Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz

Hulled Whole Grain Buckwheat. Certified Organic. Gluten Free. Kosher. Eden® Organic Buckwheat -- family farm organically grown on the high plains of North & South Dakota. Despite its name buckwheat is not wheat but the seed of a broad leaf plant related to rhubarb. Buckwheat is a good source of fiber and protein providing all amino acids including the essential ones. It is also Nature's best source of the bioflavonoid rutin. Versatile as a main dish hot porridge in soup salads and stuffed vegetable dishes. Gluten Free. Heart Healthy. Whole Grain.
Overall rating:
4.938 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
16 out of 16(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Review 1 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HemHaw
 September 10, 2014
"Delicious. I cook it whole, process it slightly for hot cereal, and grind it for flour."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bamafootball
fromVINEMONT Alabama
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Excellent product
 August 5, 2014
"This product is one of the best we have tried. It is very healthy and a great way to start your day."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
IMHealthy
Great tasting!
 April 12, 2014
"Excellent texture, taste and quality."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pharista
fromSan Francisco, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Helthy choice for carbohydrate
 August 31, 2013
"Buckwheat is easy to cook and tasty. It can be sprouted and made it into a dough to make raw cookies if you are into raw food. It is a healthier choice for carbohydrate rather than rice, oats and pasta, etc. I recommend Eden Organic Buckwheat to anyone. The price is excellent."
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ThoughtfulBirth
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great for sprouting/soaking
 June 21, 2013
"I soak/sprout my buckwheat (to increase its protein content and deactivate anti-digestive enzymes), and every seed from this bag grew a sprout. Not a lot of flavor, which actually makes it a great protein-rich breakfast foundation."
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TriJunkie
fromMpls, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Not just for Bkfst
 March 26, 2013
"I use this mixed with Chia and Hemp seed. But also add to salads for some extra crunch. yummy!"
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Gopal
fromHillsborough, NC
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Good quality product, convenient pack
 March 20, 2013
"Great product, however some health food stores have in bulk for cheaper."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KellyW
fromLawrenceville, GA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Wonderful Product
 March 7, 2013
"I love this product. I soak it for at least 4 hours if not overnight and it cooks up very well. If I want it harder and/or more like rice consistency, I cook it for a shorter time and if I want it more like porridge, I just cook it longer. This brand and type seems to do well with however you cook it and even in microwave or on the stove."
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GJchic
My new favorite grain by my favorite company
 December 29, 2012
"This is the first time I've eaten buckwheat as a whole grain and it is now my go to grain of choice. Eden's quality is always superior to other brands. In addition, Vitacost has the best price and 2-day shipping."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Puppye
fromArkansas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great product
 December 6, 2012
"I use this product and quinoa flakes to make gluten-free granola and other baked goods."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CityMe
versatile and lots of fiber
 December 4, 2012
"These groats have a lot of fiber AND protein.
You'll need to give them a heavy rinse in a mesh strainer or to me they seem a bit slimy. You can cook them like rice/pilaf.
You can also make your own dried cereal. Take about 1 cup, rinse heavily, then spread on a sheet of wax paper on a cookie sheet in a warm oven. Mix every 20 mins or so until dry (two hours maybe?) I eat it dry and crunchy. A little goes a long way."
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mini123
fromNY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
 September 16, 2012
"I used to buy this directly from Eden web. And recently i find out Vitacost has it and price much better. Organic buckwheat healthy and natural.grains."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bluerat
safe for corn allergies
 June 24, 2012
"Unlike some brands this one didn't seem to make me sick from cross-contamination. Good taste."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
leepa
fromNH
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
change it up...
 June 6, 2012
"As an alternative to wheat-based products, I ordered a bag of Eden Food's Organic Buckwheat Groats.
This whole grain tastes fantastic and is quite versatile, as it can be incorporated into baked goods, meals or used in hot cereal preparations.
Not only is the taste really good, it is high in protein, minerals, vitamins and amino acids. Further, it is produced in the USA. Order it today!
"
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Eden Foods Organic Buckwheat Hulled Whole Grain -- 16 oz
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product