Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz

Hulled Whole Grain Buckwheat. Certified Organic. Gluten Free. Kosher. Eden® Organic Buckwheat -- family farm organically grown on the high plains of North & South Dakota. Despite its name buckwheat is not wheat but the seed of a broad leaf plant related to rhubarb. Buckwheat is a good source of fiber and protein providing all amino acids including the essential ones. It is also Nature's best source of the bioflavonoid rutin. Versatile as a main dish hot porridge in soup salads and stuffed vegetable dishes. Gluten Free. Heart Healthy. Whole Grain.
Overall rating:
4.84 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(25 reviews) 23
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 25 reviews
5 Stars
23
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
24 out of 25(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Review 1 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
crazyazgal
fromSt Paul, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great as a hot cereal!
 August 16, 2015
"Tried this as a hot cereal (soaked overnight and then cooked in the morning). It was yummy!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
scarletred76
fromGreensboro, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good price!
 June 24, 2015
"More than double at Whole Foods! Great for morning porridge - raw and soaked the night before!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Robert1
fromNew York City
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
opt for barley instead
 June 17, 2015
"The product was fine for what it was, but there is a reason buckwheat is not more popular - it simply isn't appealing."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
123mini
fromCA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
very happy
 May 20, 2015
"cooks well. flavorful!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
enjoythedayguy
fromWisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
As always vita cost service is excellent
 April 24, 2015
"Excellent product excellent service not much else to say"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fcmdoc
fromWisconsin
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
No bitter taste!
 April 17, 2015
"Some of the raw buckwheat I've purchased has a bitter flavor but not Eden Foods. I love using this in raw recipes and ground into flour as well as in many cooked recipes. Great product!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
irisrochelle
fromOrmond Beach , FL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great price for a hearty winter food
 November 12, 2014
"You have the option of roasting this kasha or eating as is . Wonderful winter food."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HealthlyNYC
This product is delicious
 October 18, 2014
"The organic buckwheat is delicious and great quality. Buckwheat has a great deal of protein and complements any meal. It's a winner!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vegan123
fromNew York, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Vegan123
 September 22, 2014
"I make this all of time and even make it in a curry flavor."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HemHaw
 September 10, 2014
"Delicious. I cook it whole, process it slightly for hot cereal, and grind it for flour."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bamafootball
fromVINEMONT Alabama
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Excellent product
 August 5, 2014
"This product is one of the best we have tried. It is very healthy and a great way to start your day."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
IMHealthy
Great tasting!
 April 12, 2014
"Excellent texture, taste and quality."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pharista
fromSan Francisco, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Helthy choice for carbohydrate
 August 31, 2013
"Buckwheat is easy to cook and tasty. It can be sprouted and made it into a dough to make raw cookies if you are into raw food. It is a healthier choice for carbohydrate rather than rice, oats and pasta, etc. I recommend Eden Organic Buckwheat to anyone. The price is excellent."
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ThoughtfulBirth
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great for sprouting/soaking
 June 21, 2013
"I soak/sprout my buckwheat (to increase its protein content and deactivate anti-digestive enzymes), and every seed from this bag grew a sprout. Not a lot of flavor, which actually makes it a great protein-rich breakfast foundation."
+13points
14of 15voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TriJunkie
fromMpls, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Not just for Bkfst
 March 26, 2013
"I use this mixed with Chia and Hemp seed. But also add to salads for some extra crunch. yummy!"
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gopal
fromHillsborough, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Good quality product, convenient pack
 March 20, 2013
"Great product, however some health food stores have in bulk for cheaper."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KellyW
fromLawrenceville, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Wonderful Product
 March 7, 2013
"I love this product. I soak it for at least 4 hours if not overnight and it cooks up very well. If I want it harder and/or more like rice consistency, I cook it for a shorter time and if I want it more like porridge, I just cook it longer. This brand and type seems to do well with however you cook it and even in microwave or on the stove."
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GJchic
My new favorite grain by my favorite company
 December 29, 2012
"This is the first time I've eaten buckwheat as a whole grain and it is now my go to grain of choice. Eden's quality is always superior to other brands. In addition, Vitacost has the best price and 2-day shipping."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Puppye
fromArkansas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great product
 December 6, 2012
"I use this product and quinoa flakes to make gluten-free granola and other baked goods."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CityMe
versatile and lots of fiber
 December 4, 2012
"These groats have a lot of fiber AND protein.
You'll need to give them a heavy rinse in a mesh strainer or to me they seem a bit slimy. You can cook them like rice/pilaf.
You can also make your own dried cereal. Take about 1 cup, rinse heavily, then spread on a sheet of wax paper on a cookie sheet in a warm oven. Mix every 20 mins or so until dry (two hours maybe?) I eat it dry and crunchy. A little goes a long way."
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
1 2 next