Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Broth Bouillon & Stock or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz

USDA Organic. Made From Roasted Beef and Natural Juices.
Overall rating:
4.81 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(21 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 21 reviews
5 Stars
18
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
20 out of 21(95%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Review 1 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
FoodforHealth
fromCedar Falls, IA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great in soups
 March 17, 2014
"Great for soups and gravy making"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sandwalker
fromGreenfield, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
The best on the market
 December 8, 2013
"This is the best you will ever find. Good, rich beef flavor. Concentrated. Organic. What more could you possibly ask for?"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dixieg
fromTennessee
Was looking for bullion without MSG
 July 15, 2013
"This product has no MSG and tastes great. It delivers!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lauradaylily
fromAtlanta, Ga
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Outstanding Product
 July 7, 2013
"We've been using the "Better Than" products for several years and are delighted that Vitacost is carrying them. Manufacturer has stabilized content and product is very reliable, excellent taste. Use in all your recipes that need beef (and other "Better Than") flavors."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taters
fromWashington State
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Perfect Bouillon
 June 14, 2013
"I've been using this base for years in my chili, stews, and gravies. It has a MUCH better taste than cubes of bouillon! I'm always surprised when I see people using the cubes, because they taste like cardboard to me. This organic stuff has the best flavor!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dianaru
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent for pressure cooker recipes
 June 3, 2013
"This is tasty and so convenient when you have no stock or broth to add to the pressure cooker. It imparts far more flavor than plain water and is at your fingertios when needed. It also works great in gravy. Highly recommend it. Vitacost has the best price and the organic.
The chicken flavor is excellent also. Keep both in my regular pantry stock.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
WaterZone
fromsw Michigan
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Terrific Beefy Taste!
 May 10, 2013
"This is a great way to add beefy richness to your dish! Just terrific and a little goes a long way!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
WA9465
fromHilton Head Island, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great stuff, use it regularly
 April 24, 2013
"Have been buying these bases (beef, chicken, vegetable, turkey, lobster) for years. They're concentrated, not super salty like many other bouillons & bases. Stir a little in to dishes to add flavor or make a sauce, also great in soups & stews. Stores well in refrigerator. Recently came across these on Vitacost & prices were better than local grocery stores."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NotMum
fromShawnee, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
So much FLAVOR!!!!!
 April 8, 2013
"I use this for soups, stews, casseroles & more. It enhances the beef flavor in any dish."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SensitiveSkinFamily
fromLake Forest, Ca
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
It is better than bouillon!
 April 6, 2013
"I love the flavor this adds to everything, plus No MSG and that's a big plus as all other soup bases have MSG and my family is very sensitive to it.
This is hard to find in most stores and I love that I found it here and the price is right too.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ecletic
fromNew York, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Too much salt...
 March 2, 2013
"I have tried their chicken base for soup. I decided to try the beef to make seaweed soup. I used just a little since I wanted the beef flavor without having beef in the soup. It was just too salty, even when I tried to use less it had no flavor. It's a no from me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
beeblem
it is better than bouillon!
 February 11, 2013
"this works great in hot water and is a good value. it is much cheaper at vitacost than my local grocery store."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
NaturalSeeker
fromNortheastern , PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Beware it does contain autolyzed yeast extract
 January 22, 2013
"This base makes wonderful soups. It is not as healthy as making your own because autolyzed yeast extract is a nicer name than MSG. I really wish they could remove it. I am not sure if I will buy it again for that reason."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Petal
fromPgh Pa
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
WOW!
 November 1, 2012
"The chicken is good and the beef is great too! I used this to make a wonderful quick mushroom onion soup...soak dried shitake overnight in some boiling water, dump mushrooms and the water into pot with onions that have been cooked in grapeseed oil until translucent. Add more water and some of this beef base and you have a delicious and quick soup.Can't wait to use it in my stews and other beef dishes.I'm definitely keeping this on hand all the time!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Billings
fromWest Texas
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Excellent
 October 29, 2012
"Much better than buillon cubes and lower sodium. Quick beef broth when the pantry is low."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
goddardlane
fromIdaho
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Over 180 days
second best!
 February 16, 2012
"if you can't make your broth from scratch this is the next best bouillon!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
infogal
fromMissouri
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
taste is awesome
 December 19, 2011
"I started using this just as a substitute but then realized I liked
it just as well if not better. It makes a great tasting broth. Highly recommend it.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lovej
fromNJ
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Duration of use:61-180 days
 November 7, 2011
"So glad I found this- great for cooking."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Somesu
The Best!
 May 31, 2011
"This bouillon is not just better - it is the best. We make soup frequently and this product is always there when we need it for a flavorful broth."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mebkgil
fromLafayette, IN
Age:35-44
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
tasty goodness
 January 19, 2011
"Trying to find a conventional broth or bouillon without MSG and/or Hydrolyzed Yeast Extract is nearly impossible. The Better than Bouillon organics are great to have on hand for those times you don't have organic broth on hand -- and they taste AWESOME! Little more 'spensy than regular stuff, but you're not poisoning yourself (or your kids) with every bite.
I recommend them to everyone that asks what I use (everyone I know knows I'm careful with my food choices ;-).
"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
 
FunFresh Foods Sweet Moose™ Gourmet Hot Chocolate Classic Cocoa Cream -- 8 oz Each / Pack of 6
5 out of 5(1)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next