Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Joyva Sesame Tahini -- 15 oz

Creamy Puree Of Sesame Seeds. All Natural. No Additives. Tahini is an all natural creamy purée of sesame seeds that has a light nut-like flavor. Because it does not contain emulsifiers or thickeners it may separate.
Overall rating:
4.435 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(46 reviews) 40
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 46 reviews
5 Stars
33
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
41 out of 46(89%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Joyva Sesame Tahini -- 15 oz
Review 1 for Joyva Sesame Tahini -- 15 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HemHaw
Best Tahini
 March 28, 2014
"This is my favorite brand of tahini. Although it separates, turning the container upside down and leaving it that way helps. Very smooth & creamy."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Joyva Sesame Tahini -- 15 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Oregonhippie
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Not for me ~
 March 22, 2014
"It is roasted maybe that's why I don't like the taste even w/a bit of salt. It's hard on bottom even after leaving it upside down all night.
I'm going to try to return just to see what they do if opened.
I will buy the better name brand & not be so cheap.
This just tastes cheap to me!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Joyva Sesame Tahini -- 15 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beeee
fromWilliford, AR
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Very tasty but needs a lot of stirring
 February 9, 2014
"Very tasty but needs a lot of stirring. It separates like natural peanut butter. The can it comes in is big enough to really get in there and mix it up and once that is done you have a great product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Joyva Sesame Tahini -- 15 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LMFletch
fromCouncil Bluffs, IA
Age:75+
Gender:Female
I buy it often
 November 1, 2013
"I use it to make hummus. I really like it for fill in for some things."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Joyva Sesame Tahini -- 15 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
TavernierGal
fromFlorida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
good flavor
 October 12, 2013
"This works well in Hummus. It separates so a good bit of mixing is required. The flavor and price are great."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Joyva Sesame Tahini -- 15 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
georgia3grandmama
fromGeorgia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
I like this tahini!
 October 4, 2013
"I purchased this tahini specifically to make my homemade hummus recipe. Once I opened the can and stirred it, I put it in little 2 oz. containers and froze all but the one I was using at the time. Freezes nicely, thaws nicely, and makes for great hummus! I recommend this product to everyone - but don't get discouraged with stirring it; all tahini (that I've every purchased) has to be stirred before using. Oh, and I thought the price was nice, too."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Joyva Sesame Tahini -- 15 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DrMary
fromBoise, ID
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great taste, great price
 October 3, 2013
"Love the taste and consistency of this product. I have used several brands of tahini and consistently come back to this one. I use it as a salad dressing. Yum!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Joyva Sesame Tahini -- 15 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kulagirl
fromKula, HI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Yummy flavor and texture
 July 29, 2013
"Great flavor and consistency. This tahini doesn't clump as much as other brands do. I like the packaging - makes it easier to use."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Joyva Sesame Tahini -- 15 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Larrytex
fromHouston, Texas
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
High Quality
 July 5, 2013
"High Quality with good value."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Joyva Sesame Tahini -- 15 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KellyW
fromLawrenceville, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Very Tasty and good price
 June 21, 2013
"This is a great price for Tahini and it taste just as well as the others. Hmmmm! I do notice, though, that it is a little (just a little) less thick but still a very good seed butter."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Joyva Sesame Tahini -- 15 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chaplain
fromLansing MI
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Joyva rocks!
 May 23, 2013
"best by far of anything I have tried for making hummus!"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Joyva Sesame Tahini -- 15 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Beek
fromArkansas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
VERY TASTY AND SMOOTH ONCE IT'S STIRRED!
 May 18, 2013
"Love it needs stirring but great taste. I am not crazy about the container but it works!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Joyva Sesame Tahini -- 15 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gfkf
great with other nuts stirred in
 May 13, 2013
"Great to use in dressings and baked goods. Adds nutritional value."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Joyva Sesame Tahini -- 15 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jimmies
fromChicago, IL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Subtle and Strong
 April 22, 2013
"I ordered the Joyva tahini because it's the brand I'd often see used to make hummus when I'd go to friends houses as a child. Planning on using it to make my own hummus, I was feeling too lazy when it actually arrived, so instead mixed it with whatever else I had on hand.
Now, I still haven't used it to make hummus, as I'm just too in love with the amazing subtle layer of flavor and texture it adds when it's combined with home-made mayo, or mustard, or yogurt, or apple sauce, or soup, or brownies, or, or, or...
Sooo, this this tahini has pretty much become my new best friend!
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Joyva Sesame Tahini -- 15 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1inabillion
fromWest Coast
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love this!! NO SALT!
 April 18, 2013
"I've learned to open from the bottom :D Sesame Settles! I also but it in a jar! So I can close it better :D I have use Ziplock small plastic holders! The extra step helps in the long run!"
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Joyva Sesame Tahini -- 15 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
iEee
fromShady Valley, TN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent Quality
 February 19, 2013
"Superb base for home made hummus."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Joyva Sesame Tahini -- 15 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
ncjdivadancer
Great for the price!
 February 4, 2013
"Not as flavorful as the tahini I used to get from the middle eastern market near my house before I moved. Still pretty authentic and great for the price!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Joyva Sesame Tahini -- 15 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jer5
fromDetroit Lakes, MN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
second favorite ingredient in my hummus recipe
 January 27, 2013
"although the primary ingredient in my hummus recipe is chickpeas...the tahini is what really gives it the yumminess!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Joyva Sesame Tahini -- 15 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
newtoraw
fromSebring, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great taste and consistancy
 January 12, 2013
"This is the first time I have bought this brand and I will buy again. It has a great taste and is not thick or pasty like other brands I have used."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Joyva Sesame Tahini -- 15 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dolphindeb
fromQuebec, Canada
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great food
 January 3, 2013
"This is the best tasting tahini we have ever had. There is no bitter taste, a first! The price is right! We like it"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next