Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

Organic Valley Organic Nonfat Dry Milk -- 12 oz

Produced Without Antibiotics Synthetic Hormones or Pesticides. For Cooking & Baking. Non-Instant. Grade A. We the Farmers. We are proud to be farmer owners of Organic Valley and stand behind this: by choosing our fine organic products you are getting the safest healthiest most delicious food you can buy while supporting spirited independent farmers for years to come!
Overall rating:
4.909 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
21
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
22 out of 22(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Organic Valley Organic Nonfat Dry Milk -- 12 oz
Review 1 for Organic Valley Organic Nonfat Dry Milk -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
OVNONFATDRYMILK
fromHigh Desert, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
SUPERB PRODUCT
 July 28, 2014
"This is a staple in my home, like fresh fruit, yogurt, honey, etc.
I add Organic Valley Organic Non Dry Fat Milk when cooking up a pan of oatmeal or quinoa, to homemade yogurt to give it more calcium and a richer taste and thicker consistency, to pancake batters, and I add it to anything else that requires milk..
The flavor is rich and delicious. The fact that it contains NO GMO's, NO antibiotics or hormones tells me Organic Valley is considerate not only of its customers but also its animals.
Highly recommend and it is on my Set and Save list perpetually."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Organic Valley Organic Nonfat Dry Milk -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BodybuildingRN
fromNew England
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great addition to homemade yogurt!
 December 15, 2013
"My husband incorporates some of this organic milk powder into the milk when he's making yogurt. It adds a richer taste and some extra nutrition. He mixes it into the scalded milk using an immersion blender (a.k.a. stick blender) and then incubates the milk as usual. Give it a try!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Organic Valley Organic Nonfat Dry Milk -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rockerchic
fromSo Cal
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
100% organic nonfat dry milk. Nothing more.
 March 8, 2013
"I like that this product is pure. What is inconvenient is that it won't mix like the processed artificial dry milks you might be used to. So you have to be more strategic in it's uses. For example, if you think you are going to mix into water easily and make instant milk... well it takes bit longer to mix in because it doesn't have the 'detergents' added to it. Also, don't even think about adding it to your hot coffee in place of creamer (which I really wanted as a healthy substitute). It will immediately turn into coagulated jelly-like chunks as the proteins start to cook (kind of like what corn starch does). So it should be mixed cold or lukewarm. BEST USES: mix into recipes with other dry ingredients and it works better. I LOVE IT with cold and hot cereals as my milk substitute (great if your power is out or you are out of milk). But you must mix it into the cereal and coat it well before adding water. This helps it mix much better. I mix it into my oatmeal and when I add the hot water there is no problem with the jelly balls. : )"
+10points
11of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Organic Valley Organic Nonfat Dry Milk -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
alpha1961
fromOhio
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great for making thicker yogurt, but that's it
 February 24, 2013
"I didn't find this milk to be any better tasting than the other marketed brands of powdered milk. Though I wish there was cheaper, I couldn't get out for awhile so I ordered this and used it for yogurt. Tastes okay, but nothing to write home about."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Organic Valley Organic Nonfat Dry Milk -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kaman
fromHong Kong
Gender:Female
excellent product! tastes like fresh milk
 June 27, 2012
"I usually mix 25g of dry milk with 150ml-200ml water. It really tastes like fresh milk. It is creamy and not like non-fat dry milk at all . I use it for oatmeal, coffee and baking."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Organic Valley Organic Nonfat Dry Milk -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jancie
fromOhio
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great product
 April 30, 2012
"I make my own yogurt and find if I add a little powdered milk it gives me a thicker yogurt. I had a hard time finding an organic powdered milk until I searched Vitacost. I am super happy with this product and that I can get it at Vitacost at a reasonable price."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Organic Valley Organic Nonfat Dry Milk -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rj11
fromCA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great for making greek yogurt
 January 15, 2012
"I add this to the milk to be cultured for greek yogurt. Makes the yogurt nice and think. Blends fine with a whisk."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Organic Valley Organic Nonfat Dry Milk -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
alwaysorganic
 November 13, 2011
"I have used this product before, I was very happy to get it online. I like Organic Valley products, this powered milk , has a great taste, and when I am out of the carton of milk, this is my back up."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Organic Valley Organic Nonfat Dry Milk -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
thriver
fromEast TN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Extra fortification
 November 10, 2011
"I have always hated the taste of milk but forced myself to drink it anyway. After surviving cancer, I switched to only organic dairy products because I do not want the added growth hormones, antibiotics, & pesticides that are in conventional dairy products. Organic Valley nonfat Dry Milk is the optimal way to add extra calcium into anything you bake. Just stir up the Dry Milk along with the flour in most recipes."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Organic Valley Organic Nonfat Dry Milk -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kjs5
fromwichita falls, tx
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
organic valley nonfat dry milk
 September 25, 2011
"this is the best tasting dry milk that i have ever tasted. it doesnt have that weird aftertaste. it's good with a little ovaltine in it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Organic Valley Organic Nonfat Dry Milk -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jally
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
perfect taste
 September 25, 2011
"perfect taste, as milk ought to be, unlike dry milks i've tasted from supermarkets which tasted yuk.
I just wish it would cost less."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Organic Valley Organic Nonfat Dry Milk -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jefletch
fromOhio
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
practical
 September 11, 2011
"It's convenient to mix up a small amount of this product for coffee or tea. I don't use much milk so this option is ideal for me. Mix it well with a wisk or something similar. The taste is not strong or offensive.."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Organic Valley Organic Nonfat Dry Milk -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
leaningreen
fromSaint Augustine, FL
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
good but expensive
 July 28, 2011
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"I use it in yogurt to make it thicker and increase protein. Nice product, but expensive."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Organic Valley Organic Nonfat Dry Milk -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hypogirl
fromRaleigh, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Nice
 June 22, 2011
"Cool to have on hand for those recipes. Why use organic milk if you have to use regular dry milk in recipes?
Thank you OV for making this!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Organic Valley Organic Nonfat Dry Milk -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Teddy007
fromDallas TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Great for shakes
 May 1, 2011
"I use this milk for my protein or other shakes and it's great - no powdery taste or anything like that.
It also allows me not to worry about having milk on hand - the packet just sits quietly in the cabinet and gets out when I need it.
Great quality product, reasonably priced.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Organic Valley Organic Nonfat Dry Milk -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Persnickit
Delicious
 April 14, 2011
"This milk tastes almost as good as the Organic Valley milk straight from the carton. It has no powdered milk taste."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Organic Valley Organic Nonfat Dry Milk -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BEHEALTHY48
Excellent powdered milk
 April 5, 2011
"I really like not having to lug heavy jugs of milk home every week, but there's more to it than that. I like knowing that I am not consuming chemicals and hormones that are added to milk. My Mom taught me many years ago to mix powdered milk that night before for the best taste. Also, I mix a little less powder than directed to get the best taste for me. Thanks for a great product at a good price."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Organic Valley Organic Nonfat Dry Milk -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
9KidsandCounting
fromMichigan
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Trusted Product-Great Value
 January 4, 2011
"Excellent price for quality. I don't trust regular dry milk either! This gives a wonderful flavor and richness to recipes like peanut butter balls (mix equal parts PB, honey, and dry milk to a fudge-like texture) and makes a great substitute for evaporated milk (check Google for recipe). I am very pleased, and I have been very happy with Organic Valley products like this one."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Organic Valley Organic Nonfat Dry Milk -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Afrosama
Age:35-44
I like organic
 March 8, 2010
"I don't trust American milk product. So I avoid them as much as possible.
I've been looking for organic dry milk for baking bread so long.
And I'm so happy when I found this one.
To be honest, I don't know taste diffrent organic or not.
But I'm fully satisfied.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Organic Valley Organic Nonfat Dry Milk -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ElKay
fromClearwater FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
convenient
 August 29, 2009
"Tastes fresh and dissolves easily.
This makes a good tasting and healthy creamer for coffee and tea drinks.
Also good to have on hand if you run out of fresh milk.
I keep it in my hurricane survival kit.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next