Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Canned & Jarred Vegetables or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bionaturae Organic Strained Tomatoes -- 24 fl oz

Made in Italy. Makes Perfect Sauce in 5 Minutes. Unparalleled flavor sweet and tender. Vine ripened and hand harvested. No calcium chloride added. No Salt Added. Strained tomatoes or "passata di pomodoro" in glass bottles is a staple of every Italian kitchen. Ready to use for delicious sauces and soups or add to any tomato-based recipe. Smooth consistency for perfect sauce every time. No salt added. Bottle in glass for fresher taste for quick convenient pouring and storage.
Overall rating:
4.919 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(37 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 37 reviews
5 Stars
35
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
37 out of 37(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bionaturae Organic Strained Tomatoes -- 24 fl oz
Review 1 for Bionaturae Organic Strained Tomatoes -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ZombieLabyrinth
fromDayton, Ohio
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Must Have Pantry Staple!
 May 3, 2016
"I cook all the food for my family completely from scratch to avoid added sugars, preservatives, artificial "food-like" substances and chemicals. This prevents me from having any real conveniences or short-cuts in cooking. Until I found this product! Bionaturae Strained Tomatoes is one of the rare products I am able to always have on hand to cut down my time spent in the kitchen. It is extremely high quality with a wonderful rich taste. And the huge bonus being the glass containers. I buy 6-10 jars of this a month!
I use these strained tomatoes primarily for my quick tomato sauce. I sautee lots of diced carrots and red onions until they begin to brown, add in 2-3 heads of minced garlic (heads, not just tiny cloves), lots of fresh basil and oregano from my gardens, a jar of Bionaturae Strained Tomatoes and a 7oz jar of Bionaturae organic Tomato Paste and 1/4 cup of a good quality organic wine - let simmer for at least 20 minutes but preferably about an hour. If you prefer American style tomato sauce, add in a little balsamic vinegar or honey to sweeten. Serve over black bean or quinoa pasta with sauteed mushrooms and peppers, roasted eggplant, mushroom pizzas, use as a dip for roasted cauliflower, blend in a high speed blender with some roasted red bell peppers and simmer with grass-fed cream or coconut milk for a quick tomato soup, the possibilities are endless!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bionaturae Organic Strained Tomatoes -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
laughable
Lovely
 February 10, 2016
"This provides a wonderful base for the simple but delectable sauce on the label: olive oil, sea/Himalayan salt, fresh basil and garlic then YUM!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bionaturae Organic Strained Tomatoes -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GeddyL
fromPhoeniz, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Fresh Taste,Many Uses
 February 5, 2016
"Wonderfully fresh tasting and organic! No BPA cans to worry about and no pesticides. Use Bionaturae Organic Strained Tomatoes in any dish where a rich-flavorful, tomato sauce-like ingredient is needed."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bionaturae Organic Strained Tomatoes -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
halfcrazy
fromNY
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
excellent
 February 1, 2016
"Use this all the time, anytime making Italian."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bionaturae Organic Strained Tomatoes -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sandydaze
fromFlorida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good but too pricey
 January 28, 2016
"I love that this is in glass, but it is just too expensive to buy all the time when I can buy tomatoes in a carton."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bionaturae Organic Strained Tomatoes -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bikerdance
fromNevada
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Bionaturae Organic Strained Tomatoes - 24 fl oz
 January 16, 2016
"Bionaturae tomatoes are delicious in my recipes and are organic and come in a glass bottle instead of a can."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bionaturae Organic Strained Tomatoes -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fussyfoodie
fromArlington, Virginia
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
pure tomato
 January 6, 2016
"This is the most versatile of tomato sauces. It can be used directly as a juice or added to other ingredients to make an endless array of tomato based foods. The tomatoes are fully cooked and need no further development.. However, if further cooking is done they tend to caramelize nicely."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bionaturae Organic Strained Tomatoes -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bleohr
fromKill Devil Hills North Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
 January 2, 2016
"Great product wish all food came in glass jars"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bionaturae Organic Strained Tomatoes -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lesnik
fromNY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Marvelous
 January 1, 2016
"So tasty and easy to use-great that it's in a bottle and can be easily resealed"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bionaturae Organic Strained Tomatoes -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
morrylev
fromStaten Island, NY
Age:75+
Gender:Female
saucy
 December 25, 2015
"This along with Pome crushed tomatoes makes delicious gravy"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bionaturae Organic Strained Tomatoes -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AliCats
fromDenver CO
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Bionaturae tomatoes are great
 December 11, 2015
"My family uses tomatoes all year round for sauces and salsas. We grow a lot of our own and freeze them for winter, but not enough. I hate the plastic in cans and had heard that tomatoes react especially badly with it, so I went looking for tomatoes in glass. These are nearly as good as home grown."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bionaturae Organic Strained Tomatoes -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kimmyc
fromCalifornia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This product is for those who search out the best
 December 2, 2015
"I only buy tomato paste and sauce from this company - the taste in unbeatable."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bionaturae Organic Strained Tomatoes -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HealthyH
fromMassillon, Oh
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Taste great!
 November 15, 2015
"It is the closest thing to using tomatoes right from the garden. I loved that it's a glass jar. It is a puree consistency. Used with spaghetti squash, in soups, and over slow cooker beef roast."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bionaturae Organic Strained Tomatoes -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TheOldMan
fromIllinois
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Unique product for food prep
 September 27, 2015
"Bionaturae's strained tomatoes come in a bottle, not a plastic jar that can leech chemicals. There is just one ingredient--good tomatoes. No seasoning, no oils, no herbs added. This appears to me to make the product unique and wonderful, since I can use it in cooking in whatever way I want, without having to accept some food company's choices of added ingredients. Great for making pasta sauce by adding the spices, herbs, wine, or whatever else I happen to want."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bionaturae Organic Strained Tomatoes -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
marketlady
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
 September 12, 2015
"Nice consistency and I like that I can simply pour out what I need and keep the rest in the fridge without having to transfer to another container like I would have to if it was in a metal can."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bionaturae Organic Strained Tomatoes -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ibra
fromSan Francisco
Age:18-24
Gender:Male
Excellent for soups
 July 1, 2015
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
User submitted photo
"Perfect tomato juice for soups"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bionaturae Organic Strained Tomatoes -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dreamer777
fromVacaville, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Safe to eat!
 January 30, 2015
"It's comforting to know that these strained tomatoes are free from the toxins released in cans! You can certainly taste the difference in organic tomatoes vs. non-organic."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bionaturae Organic Strained Tomatoes -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
12345shopper
 January 27, 2015
"This is not smooth but has some thickness to it when you cook it. I think I would rather use their BPA-Free canned crushed or diced tomatoes instead as a personal preference. The taste seems a little different. God bless you all."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bionaturae Organic Strained Tomatoes -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
carmart
fromNew York
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Organic and packed in glass not metal
 January 14, 2015
"This tomato product tastes great and is packed in glass. You can use it to make Italian style tomato sauce in a snap, or just pour over a meatloaf and top with slices of cheese for a nice twist. So convenient."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bionaturae Organic Strained Tomatoes -- 24 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Suelin
fromFairborn, Ohio
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Love the flavor - and the big glass jar
 December 31, 2014
"When I have a recipe that calls for tomato sauce, I use Bionaturae strained tomatoes instead of a canned sauce. It tastes so good - none of that sharp metallic taste that you can get with tomatoes in cans. Really gives a flavor boost to canned soups too. So glad it's organic!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next