Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Cake Mixes Frostings & Fillings or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Pamela's Products Gluten Free Cake Mix Vanilla -- 21 oz

Our premium all natural Vanilla Cake Mix makes a tender moist and simple pleasure to enjoy warm from the oven or transformed into a rich tantalizing dessert!
Overall rating:
4.067 / 5
4.1
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
12 out of 15(80%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Pamela's Products Gluten Free Cake Mix Vanilla -- 21 oz
Review 1 for Pamela's Products Gluten Free Cake Mix Vanilla -- 21 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nikia
fromSan Leandro, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
soooo yummy!
 August 1, 2014
"This is hands down the best gluten free cake mix ever! I used it to make carrot cake mini cupcakes and not only does it make a ton ( a full two pans worth of cake where as so many only make one ) I served it to a bunch of my husbands friends, who are not gluten free, and they all loved it! It comes out so moist and has the same chewy texture that is so often missing from gluten free baked goods. I think it is all the tapioca flour in the mix. My mom also used this to make doughnuts and OH MY GOODNESS! So amazing!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Pamela's Products Gluten Free Cake Mix Vanilla -- 21 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
sugarfreemom123
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good cake
 March 6, 2014
"This made a pretty good cake for being gluten free. It was a little dry but could be because I made mine with part coconut oil part veg oil instead of all veg oil which i've found with cookies and other baked goods that this seems to make them drier."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Pamela's Products Gluten Free Cake Mix Vanilla -- 21 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
PwderGMilk
fromLouisiana
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Not Bad
 February 28, 2014
"Excellent flavor. I baked the caked about 10 minutes longer than the bake time that the package suggests, and even after the cake cooled completely, the bottom was kind of gooey. I've found this to be typical of GF cake mixes, though. Also, I used a glass pan. Perhaps if I used a metal pan, I'd have a less gooey bottom. Dense, moist cake."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Pamela's Products Gluten Free Cake Mix Vanilla -- 21 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ClareB
fromSC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
yummy
 February 16, 2014
"My family really liked these cupcakes. Look good, smell good, taste good! I will buy again. Pamela's Products are great!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Pamela's Products Gluten Free Cake Mix Vanilla -- 21 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gfKaren
fromPanama City Beach, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Tasty
 November 30, 2013
"We don't eat cake often, so why reinvent the wheel. All Pamela's products meet the need. I made cupcakes, or cake. I think I use the extra egg on this one (per recipe), but ever so slightly undercooked. It can be dry if it is over cooked. We like it best with a rich homemade chocolate icing. It tastes decadent that way. Like all GF products, don't let it linger too long, it will get spongy. Of course, this never does, because it's gone : )"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Pamela's Products Gluten Free Cake Mix Vanilla -- 21 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JanieM
fromSouthwestern Pennnsylvania
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great results.
 June 14, 2013
"I made the Pineapple Upside Down Cake and it's in my permanant recipe book, it was outstanding."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Pamela's Products Gluten Free Cake Mix Vanilla -- 21 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
catspaw
fromcalifornia
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Fixed some Christmas day
 December 26, 2012
"And the family could not really tell the difference from wheat pancakes. I use the egg free version with great ease and satisfaction."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Pamela's Products Gluten Free Cake Mix Vanilla -- 21 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
funfriend
fromLexington, SC
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Pamela's Gluten-Free Vanilla Cake Mix
 August 3, 2012
"I was disappointed in the grainy texture. I can't recommend this product. I'll have to look further to find an acceptable mix."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Pamela's Products Gluten Free Cake Mix Vanilla -- 21 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mellan
fromBryans Road, MD
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Best when made with 4 eggs~
 July 25, 2012
"We love this cake as do my non GF-eating family! I made it first as suggested with 3 eggs but last night I made it with 4 and loved how soft it became. It is a delicious cake mix and very easy to make! We topped it with a buttercream frosting for a wonderful birthday surprise!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Pamela's Products Gluten Free Cake Mix Vanilla -- 21 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
JKnickerbocker
fromSeattle,WA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Corn Bread!
 May 19, 2012
"I had really high hopes for this based on other's reviews. However, when I baked this cake, the texture & taste were that of a REALLY overly sweet corn bread. Big granules of corn meal in every bite. Not at all cake like. We tried it warm & again once it cooled. Maybe I got a bad batch, but my husband & I both thought this was totally disgusting. It went right into the compost bin."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Pamela's Products Gluten Free Cake Mix Vanilla -- 21 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Taste:
2 / 5
2 / 5
AIC100
fromCHICAGO, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
BLAND
 November 17, 2011
"I found this cake mix to be a bit bland and stiff. It wasn't moist like regular cake mixes..but then again I have yet to find any dessert type item that is Gluten free and really yummy.. They've all been just okay."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Pamela's Products Gluten Free Cake Mix Vanilla -- 21 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
animalhousemom
fromGeorgia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Very good mix
 February 15, 2011
"I used this mix for the first time yesterday to make cupcakes. They turned out light and fluffy (for a gluten-free mix) and were very tasty. I will definitely use this mix again!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Pamela's Products Gluten Free Cake Mix Vanilla -- 21 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lseibert
fromShelby twp., MI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great Taste
 February 12, 2011
"This gluten-free cake was very good and I would by it again!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Pamela's Products Gluten Free Cake Mix Vanilla -- 21 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Writerly
fromLos Angeles
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
WOW! Many saved birthday parties!
 July 24, 2010
"This cake mix is terrific! !'ve made it both as cupcakes and as a round cake with much success. Once it's baked, it is very similar in texture, moisture, and flavor to a regular glutenous cake. As the person who recommended it to me pointed out, and the package points out, though, it's really important not to over-bake to avoid dryness and it hits that perfect level of doneness all of the sudden, especially with cupcakes, so be sure to test the cake often. I'm so happy to have a cake I can make AND my whole family can enjoy, rather than making a cake they can eat but I can't, or a cake that I can eat, but that tastes off somehow. Countless birthdays from here on out will be more harmonious!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Pamela's Products Gluten Free Cake Mix Vanilla -- 21 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
infogal
fromMissouri
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
great taste
 May 26, 2009
"I really like this cake mix. The value is good and it taste delish. I like the fact it has no reg flour in it. So it is way healthier than so many mixes. This is very versatile also. You can make a variety of diff cakes with it. Love it."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.