Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Flours Meals & Grains or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Arrowhead Mills Organic Whole Grain Amaranth -- 1 lb

Excellent Source of Fiber. Certified Organic. Whole Grain. Kosher. Whole Grain Amaranth is an ancient "grain" that is an excellent source of fiber. And being thousands of years old doesn't keep this "grain" from combining with other ingredients to create delicious flavorful soups breads and even dressings.
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
20 out of 20(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Arrowhead Mills Organic Whole Grain Amaranth -- 1 lb
Review 1 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Whole Grain Amaranth -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LauraF
fromIllinois
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Tasty hot cereal
 March 17, 2014
"I am usually a bacon and eggs gal but when I want cereal this is what I go for. Mixed with raw honey, frozen berries, and a pinch of salt I eat this as a treat."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Whole Grain Amaranth -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Shopalot
Recommend but only 3 stars
 January 12, 2014
"If you know what amaranth tastes like, then I definitely recommend. If you like trying out a different non-gluten healthy grain, then I definitely recommend.
Try it in some soups or hide it with some other grains - like homemade granola or crackers. It does have a nutty taste, yes, but also this odd stringent, bitter flavor that rises to the roof of the mouth.
Plus, the grains are super tiny! Smaller than chia seeds."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Whole Grain Amaranth -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chefa
fromPittsburgh,Pa
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Very GOOD!
 November 10, 2013
"This was my first time eating this and it is very good. Great price too."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Whole Grain Amaranth -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
pepperis1
fromcalifornia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Delicious.
 May 16, 2013
"Unbelieveably delicious!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Whole Grain Amaranth -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
StephanieP
fromVirginia
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Gluten Free Goodness
 May 3, 2013
"I eat this everyday with Almond Milk. Makes a perfect breakfast."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Whole Grain Amaranth -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BUTTE
fromNew Mexico
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Essential for good gluten free bread
 February 22, 2013
"A generous amount of Amaranth flour is essential to making good gluten free bread. The grain is cheaper than the flour and a VitaMix makes flour of it in short order. Amaranth is an extremely nourishing flour and has been used for generations to provide protein in the diet."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Whole Grain Amaranth -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
pamb
fromBig Lake, MN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Delicious as whole grain cereal
 December 29, 2012
"I cook amaranth on the stove top and add coconut milk to make an easy and delicious (and warm in the winter) whole grain cereal. Sometimes I cook quinoa or steel cuts oats with the amaranth for a whole grain cereal variety. I no longer eat any of the processed cereals that come in a box in the grocery store after finding this product. Vitacost has been very reliable with shipping orders accurately and promptly and with maintaining customer satisfaction."
+11points
11of 11voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Whole Grain Amaranth -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
harmondalemusic
fromNashville, TN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
good product, questionable directions?
 December 5, 2012
"This is a fine quality product, the only reason I gave it only 4 stars is because I think the directions on the back are a misprint. I couldn't figure out why my amaranth always came out like a goopy and runny soup even though I followed the directions "to a t". Then I asked the advice of a friend on facebook and she gave me a recipe that uses 2/3s less the amount of water than it says on this package. So that is something they need to take a look at. They might be turning off a lot of people to amaranth altogether by this misprint! I.e. someone who has never had it before and makes it according to the directions on this package is going to be really disappointed..."
+11points
12of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Whole Grain Amaranth -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cleanbean
Excellent price on a great product!
 May 22, 2012
"Love love love amaranth and was happy to find this great price. It's delicious as a morning savory hot cereal!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Whole Grain Amaranth -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dpauley
frommidwest
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great product
 May 19, 2012
"Excellent grain, high in protein and fiber. Great way to start the morning. I like it as grits with just a little sea salt. Prompt service."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Whole Grain Amaranth -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AnnaSKB
fromSan Antonio, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Excellent product.
 May 14, 2012
"At last I can cook grains again"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Whole Grain Amaranth -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fmb123
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
love it
 March 3, 2012
"great nutty flaver"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Whole Grain Amaranth -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Byrds
fromsuburban Pensacola, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Online orders are the best!
 October 7, 2011
"I buy whole grain cereal on a continuing basis & rely on being able to order like this.
And this wholegrain amaranth cereal, I can't even find elsewhere. It's delicious.
For me not having to drive 15 miles to a natural grocer is the best; I can get almost any & everything online at Vitacost."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Arrowhead Mills Organic Whole Grain Amaranth -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
4 / 5
4 / 5
8232
fromRG
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
First Try
 July 27, 2011
"This is my first try of this grain. After reading about all the good things it does for your body, I bought it.
Is of good quality. Had to get used to chewing small grains. Mostly use it for porridge."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Arrowhead Mills Organic Whole Grain Amaranth -- 1 lb
Based on the average of (6) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
6 out of 6 recommend this product