Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Broth Bouillon & Stock or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz

USDA Organic. Made From Roasted Beef and Natural Juices.
Overall rating:
4.781 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(32 reviews) 31
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 32 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
31 out of 32(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Review 1 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromIqaluit, NU, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
love this stuff
 May 17, 2016
" This boullion base is so versatile, and a little goes a long way. I have made gravy with it, used it as a soup base and seasoning for several kinds of dishes, and even just enjoyed it in a mug of hot water. I bought it to avoid the non-paleo ingredients in ALL powdered gravy mix. The only unfortunate ingredients in this stuff are "natural flavor" (heaven knows what that is), the sugar/maltodextrin (not Whole 30 approved) and the unnecessary caramel color. Incidentally, caramel color contains carcinogens, so even Zevia removed it from their products. I wish they would do the same. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
:)
 April 9, 2016
" I like this product for gravies..dissolves well...nice color..tastes good. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromUtah
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good substitute for the real thing.
 February 15, 2016
" I like to keep bone broth on hand, and if I have that, I don't use bouillon. However, for those times when I absolutely must have beef base and there is no bone broth prepared, this is a much better substitute than other brands. I like that there are fewer undesirable ingredients - like MSG. It tastes good! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromOttawa, Ontario
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Just like homemade
 April 30, 2015
" All of the Better Than Bouillon bases are fantastic! There's no way I'll ever use anything else, now that I've found Vitacost. They make a broth that tastes as good as made from scratch. Highly recommend. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromBinghamton, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Delicious flavor and convenient
 March 10, 2015
" Very good and so convenient when you just need less beef bouillon than comes in a 32 oz carton or can. I also stir it directly into gravies, stews, etc. Great flavor and absolutely love that it is organic!! Dissovles easily. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
yeast extract
 February 13, 2015
" So i just purchased this in January from Vitacost. my ingredient list for the organic beef base does not match the description. it is: roasted beef & natural juices *, salt, cane sugar*, maltodextrin*, garlic powder*, yeast extract, celery juice concentrate*, onion powder*, potato starch*, caramel color*, natural flavor. *organic
According to the better than bouillon site, the caramel color is derived from sugar. Yeast extract, as many of you know, is often another term for MSG. It may not be MSG, but likely is close, so proceed with caution.
While the flavor is delicious, I am disappointed it still has yeast extract, especially when it was not listed as an ingredient here. That being said, I've searched and searched and this seems to be the closest to natural you can get without making it yourself. "
+13points
13of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromAZ
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good Flavor
 September 7, 2014
" The name fits. It is better than bouillon, and no MSG. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great alternative to nasty ingredients
 May 25, 2014
" This brand is the only alternative to bouillon i have found without nasty ingredients I won't feed my family. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Very flavorful
 May 7, 2014
" Great to find soup base without msg! "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromPanama City Beach, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love this stuff
 May 4, 2014
" I smear it all over a chuck roast, cook it tight, low and slow, couldn't be more perfect or easier... "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromLas Vegas, NV
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Tastes great! Super easy to use!
 April 27, 2014
" Both the beef and chicken base tastes great, easy to use and great to keep on hand! I use it in soups and stews. My wife and guests ask what have I done to their recipes to make it taste so amazing! It's my little secret . . . "
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCedar Falls, IA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great in soups
 March 17, 2014
" Great for soups and gravy making "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromGreenfield, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
The best on the market
 December 8, 2013
" This is the best you will ever find. Good, rich beef flavor. Concentrated. Organic. What more could you possibly ask for? "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromTennessee
Was looking for bullion without MSG
 July 15, 2013
" This product has no MSG and tastes great. It delivers! "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromAtlanta, Ga
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Outstanding Product
 July 7, 2013
" We've been using the "Better Than" products for several years and are delighted that Vitacost is carrying them. Manufacturer has stabilized content and product is very reliable, excellent taste. Use in all your recipes that need beef (and other "Better Than") flavors. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromWashington State
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Perfect Bouillon
 June 14, 2013
" I've been using this base for years in my chili, stews, and gravies. It has a MUCH better taste than cubes of bouillon! I'm always surprised when I see people using the cubes, because they taste like cardboard to me. This organic stuff has the best flavor! "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent for pressure cooker recipes
 June 3, 2013
" This is tasty and so convenient when you have no stock or broth to add to the pressure cooker. It imparts far more flavor than plain water and is at your fingertios when needed. It also works great in gravy. Highly recommend it. Vitacost has the best price and the organic.
The chicken flavor is excellent also. Keep both in my regular pantry stock.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromsw Michigan
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Terrific Beefy Taste!
 May 10, 2013
" This is a great way to add beefy richness to your dish! Just terrific and a little goes a long way! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromHilton Head Island, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great stuff, use it regularly
 April 24, 2013
" Have been buying these bases (beef, chicken, vegetable, turkey, lobster) for years. They're concentrated, not super salty like many other bouillons & bases. Stir a little in to dishes to add flavor or make a sauce, also great in soups & stews. Stores well in refrigerator. Recently came across these on Vitacost & prices were better than local grocery stores. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Better Than Bouillon Organic Beef Base -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromShawnee, OK
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
So much FLAVOR!!!!!
 April 8, 2013
" I use this for soups, stews, casseroles & more. It enhances the beef flavor in any dish. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next