Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Sauces & Marinades or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Ohsawa Organic Nama Shoyu -- 32 fl oz

Unpasteurized Soy Sauce. The Only Soy Sauce That’s Fresh and Alive! In Japan “Nama” means “raw” or “unpasteurized.”  Ohsawa® Nama® Shoyu has a rich full-bodied flavor and an exquisitely delicate bouquet plus healthful living enzymes and beneficial organisms like lactobacillus. Made the time-honored traditional way by the revered Yamaki Company Ohsawa® Nama® Shoyu is naturally aged in cedar wood kegs.  Enjoy Ohsawa® Nama® Shoyu to enhance all your favorite dishes in the kitchen or at the table.
Overall rating:
4.808 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(26 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 26 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
25 out of 26(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Ohsawa Organic Nama Shoyu -- 32 fl oz
Review 1 for Ohsawa Organic Nama Shoyu -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
OlympiaFoodie
fromOlympia, WA
Fantastic Product
 August 15, 2014
"This sauce is now a staple in our house. I use it in almost all of my stir fries. Will definitely be buying again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ohsawa Organic Nama Shoyu -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NatureHealsBody
fromMiami, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best live Soy sauce
 March 18, 2014
"Pure soy sauce that is alive. I would not use any other soy sauce. Best you can get in the US."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ohsawa Organic Nama Shoyu -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rockoko
fromColumbus OH
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Organic Soy
 March 7, 2014
"I love this soy sauce! It's definitely different from any soy sauce available out there in the grocery stores. It enhances the flavor of anything you cook, meat, fish. It's the most expensive sauce in my kitchen but I can see why it costs extra."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ohsawa Organic Nama Shoyu -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BahamaBreeze
fromSunny South Florida
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Fantastic
 February 25, 2014
"Love the taste, love the health benefits. Great product and shipped well protected by Vitacost."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ohsawa Organic Nama Shoyu -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vartavarh
fromWisconsin
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This is the best
 October 23, 2013
"I bought this after reading reviews online that said this is the very best soy sauce that can be bought. I must agree! This is far above any others! Vitacost mailed this very carefully, in a cold-pack and well wrapped so there was no leakage and it arrived still "alive". I really appreciate the care."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ohsawa Organic Nama Shoyu -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Eedo
fromOregon
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great tasting and more nutritious
 May 20, 2013
"Great to find a truly raw fermented soy sauce. It is worth the cost."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ohsawa Organic Nama Shoyu -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Suzed
fromSouthern California
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Just like Hawaii
 March 29, 2013
"We lived in HI and everyone uses Shoyu, much better than soy sauce. Healthy because it's fermented. Really great sauce."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ohsawa Organic Nama Shoyu -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TaSha1010
Organic and excellent taste
 December 14, 2012
"Not only is this soy sauce organic but it also has a good taste. I use it as part of a salad / rice dressing or as part of a cooking sauce. I can use this soy sauce for my family without any worries about synthetic, toxic ingredients."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ohsawa Organic Nama Shoyu -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cowboy777
Great soy sauce
 November 7, 2012
"The best, most flavorful you can buy!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ohsawa Organic Nama Shoyu -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gourmetshopper
fromBeautiful PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
The best!
 October 27, 2012
"This soy sauce is the absolute best! I've had soy sauce all over the world and there is none finer. I was also very impressed with the exceptional customer service at Vitacost!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ohsawa Organic Nama Shoyu -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bobknyc
fromstaten island ny
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
great stuff
 September 2, 2012
"I always liked a bit of soy sause, on my food, but when I tried this one, I don't think I will ever use a different kind. it is really in a class by it self. worth the money...."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ohsawa Organic Nama Shoyu -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mardee57
fromHurst, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Nama Shoyu
 May 24, 2012
"As far as I know this is the only raw organic soy sauce you can buy... Ideal product for the Raw Foodist and Raw Vegan. It has less sodium than Bragg and isn't as strong tasting as Bragg. The mild soy and saltiness is tasty. Keep in mind that too much sodium isn't good, so you should use this product sparingly and on an irregular basis. Hope this helps!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ohsawa Organic Nama Shoyu -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
geepers
fromColumbus Ohio
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Awesome Deal!
 January 2, 2012
"Had purchased this great, raw product on another site in a smaller size. Your 32 oz was less expensive than the other site's 16 oz! Thanks for offering great deals! Will continue to shop here for my organic, natural needs!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ohsawa Organic Nama Shoyu -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jaemianne
fromNYC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
best soy sauce
 May 13, 2011
"this is the only raw and organic soy sauce that i know of. it has a distinct flavor, better than other organic soy sauces. because i want to preserve the beneficial nutrients in this unpastuerized product, i don't use this for cooking."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ohsawa Organic Nama Shoyu -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
organicwench
fromCalifornia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Love this
 April 6, 2011
"I love this shoyu, it is the best I have ever used. I like the fact that it is unpasteurized and organic. It is a bit pricey, compared to some other brands (Vitacost offers it at a great price), but worth the extra cost."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ohsawa Organic Nama Shoyu -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taste:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Anonymous
Ohsawa Organic Nama Shoyu -- 32 fl oz
 July 1, 2010
"Good product,price and packaging but the delivery took longer then expected."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ohsawa Organic Nama Shoyu -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromCincinnati, Ohio
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Delicious and quick delivery
 June 9, 2010
"I bought the 32 house which I can't get locally. Very economical. Best soy sauce I ever tasted. Very quick delivery."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Ohsawa Organic Nama Shoyu -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Best soy sauce available
 April 13, 2010
"Nama Shoyu is a hand-crafted small batch soy sauce imported from Japan. There is simply no equal available in this country. It is rich and deep flavored without being too salty. One taste and you'll never buy the cheap stuff again!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Ohsawa Organic Nama Shoyu -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lobsang
The Finest
 January 6, 2010
"This is the finest Soy Sauce in the world. It is perfectly balanced on an energetic level.. It has the wonderful overtones of Ceder.. It is Zen on the highest level..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Ohsawa Organic Nama Shoyu -- 32 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gardening
Best soy flavor
 September 30, 2009
"Good flavor, less salty, pricey but worth it"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next