Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Jerky or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Primal Spirit Foods Primal® Strips Meatless Vegan Jerky Hickory Smoke -- 1 oz

The first meat alternative snack products in Soy Seitan and/or Shiitake Mushroom!
Overall rating:
4.75 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
11 out of 12(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Primal Spirit Foods Primal® Strips Meatless Vegan Jerky Hickory Smoke -- 1 oz
Review 1 for Primal Spirit Foods Primal® Strips Meatless Vegan Jerky Hickory Smoke -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromReading, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Surprisingly good
 May 28, 2016
" I had never heard of these vegan wonders. But I took a chance and ordered some. Boy am I happy I did. They are high in protein and taste great. When I travel I often find it difficult to find enough protein options, particularly overseas. These are small and pack easily. The Texas BBQ is my favorite but this is a close second. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Primal Spirit Foods Primal® Strips Meatless Vegan Jerky Hickory Smoke -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromWestlake Village, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Tasty, vegan source of protein!
 February 9, 2016
" Primal Spirit has made an awesome, easy to eat, on the go jerky!! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Primal Spirit Foods Primal® Strips Meatless Vegan Jerky Hickory Smoke -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSpfield, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Sooo good.
 November 19, 2015
" I eat meat and I still love these. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Primal Spirit Foods Primal® Strips Meatless Vegan Jerky Hickory Smoke -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNashville, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
a very good substitute for meat jerky
 October 19, 2015
" These single-serving meatless soy-based jerky strips by Primal Spirit Foods are my current favorite. Hubby and I have tried all their flavors and while we liked them all we found the Hickory Smoke to be the winner. It just reminds us of "regular" jerky the most. Has a nice chewy texture to it. Has a nice amount of heat from the spices, too.
Super easy and convenient to bring on a hike, long car trip, or as a snack during the work day. Has saved the day for us many times when we were stranded somewhere that had to vegetarian food options. You wont regret trying these!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Primal Spirit Foods Primal® Strips Meatless Vegan Jerky Hickory Smoke -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
fromca.
Not my favorite
 September 15, 2015
" I found this jerkee very dry and it had a very strange texture, rather like very chewy cardboard. The flavor is pleasant but sticky and gooey. I enjoy Stonewall's Jerquee far more. "
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Primal Spirit Foods Primal® Strips Meatless Vegan Jerky Hickory Smoke -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Can't Get Enough!
 August 5, 2015
" My husband and I take these to work with us! We are obsessed with how amazing they taste! I am partial to the Hickory Smoked over the other flavors! THESE ARE SOOOO GOOD! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Primal Spirit Foods Primal® Strips Meatless Vegan Jerky Hickory Smoke -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
3rd time is the charm
 April 14, 2015
" I didnt like this item the first couple times I ate it. I was trying to replace an item that Primal stopped making and I think that's why it took me a while to like it. But my 2 year old and 9 year old like it too. Very yum yum "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Primal Spirit Foods Primal® Strips Meatless Vegan Jerky Hickory Smoke -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromcalifornaia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Portable Protein Vegan Style
 August 13, 2014
" These are handy to tuck into a lunch box, carry in a bag to the gym, stick in a purse or stash a few in your desk. Smokey flavor, good texture and low cal. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Primal Spirit Foods Primal® Strips Meatless Vegan Jerky Hickory Smoke -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
I LOVE these.
 May 27, 2014
" So tasty. And they're so convenient to take anywhere with you. Even better that they have ten grams of protein per strip. My favorite snack. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Primal Spirit Foods Primal® Strips Meatless Vegan Jerky Hickory Smoke -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Smoke Flavored Primal Jerky!
 February 8, 2014
" As a gluten-free vegetarian, this is my go-to bar/strip when I need to grab something to keep me going! My boyfriend, who eats meat, eats them too because they have less sodium but taste like beef jerky. "
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Primal Spirit Foods Primal® Strips Meatless Vegan Jerky Hickory Smoke -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
DELICIOUS!
 January 16, 2014
" I don't eat meat and these are a great alternative to beef jerky. The texture and the flavor are so on point! Even if I ate meat I would prefer these. I will buy these for many years to come. Everyone I've ever let taste these think they're delicious (meat eaters or not). The only thing is some flavors are spicy and I don't like the lime mesquite one...you just have to find your flavor! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Primal Spirit Foods Primal® Strips Meatless Vegan Jerky Hickory Smoke -- 1 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Surprisingly delicious!
 November 12, 2013
" I have to admit that the product looks deceptively un-appetizing, but once you try it, you will love it! Even my husband, a non-vegetarian, loved it. I am especially pleased with the texture, which resembles real jerky and is unlike other soy products that I've had but disliked. The nutritional values are excellent, too. I was impressed that this product contains 11% of DV Iron and 10g of Protein per serving! "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.