Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Bread & Muffin Mixes or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

Gluten-Free Pantry Favorite Sandwich Bread -- 22 oz

Kosher. Moist and Dense. Now matter how you slice it your constitutional right to the perfect sandwich starts with the perfect gluten free bread.  We've taken the liberty of making it easy so you're free to bake.
Overall rating:
4.273 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
9 out of 11(82%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Gluten-Free Pantry Favorite Sandwich Bread -- 22 oz
Review 1 for Gluten-Free Pantry Favorite Sandwich Bread -- 22 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Granmama
fromGreenwich, CT
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Gluten Free Bread Mix
 February 12, 2014
"THis makes a delicious bread, even using the gluten free egg replacement, just add another 15 minutes and a tad of baking powder to the mix and it is a good loaf of gluten free, egg free bread."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Gluten-Free Pantry Favorite Sandwich Bread -- 22 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Achie
fromBel Air, MD
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Yummy but contains dairy
 October 5, 2013
"This is the best GF bread I've found to date. I used to bake artisan bread and am kind of a bread snob, so I'll say, you cannot exactly replicate the texture of gluten. Any GF bread will be a bit more spongy. But this bread tastes good and the texture is moist, not unpleasant. However-- this mix does contain milk powder so if you avoid dairy too, be aware of the ingredients."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Gluten-Free Pantry Favorite Sandwich Bread -- 22 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromPrimeville, Oregon
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
gluten free sandwich bread by Glutino
 September 26, 2013
"The bread is moist and tastes great."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Gluten-Free Pantry Favorite Sandwich Bread -- 22 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
glomark
fromSidney, Ohio
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Really good.
 August 25, 2013
"I have tried many brands of gluten free bread mixes and this is the one my husband likes the best. He loves bread so I had a hard time finding one that works. Some were too dry and some just didn't have the flavor that the Gluten free Pantry Favorite Sandwich Bread mix has. Try it you might like it too."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Gluten-Free Pantry Favorite Sandwich Bread -- 22 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
dms61313
from115 Delmar Lane, Thompsontown Pa. 17094
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best bread mix out there for gluten intolerant
 June 13, 2013
"I use this bread mix for my husband who is gluten intolerant, It is easy and quick to make and tastes like home made bread, It is more moist than most gluten free breads."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Gluten-Free Pantry Favorite Sandwich Bread -- 22 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
khatalyst
fromMid Hudson Valley, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
My family's favorite GF bread
 February 20, 2013
"The taste and texture of this bread leaves every other GF bread mix in the dust. It makes a dense, wheat-y tasting loaf that slices beautifully (even the very thin slices I like). It holds up for days on the counter just wrapped in a tea towel.
I add sunflower and flax seeds and to ours, for fiber and taste. I usually make it with oil, rather than butter because it seems to rise a little more, but it comes out great either way. I jlove the way the top crust breaks as it rises while baking. The crust, by the way, is beautifully golden.
This is an easy virtually foolproof and delicious mix. We love it."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Gluten-Free Pantry Favorite Sandwich Bread -- 22 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
JC4Me
fromCal
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Tried on two separate occasions
 January 30, 2013
"I must of forgot that this product did not work for me the first time and purchased it again. The deja vu hit me the minute it was complete in the bread maker.
The whole process looked promising as I was checking periodically through the window in the bread maker. But something happens during the baking process. The loaf starts to split open and the end result is an odd shaped blob of bread that is impossible to use (in the way I would intend to use) such as slicing for sandwiches.
I had high hopes and did give it a second try months (maybe years) apart.
I know I will use it in some form to make croutons or something like that. But the pictures on these gluten free breads are so deceiving because they never look like the models :/. I will not purchase this one again; but do not feel like I wasted my money. I will salvage it and utilize in another way, so my quest continues for that perfect loaf of g-free that does not cost a small fortune!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Gluten-Free Pantry Favorite Sandwich Bread -- 22 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
teji
fromCalifornia
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
This product disappointed me!
 August 12, 2012
"i wasted my money buying this. i wanted to make yummy bread with my granddaughters during a recent visit. Nowhere on the labeling that is shown on vitacost did it say that i would need a bread-maker and that really nothing else would. work. It might be the best bread ever but I never got to try it and was very disappointed. :-(("
-1point
2of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Gluten-Free Pantry Favorite Sandwich Bread -- 22 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BarabaAnn1
fromSan Antonio, Texas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
For me this is best bread.
 June 12, 2012
"Being gluten free can be so hard. Gluten free pantry has the best bread. I have purchased and baked them all, I know. Also, it is better than the local gluten free bakery. Vitacost makes gluten free bread affordable."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Gluten-Free Pantry Favorite Sandwich Bread -- 22 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Loubelle48
fromKearney, MO
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Tastes like wheat bread
 August 20, 2011
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"I've tried lots of bread mixes, and this is our family's favorite. Sometimes we had a cup of shredded sharp cheddar, some grated parmesan, fresh garlic and dehydrated chives. Wonderful! Makes great bread crumbs when toasted and processed in Vitamix. Makes good croutons. Great BLT's too!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Gluten-Free Pantry Favorite Sandwich Bread -- 22 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taste:
4 / 5
4 / 5
sharmane
fromDE
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
A good version
 July 9, 2009
"It's hard to find a gluten free bread that tastes ok and satisfies that want.
Gluten Free Pantry has a good taste and texture. I find it a lot nicer than the ready made gluten free breads out there which are stodgy and lack taste. If you take the time to make this bread. It is worth it.
Good for sandwiches: It slices well and I was able to make a sandwich and it did not crumble.
Toasts well:
I was able to have beans on toast. Jelly on toast, peanut butter on toast. etc.
Freezes well: I make a loaf. Slice it, then freeze individual bags of perhaps 3 or 4 slices. As I don't eat it every day. Pretty satisfying for us gluten free eating peeps who has to have some bread! Good luck to all.
"
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.