Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Assorted Oils or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Spectrum Naturals Avocado Oil -- 8 fl oz

Cold Pressed. Refined for High Heat. Spectrum’s Avocado Oil is a high heat wonder with rich stores of monounsaturated fat. We coax the oil from the fruit by cold pressing then gently refine it using natural methods to create a clean fresh oil that’s a perfect match for high heat cooking. This oil is best for high heat applications like sautéing frying and all-purpose cooking. Excellent for skin care and massage.
Overall rating:
4.773 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
22 out of 22(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Spectrum Naturals Avocado Oil -- 8 fl oz
Review 1 for Spectrum Naturals Avocado Oil -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Itstartsnow
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Comparing it to Olive oil
 June 4, 2014
"I decided to try it as a healthy source of fat and to have another option in addition to extra virgin olive oil... Weird thing is, I hate olives but love olive oil... I love avocados but the oil doesn't have much taste... It is not that I dislike it... it just doesn't add flavor like olive oil does, and it is a bit costlier... Will probably purchase again, but won't be a staple like olive oil... May try coconut oil next."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Spectrum Naturals Avocado Oil -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lilnickd
fromMonroe,CT
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great oil!!!
 April 26, 2014
"Silly us! We were using EVOO to sauté. Avocado oil keeps it's nutritional factor with high heat but EVOO does not. So glad we made the change! It has a great taste too!!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Spectrum Naturals Avocado Oil -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
allwholegirl
fromhuntsville,al
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 December 31, 2013
"good quality good price"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Spectrum Naturals Avocado Oil -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Saddlehorseman
fromWest Virginia
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Great flavor, and healthy too!
 December 6, 2013
"I purchased this product after researching oils for grilling. I was surprised to discover that Avocado oil has a very high heat tolerance. I use it to coat my chops, chicken breasts, etc. before cooking on my infrared grill. I love it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Spectrum Naturals Avocado Oil -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gscott11
fromhouston,tx
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
 October 22, 2013
"need it for my paleo pizza crust"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Spectrum Naturals Avocado Oil -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
glutenfreevegan
Recommended for cooking
 September 18, 2013
"Avocado, Macadamia nut and coconut oils are the only oils you should cook with. Others are not healthy after heating. Thanks for carrying Avacado oil but would love it if you had an organic avacado or macadamian nut oil available."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Spectrum Naturals Avocado Oil -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromDallas, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Excellent for Frying or Cooking at Hight Temps
 July 17, 2013
"I use this oil for roasting veggies in the oven and for frying at high temperatures on the stove. I love that it has a high smoke point so the high heat won't oxidize it. It is a neutral flavor and works well with any dish."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Spectrum Naturals Avocado Oil -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Astroplane
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Great product, small bottle
 July 15, 2013
"Avocado oil and coconut oil are the only two oils you should use for frying or high heat cooking. Avocado oil works well with a very light non-greasy taste. Thankfully this has no similarity to guacamole as far as taste goes."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Spectrum Naturals Avocado Oil -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vitamelli
fromOrlando
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great for skin too
 April 8, 2013
"I use this as a moisturizer and make up remover. Great for the legs after shaving. I should experiment with it for cooking too but so far this bottle has stayed right next to my bath tub."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Spectrum Naturals Avocado Oil -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AlabamaNic
fromAlabama
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great product
 March 18, 2013
"I use this often to saute or when scrambling eggs or making an omelet. I'm sure there are many more uses for this product, but I'm still learning!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Spectrum Naturals Avocado Oil -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Alibur86
fromMount Vernon, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great quality, great price.
 December 31, 2012
"This was the first time I ever used avocado oil in my cooking and this will be a necessity in my kitchen from now on. I use a little to sautee my veggies and the flavor is not strong like the olive oil that I used to use. Avocado oil provides great nutritional benefits and I love that it can be used in high temperatures."
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Spectrum Naturals Avocado Oil -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Greenpie
Yummy!
 December 29, 2012
"I initially got this for skin and hair use, but now it’s my favorite cooking oil. One morning I poured too much on my hand, so ate the overage. It tasted so good I could not use it just for cosmetic purpose. It’s clean and light in taste, and also good source of monounsaturated fat. It adds lovely flavor and creaminess (fat). I’ve never found cooking oil “tasty” before, but this one is a rare find. I can see why Mr. Bluster loves it, and like him, I stick to this brand as well."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Spectrum Naturals Avocado Oil -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tinyalice1968
fromminnesota
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
mr bluster prefers to any other brand
 August 30, 2012
"mr bluster is my (11) year old cat. each morning when i get ready for the day, i put on spectrum avacado oil as my moisturizer. every day i am obligated to give a quarter teaspoon to my cat. he licks it off my hand. if i for get he is upset. i have tried a few other brands but he will have nothing to do with them. he stalks off in high dudgen and wont speak. needless to say i think we are both better off with spectrum brnad avacado oil.
tiny alice1968
"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Spectrum Naturals Avocado Oil -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
enviroman
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Superb oil
 December 1, 2011
"I have been using this oil for stir fry and sauteeing. I can use much less oil, it does not burn, and it has a very clean taste. Overall a surprisingly good oil. Not cheap buy you use much less."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Spectrum Naturals Avocado Oil -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
orangedots
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Love it
 October 28, 2011
"I've been using Spectrum Avocado Oil for a while and I agree with the others that it is wonderful for the skin and hair. My hair especially, because I notice a big difference when I run out and have to use something else. Oh and can't speak on taste because I do not use it for that purpose."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Spectrum Naturals Avocado Oil -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tensia419
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Good Hair and Body Oil
 February 18, 2011
"This is a multipurpose oil! I use it after getting out of the shower and I used small amounts on my scalp and hair. Your skin will feel soft and not greasy (don't over use, a little goes a long way) and your hair will have a natural shine. Lots of good vitamins in this oil that is good for skin and hair. My daughter loves this oil as well."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Spectrum Naturals Avocado Oil -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
4 / 5
4 / 5
BeachMaiden
fromFlorida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great for the Body
 September 22, 2010
"High quality product for multiple uses. I use on my fresh washed hair while still damp for exceptional smooth and soft hair. I mix in my face and body creams and lotion for supple and firmer skin. I use full strenght on some areas. Great to cook and saute with."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Spectrum Naturals Avocado Oil -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reviewer1400
Age:18-24
Very good hair oil!
 August 4, 2010
"It is a great hair oil! Use it!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Spectrum Naturals Avocado Oil -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vonnie
fromTempe, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Spectrum Avacado Oil
 July 30, 2010
"Works miracles on both hair and face. Couldn't rate the taste, as I do not use it for that purpose."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Spectrum Naturals Avocado Oil -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NatureGirl07
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Excellent Hair Nourisher!
 June 24, 2009
"Spectrum Avocado Oil is wonderful not only in food preparation but also when used as a hair conditioner. It combats dryness and is fully absorbed into the hair, nourishing it with moisture, shine and softness. Avocado oil is the secret of a number of Supermodels and it's a natural wonder!"
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
1 2 next