Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Rice or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb

A Gourmet Field Blend of Black & Mahogany Rice. Whole Grain Goodness. Gluten Free. Non-GMO. Kosher. Cultivating A Family Tradition. Over the years the Lundberg family has produced high quality Eco-Farmed rice products. It's their passion and has been for over three generations. Lundberg prides themselves on growing rice that is good for you and the environment.  . They've grown their rice sustainably long before anyone used the word. Lundberg's farming methods conserve water resources build soil integrity and support a healthier ecosystem.  . At Lundberg Family Farms® they specialize in Eco-Farmed whole grain and gluten-free rice products. Nothing fancy there just lots of natural deliciousness. thanks for supporting sustainable farming!  . Black Japonica™ Blend - Juicy & Bold. Succulent with a roasted nutty flavor and exotic sweet spiciness. This unique rice variety is nutrient-rich and high in health-promoting anthocyanin antioxidants like those found in blueberries and blackberries.
Overall rating:
4.833 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(24 reviews) 24
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 24 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
24 out of 24(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Review 1 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromLumberton, MS
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Excellent flavor
 June 2, 2016
" Takes a little longer to cook but the benefits outweigh the extra time. Maintains a nutty (not hard or crispy) chewable texture, has an awesome flavor and is much healthier than conventional rice. Absolutely in my top ten. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great find
 February 16, 2016
" I had been reading about the many health benefits of black rice, but was unable to find it anywhere. I was happy to see that Vitacost now carries this rice. I have heard it said that "black rice leaves brown rice in the dust." I occasionally mix the two for a different flavor. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromPayson, AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 June 12, 2015
" I love all the Lundberg rices so thought I would give this a try. While it does have a distinct flavor that is different from say, brown rice, it wasn't as different/distinct as I had hoped. A lot of dark color came out of it as well, so if you don't want your dish discolored, use something else. If you're looking for something different, this might be the ticket. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromOverseas right now
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Fantastic rice
 May 26, 2015
" Gluten free, tasty - very! It is fantastic in sweet dishes, straight, or flavorful savory. It doesn't last long in our house. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNew Mexico
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
My only choice
 March 2, 2015
" This rice is one of most nutritious and is delicious.
I love and buy all the types of Lundberg rices.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromIllinois
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love the flavor & color it gives soups!
 March 1, 2015
" Excellent taste. I enjoy it as a pilaf but my favorite use is in soups... chicken & rice, mushroom & rice, etc. It adds not only flavor but also a great rich color to the soup. I think the Velcro self closer on the Lundberg package is a really nice touch, too. "
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromDecatur, GA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Nutty
 February 12, 2015
" Great nutty flavor. Excellent. "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromBrooklyn, New York
Gender:Female
Delicious Rice
 January 29, 2015
" This was my first time trying this rice and it will be a staple for future orders. Great taste and easy to make. I truly enjoyed eating this rice. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromDallas, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
I like it!
 January 7, 2015
" Good and different rice that I just tried for the first time. I love that it cooks up moist and nonstick. It did look different but we are enjoying it. I must look for specific recipes to go with it soon. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromFL
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Lundberg black and mahogany rice black japonica
 August 15, 2014
" I love this rice. It is chewy and delicious. I combine it with the Lundberg organic California brown basmati rice. The combination is delicious all on its own and makes a very satisfying addition to any meal. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromcolorado
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
the best rice company!
 May 29, 2014
" I have purchased from this company many times and all there products have been beyond outstanding I love there brown rice couscous and the wide range of different types of rices.The price can seem a little high but when you realize the quality and nutrition you are getting this becomes a mute point.This is one of the best out there and me and my family will be buying this brand from Vitacost well into the future.Here is a little idea put this black rice in your soup when you cook it provides great texture and flavor to the soup a little nutty and sweet I used it with a mixture of dried yellow soybean,chickpeas and this rice with some vegs and veg broth. "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMiddletown, DE
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Our favorite rice
 May 19, 2014
" Lundberg has quality products and this rice is the very best of the best. Yum. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromca
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
black rice
 April 20, 2014
" This is a very easy to prepare rice. It is higher in nutrients than white rice, nutty in flavor. I add couple tablespoons of olive oil and cook like I do with regular rice. Would highly recommend this brand and rice. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromTonawanda, NY
Age:75+
Gender:Female
So healthy!!
 April 15, 2014
" Price can't be beat--Love the flavor!! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromwestfield Ma
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
very delightful
 March 23, 2014
" it is a little nutty but it is smooth in taste. it cooks up a very dark purple and taste way better then brown rice to me. Cook it in your favorite broth instead of water. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSouthwest Florida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Delicious different tasting rice
 January 20, 2014
" We really enjoyed this rice. It actually cooked up a dark purple color instead of black for me. It is a great flavor and we had fun trying something different other than just brown rice. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromWashington DC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 December 13, 2013
" I really love this rice especially cooking it in vegetable broth. I put bean stew over it and it's a great replacement for other rices or if I don't want to use quinoa.
Definitely rinse the rice before cooking. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromLas Vegas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Incredible Flavor
 December 12, 2013
" Not only is black rice good for you, the flavor really adds a lot to your dishes. If you are going to serve rice, why not serve a variety that is healthy and delicious. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNorthern Virginia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Wonderful Brand, love the Black/Mahogany
 December 2, 2013
" Lundberg has great rices, I also love the wild rice mix, not to mention the browns. My grocery store stopped carrying the Black Japonica, so I'm happy Vitacost carries it. Good price, too! "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSacramento CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best Rice ever
 May 13, 2013
" At first I thought this would be like wild rice but NOOOO it is absolutely fantastic rice. Great texture & flavor.
Would recommend to anyone.
"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
1 2 next