Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz

Hulled Whole Grain Buckwheat. Certified Organic. Gluten Free. Kosher. Eden® Organic Buckwheat -- family farm organically grown on the high plains of North & South Dakota. Despite its name buckwheat is not wheat but the seed of a broad leaf plant related to rhubarb. Buckwheat is a good source of fiber and protein providing all amino acids including the essential ones. It is also Nature's best source of the bioflavonoid rutin. Versatile as a main dish hot porridge in soup salads and stuffed vegetable dishes. Gluten Free. Heart Healthy. Whole Grain.
Overall rating:
4.839 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(31 reviews) 29
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 31 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
30 out of 31(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Review 1 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Valerija
fromCalifornia
tasty, old style buckwheat
 April 14, 2016
"It's not that easy to find in US old style buckwheat without almond taste or some other taste enhancer. This is the one! I am from the country where buckwheat is the most favorite and popular grain food for both kids and adults as well. I am still surprised that buckwheat not known widely in US. It's such tasty and healthy food."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SvetaT
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
 March 1, 2016
"Just love it!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bean123
So Versatile
 February 21, 2016
"I love these buckwheat groats because I can do so many things with them. I make granola, soak them to make porridge or cook it and serve with some veggies! It can be sweet or savory depending on whatever other flavors you fold into it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromSan Jose, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Far superior than rice in any form
 January 2, 2016
"Excellent alternative to rice and wheat.
It has far more benefits than rice and easy to work with. It requires very little soaking time and cooks in a short time.
This particular brand doesn't melt away or get gooey.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marybelle
fromOconomowoc, WI
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
New Experience!
 January 2, 2016
"This is such a healthy, protein-packed food. I use frequently and if you are doing the Daniel Diet, it is also filling and extremely versatile! Used for several dishes in our Apples of Gold ministry where we teach healthy eating and cooking. Everyone loved it in my Mediterranean Salad. Can use instead of rice or barley or pasta! It is NOT wheat - which was a surprise to me! Thank you for carrying this item and for all the info you provide with all your products!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jody555
fromTX
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Fantastic product!
 December 22, 2015
"This was my first time to try buckwheat and I love it! Very easy to prepare, and I recommend it for anyone who eats gluten free. I will certainly order it again. I love trying new products."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
crazyazgal
fromSt Paul, MN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great as a hot cereal!
 August 16, 2015
"Tried this as a hot cereal (soaked overnight and then cooked in the morning). It was yummy!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
scarletred76
fromGreensboro, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good price!
 June 24, 2015
"More than double at Whole Foods! Great for morning porridge - raw and soaked the night before!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Robert1
fromNew York City
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
opt for barley instead
 June 17, 2015
"The product was fine for what it was, but there is a reason buckwheat is not more popular - it simply isn't appealing."
-7points
0of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
123mini
fromCA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
very happy
 May 20, 2015
"cooks well. flavorful!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
enjoythedayguy
fromWisconsin
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
As always vita cost service is excellent
 April 24, 2015
"Excellent product excellent service not much else to say"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fcmdoc
fromWisconsin
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
No bitter taste!
 April 17, 2015
"Some of the raw buckwheat I've purchased has a bitter flavor but not Eden Foods. I love using this in raw recipes and ground into flour as well as in many cooked recipes. Great product!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
irisrochelle
fromOrmond Beach , FL
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great price for a hearty winter food
 November 12, 2014
"You have the option of roasting this kasha or eating as is . Wonderful winter food."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HealthlyNYC
This product is delicious
 October 18, 2014
"The organic buckwheat is delicious and great quality. Buckwheat has a great deal of protein and complements any meal. It's a winner!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Vegan123
fromNew York, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Vegan123
 September 22, 2014
"I make this all of time and even make it in a curry flavor."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HemHaw
 September 10, 2014
"Delicious. I cook it whole, process it slightly for hot cereal, and grind it for flour."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bamafootball
fromVINEMONT Alabama
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Excellent product
 August 5, 2014
"This product is one of the best we have tried. It is very healthy and a great way to start your day."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
IMHealthy
Great tasting!
 April 12, 2014
"Excellent texture, taste and quality."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pharista
fromSan Francisco, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Helthy choice for carbohydrate
 August 31, 2013
"Buckwheat is easy to cook and tasty. It can be sprouted and made it into a dough to make raw cookies if you are into raw food. It is a healthier choice for carbohydrate rather than rice, oats and pasta, etc. I recommend Eden Organic Buckwheat to anyone. The price is excellent."
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ThoughtfulBirth
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great for sprouting/soaking
 June 21, 2013
"I soak/sprout my buckwheat (to increase its protein content and deactivate anti-digestive enzymes), and every seed from this bag grew a sprout. Not a lot of flavor, which actually makes it a great protein-rich breakfast foundation."
+14points
15of 16voted this as helpful.
1 2 next