Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Rice or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb

A Gourmet Field Blend of Black & Mahogany Rice. Whole Grain Goodness. Gluten Free. Non-GMO. Kosher. Cultivating A Family Tradition. Over the years the Lundberg family has produced high quality Eco-Farmed rice products. It's their passion and has been for over three generations. Lundberg prides themselves on growing rice that is good for you and the environment.  . They've grown their rice sustainably long before anyone used the word. Lundberg's farming methods conserve water resources build soil integrity and support a healthier ecosystem.  . At Lundberg Family Farms® they specialize in Eco-Farmed whole grain and gluten-free rice products. Nothing fancy there just lots of natural deliciousness. thanks for supporting sustainable farming!  . Black Japonica™ Blend - Juicy & Bold. Succulent with a roasted nutty flavor and exotic sweet spiciness. This unique rice variety is nutrient-rich and high in health-promoting anthocyanin antioxidants like those found in blueberries and blackberries.
Overall rating:
4.818 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(22 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 22 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
22 out of 22(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Review 1 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Coconutttty
fromPayson, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 June 12, 2015
"I love all the Lundberg rices so thought I would give this a try. While it does have a distinct flavor that is different from say, brown rice, it wasn't as different/distinct as I had hoped. A lot of dark color came out of it as well, so if you don't want your dish discolored, use something else. If you're looking for something different, this might be the ticket."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bubblegirl
fromOverseas right now
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Fantastic rice
 May 26, 2015
"Gluten free, tasty - very! It is fantastic in sweet dishes, straight, or flavorful savory. It doesn't last long in our house."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ceni
fromNew Mexico
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
My only choice
 March 2, 2015
"This rice is one of most nutritious and is delicious.
I love and buy all the types of Lundberg rices.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gpchlia
fromIllinois
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love the flavor & color it gives soups!
 March 1, 2015
"Excellent taste. I enjoy it as a pilaf but my favorite use is in soups... chicken & rice, mushroom & rice, etc. It adds not only flavor but also a great rich color to the soup. I think the Velcro self closer on the Lundberg package is a really nice touch, too."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MAandClaudia
fromDecatur, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Nutty
 February 12, 2015
"Great nutty flavor. Excellent."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RINASHOPS
fromBrooklyn, New York
Gender:Female
Delicious Rice
 January 29, 2015
"This was my first time trying this rice and it will be a staple for future orders. Great taste and easy to make. I truly enjoyed eating this rice."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
glolilly
fromDallas, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
I like it!
 January 7, 2015
"Good and different rice that I just tried for the first time. I love that it cooks up moist and nonstick. It did look different but we are enjoying it. I must look for specific recipes to go with it soon."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Immanuel
fromFL
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Lundberg black and mahogany rice black japonica
 August 15, 2014
"I love this rice. It is chewy and delicious. I combine it with the Lundberg organic California brown basmati rice. The combination is delicious all on its own and makes a very satisfying addition to any meal."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
stalin
fromcolorado
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
the best rice company!
 May 29, 2014
"I have purchased from this company many times and all there products have been beyond outstanding I love there brown rice couscous and the wide range of different types of rices.The price can seem a little high but when you realize the quality and nutrition you are getting this becomes a mute point.This is one of the best out there and me and my family will be buying this brand from Vitacost well into the future.Here is a little idea put this black rice in your soup when you cook it provides great texture and flavor to the soup a little nutty and sweet I used it with a mixture of dried yellow soybean,chickpeas and this rice with some vegs and veg broth."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PatMDE
fromMiddletown, DE
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Our favorite rice
 May 19, 2014
"Lundberg has quality products and this rice is the very best of the best. Yum."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
amazonia
fromca
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
black rice
 April 20, 2014
"This is a very easy to prepare rice. It is higher in nutrients than white rice, nutty in flavor. I add couple tablespoons of olive oil and cook like I do with regular rice. Would highly recommend this brand and rice."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Caseybird
fromTonawanda, NY
Age:75+
Gender:Female
So healthy!!
 April 15, 2014
"Price can't be beat--Love the flavor!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
shapenana
fromwestfield Ma
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
very delightful
 March 23, 2014
"it is a little nutty but it is smooth in taste. it cooks up a very dark purple and taste way better then brown rice to me. Cook it in your favorite broth instead of water."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sandsent
fromSouthwest Florida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Delicious different tasting rice
 January 20, 2014
"We really enjoyed this rice. It actually cooked up a dark purple color instead of black for me. It is a great flavor and we had fun trying something different other than just brown rice."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
born2sing65
fromWashington DC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 December 13, 2013
"I really love this rice especially cooking it in vegetable broth. I put bean stew over it and it's a great replacement for other rices or if I don't want to use quinoa.
Definitely rinse the rice before cooking."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LasVegasVegan
fromLas Vegas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Incredible Flavor
 December 12, 2013
"Not only is black rice good for you, the flavor really adds a lot to your dishes. If you are going to serve rice, why not serve a variety that is healthy and delicious."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BlueWolf
fromNorthern Virginia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Wonderful Brand, love the Black/Mahogany
 December 2, 2013
"Lundberg has great rices, I also love the wild rice mix, not to mention the browns. My grocery store stopped carrying the Black Japonica, so I'm happy Vitacost carries it. Good price, too!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DEBONAIR
fromSacramento CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best Rice ever
 May 13, 2013
"At first I thought this would be like wild rice but NOOOO it is absolutely fantastic rice. Great texture & flavor.
Would recommend to anyone.
"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tabitha1
fromVancouver, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Black rice
 May 10, 2013
"This is a tasty and chewy rice. Great alternative to brown rice."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shata
fromSD
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 April 18, 2013
"Really liked this rice. It seemed like a cross between rice and pasta but a little firmer."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next