Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Rice or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb

A Gourmet Field Blend of Black & Mahogany Rice. Whole Grain Goodness. Gluten Free. Non-GMO. Kosher. Cultivating A Family Tradition. Over the years the Lundberg family has produced high quality Eco-Farmed rice products. It's their passion and has been for over three generations. Lundberg prides themselves on growing rice that is good for you and the environment.  . They've grown their rice sustainably long before anyone used the word. Lundberg's farming methods conserve water resources build soil integrity and support a healthier ecosystem.  . At Lundberg Family Farms® they specialize in Eco-Farmed whole grain and gluten-free rice products. Nothing fancy there just lots of natural deliciousness. thanks for supporting sustainable farming!  . Black Japonica™ Blend - Juicy & Bold. Succulent with a roasted nutty flavor and exotic sweet spiciness. This unique rice variety is nutrient-rich and high in health-promoting anthocyanin antioxidants like those found in blueberries and blackberries.
Overall rating:
4.933 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 15
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 15(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Review 1 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Immanuel
fromFL
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Lundberg black and mahogany rice black japonica
 August 15, 2014
"I love this rice. It is chewy and delicious. I combine it with the Lundberg organic California brown basmati rice. The combination is delicious all on its own and makes a very satisfying addition to any meal."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
stalin
fromcolorado
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
the best rice company!
 May 29, 2014
"I have purchased from this company many times and all there products have been beyond outstanding I love there brown rice couscous and the wide range of different types of rices.The price can seem a little high but when you realize the quality and nutrition you are getting this becomes a mute point.This is one of the best out there and me and my family will be buying this brand from Vitacost well into the future.Here is a little idea put this black rice in your soup when you cook it provides great texture and flavor to the soup a little nutty and sweet I used it with a mixture of dried yellow soybean,chickpeas and this rice with some vegs and veg broth."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PatMDE
fromMiddletown, DE
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Our favorite rice
 May 19, 2014
"Lundberg has quality products and this rice is the very best of the best. Yum."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
amazonia
fromca
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
black rice
 April 20, 2014
"This is a very easy to prepare rice. It is higher in nutrients than white rice, nutty in flavor. I add couple tablespoons of olive oil and cook like I do with regular rice. Would highly recommend this brand and rice."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Caseybird
fromTonawanda, NY
Age:75+
Gender:Female
So healthy!!
 April 15, 2014
"Price can't be beat--Love the flavor!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
shapenana
fromwestfield Ma
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
very delightful
 March 23, 2014
"it is a little nutty but it is smooth in taste. it cooks up a very dark purple and taste way better then brown rice to me. Cook it in your favorite broth instead of water."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sandsent
fromSouthwest Florida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Delicious different tasting rice
 January 20, 2014
"We really enjoyed this rice. It actually cooked up a dark purple color instead of black for me. It is a great flavor and we had fun trying something different other than just brown rice."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
born2sing65
fromWashington DC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 December 13, 2013
"I really love this rice especially cooking it in vegetable broth. I put bean stew over it and it's a great replacement for other rices or if I don't want to use quinoa.
Definitely rinse the rice before cooking."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LasVegasVegan
fromLas Vegas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Incredible Flavor
 December 12, 2013
"Not only is black rice good for you, the flavor really adds a lot to your dishes. If you are going to serve rice, why not serve a variety that is healthy and delicious."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BlueWolf
fromNorthern Virginia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Wonderful Brand, love the Black/Mahogany
 December 2, 2013
"Lundberg has great rices, I also love the wild rice mix, not to mention the browns. My grocery store stopped carrying the Black Japonica, so I'm happy Vitacost carries it. Good price, too!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DEBONAIR
fromSacramento CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best Rice ever
 May 13, 2013
"At first I thought this would be like wild rice but NOOOO it is absolutely fantastic rice. Great texture & flavor.
Would recommend to anyone.
"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tabitha1
fromVancouver, WA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Black rice
 May 10, 2013
"This is a tasty and chewy rice. Great alternative to brown rice."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shata
fromSD
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 April 18, 2013
"Really liked this rice. It seemed like a cross between rice and pasta but a little firmer."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MattBC
This is fantastic rice
 April 15, 2013
"For those who want something healthier and tastier than white rice, this black rice is delicious! The lundberg brown is great too."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Lundberg Black and Mahogany Rice Black Japonica™ -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
swanjame
Gender:Male
A wonderful rice.
 November 22, 2012
"Color, texture, and flavor are superb. Adds a new dimension to any rice dish. Very, very nice.
Jim"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.