeze Dried Yogurt Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dcgsailing
 May 5, 2011
"This stuff works great for a starter batch, no need to use on next batch if in a two week window. Just use 2 tbs of prior in the new batch."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Yogourmet Freeze Dried Yogurt Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shooty
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Really easy to make!
 April 19, 2011
"Made a batch of fresh yogurt with these starter pack and it turned out great!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Yogourmet Freeze Dried Yogurt Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sowma
never fails
 February 13, 2011
"I have been using yogourmet for almost 30 years to make my yogurt. It has never failed me, and I don't even use a yogurt maker. It was only recently that this product was no longer available locally. I was very pleased with the service from Vitacost."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Yogourmet Freeze Dried Yogurt Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bitemebutt
fromAlbuquerque, NM
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Outstanding quality
 January 4, 2011
"I've made yogurt for over 25 years with failures along the way, mostly due to poor quality starters. And sometimes due to poor temp control. Aside from human error this product consistently makes great yogurt!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Yogourmet Freeze Dried Yogurt Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Olivejar
Yogourmet Freeze Dried Yogurt Starter
 March 3, 2010
"Excellent product (though price) and arrived on time."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Yogourmet Freeze Dried Yogurt Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Caro1804
fromAtlanta
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great yogurt starter
 July 2, 2009
"I have been using this yogurt starter for a while. I only use a fifth or a quarter of each packet every time I make a liter of yogurt and keep the rest in the fridge. It saves $$, and the thickness of the yogurt remains the same. I add some dry milk to a liter of UHT milk, and some sugar, as well as the starter, and tada... 10 hours later, I get 7 yogurts from my yogurt maker. Of course, they are a little more liquidy than when bought in store, but there is no additive to thicken it.
Much more healthy!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Yogourmet Freeze Dried Yogurt Starter -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
marzipan80
Great Quarkmaker
 May 22, 2009
"Used the starter as recommended and had great result. It is just like counting l,2 and 3, that easy. Recommend it to anyone looking for a great product. Two liters of milk gave me l kg.of quark."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Yogourmet Freeze Dried Yogurt Starter -- 1 oz
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product