Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hot Chocolate & Cocoa or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Dagoba Organics Xocolatl Hot Chocolate -- 12 oz

Cacao Powder Bits of Pure Dark Chocolate Cane Sugar Chili and Cinnamon. The Art of Chocolate Alchemy®. You can deprive the body but the soul needs chocolate®.  . Mayan tradition held that a bride and groom should sip cacao from a golden goblet to secure their vows. To celebrate these ancient practices Dagoba® Organics presents their Xocolatl Drinking Chocolate (pronounced "Choco-la'tl") made from cacao powder bits of pure dark chocolate and a hint of ground chili and cinnamon. Savor this drink in the spirit of ceremonies long past.  . Dagoba is dedicated to the Art of Chocolate Alchemy transforming exceptional cacao into edible gold. Dagoba practices Full Circle Sustainability™ - blending quality ecology equity & community into each step from the rainforest to you.
Overall rating:
4.538 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
13 out of 13(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Dagoba Organics Xocolatl Hot Chocolate -- 12 oz
Review 1 for Dagoba Organics Xocolatl Hot Chocolate -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromIndianapolis, IN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
A great product - drink it nearly daily
 April 19, 2016
" Dagoba Organics Xocolatl Hot Chocolate is a great product!
Nine years ago I did a somewhat comprehensive home tasting of most of the sipping chocolates and Cocos that my best friend and I could find, with an emphasis on dark and also spicy Aztec/Inca style. Xocolatl includes cinnamon and chili powder. Over the years I have added more cinnamon and chili; and switched from dairy milk to unsweetened almond milk, which reduces the sugar. (Mexican chocolate is traditionally made with water and includes ground almonds.) You might ask "if you make all those changes, why not switch to a less expensive cocoa base?" I tried, and Dagoba cocoa is the best I have tasted. Their baking chocolate is also top notch stuff too, and of course their chocolate bars...(If you are looking for eating chocolate - bars 'Endangered Species' makes amazing stuff)
Xocolatl gets my day (and my intestines) started every day. A fun and healthy alternative to a latte. Oh and by the way Vitacost has the lowest price on the Internet! (using special rebates, coupons and free shipping offers) "
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Dagoba Organics Xocolatl Hot Chocolate -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromLexington, KY
Spicy chocolate
 March 21, 2015
" Tasty, spicy product. However, I won't buy it again. I will get plain, organic chocolate and add cayenne. A smidge of cayener is a great addition to almost any chocolate products. "
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Dagoba Organics Xocolatl Hot Chocolate -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Addicting
 February 14, 2015
" Great flavor, nice little bit of heat with the cayenne. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Dagoba Organics Xocolatl Hot Chocolate -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromAustin
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
the best instant hot chocolate on the market
 April 1, 2014
" There's no comparison to this Dakoba mix and others on the market. If you like it spicy in the vein of true Mayan hot chocolate, then xoxolatl is the variety for you. The other two Dakoba flavors in this line are also rich and delicious but without the spice. Having searched high and low (and wasted a lot of money) during last winter's cold weather, I won't buy anything else but Dakoba now. Use with any milk or alternative milk -- and we even used it with water and still loved it. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Dagoba Organics Xocolatl Hot Chocolate -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromKent, OH
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Spicy kick
 March 28, 2014
" I love hot chocolate with the spicy kick of cayenne and this is one of the best blends I've tasted. High quality. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Dagoba Organics Xocolatl Hot Chocolate -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromVista CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
love it
 March 5, 2014
" This is my favorite hot chocolate. I can't believe I haven't reviewed it yet (I must have been distracted with something). It's natural and healthy. It tastes the way I like. Not everybody likes chilly peppers in a hot chocolate but it definitely works for me and probably anybody who appreciates real and unprocessed cocoa with a little bit of a spicy kick. I had other Mayan hot chocolates but this one is the best. Maybe because they add their chocolate (little chunks) to it. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Dagoba Organics Xocolatl Hot Chocolate -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Too spicy to be hot chocolate.
 February 14, 2014
" I am not a big fan of the spices in this drink. I prefer my hot cocoa to be just chocolatey and sweet. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Dagoba Organics Xocolatl Hot Chocolate -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromNewaygo, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Spicy
 January 29, 2014
" Spicier than expected!
But wonderful winter warmer ;D
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Dagoba Organics Xocolatl Hot Chocolate -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromChula Vista, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Chocolately with a firey taste
 December 21, 2013
" I am so happy I bought this...I just wish they made it more Mexican style with more cinnamon and less chili or no chili at all. The Chili part was great for me but my kids didn't care for it. This company makes very good quality chocolates! "
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Dagoba Organics Xocolatl Hot Chocolate -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNY
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Organic, slightly sweet, hint of hot
 August 30, 2013
" Delicious. The only brand of chocolate powder I have ever found that is not sickly sweet - actually tastes like chocolate - not sugar!
If you don't like a hint of spicy, buy the original or the unsweetened. All are great! Have been using this product for years, and many of my friends have gotten hooked as soon as I have shared it with them. I use it in my hot and iced mocchachinos.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Dagoba Organics Xocolatl Hot Chocolate -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromDenver, CO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love this Low Sugar Hot Chocolate
 July 10, 2013
" This hot chocolate is amazing - I love it! I like the spicy version. The spice combined with the cocoa is wonderful. I love that it is not very sweet so I'm not loading up on sugar. The sugar content is way lower than any other cocoa mixes I've compared it to. I add some stevia or sometimes agave to taste. It's my low-guilt indulgence. For low carb, I use a base of half and half with water instead of milk. I only use about 1.5 Tablespoons per serving though, which is much less than the directions say. It would be very strong if made as directed. Try it! "
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Dagoba Organics Xocolatl Hot Chocolate -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromUpstate NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Looove this!
 November 6, 2011
" I need this in my life! I hated the first cup I made and I was going to throw it away. Thankfully I didn't! The second cup I made a lot less strong and fell in love. Life sucks when they're out of stock. "
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
Yogi 100% Natural Herbal Tea Caffeine Free Aztec Sweet Chili™ -- 16 Tea Bags
4.5 out of 5(34)
 
 
 
 
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Dagoba Organics Xocolatl Hot Chocolate -- 12 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNM
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Dagoba Xocolatl Hot Chocolate
 February 28, 2010
" BEST! of all that I have tried from the health food stores. It far surpasses anything in the mainstream supermarkets.
A tad sweet for me but just right for my husband. Once tried, there is no going anywhere else.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.