Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Baking Chocolate & Chocolate Alternatives or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Equal Exchange Organic Baking Cocoa -- 8 oz

Equal Exchange Fairly Traded. Fairly Traded and Small Farmer Grown. Perfect for Cupcakes and More. USDA Organic. The best cacao is grown by small farmers. This delicious organic baking cocoa is perfect for cupcakes brownies cakes cookies and countless other chocolaty desserts. We use fairly traded cacao (cocoa beans) grown by the farmers of CONACADO co-operative in the Dominican Republic. We've partnered with CONACADO for over 10 years and now buy directly from their farmer-owned manufacturing facility to bring your this versatile baking cocoa.  . Enjoy you cocoa creations!
Overall rating:
4.882 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 14
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
17 out of 17(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Equal Exchange Organic Baking Cocoa -- 8 oz
Review 1 for Equal Exchange Organic Baking Cocoa -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rocky123
fromNew Jersey
Best Cocoa & Cruely Free!
 August 6, 2014
"The cocoa is high quality and is not bitter at all. It is good enough to make hot chocolate. So you are not giving anything up by supporting a responsible product that is fair trade and organic!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Equal Exchange Organic Baking Cocoa -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
kersie
fromFairfield, Iowa
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
excellent product , good value
 December 10, 2013
"excellent product , good value Have bought 4 times"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Equal Exchange Organic Baking Cocoa -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SilverSunshine
fromConnecticut
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Deliciously Fair Trade
 October 30, 2013
"I love Equal Exchange products and I was very happy to find that you stocked their Baking Cocoa as well. It was a good price and I purchased here vs. Amazon because Vitacost had more products I liked."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Equal Exchange Organic Baking Cocoa -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cricket3380
fromOuter Banks NC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This is a no brainer! High marks on every front!
 October 10, 2013
"There is one time a year...when cost is NOT a factor as I bake my special creations for my family! (Bet you think I'm talking about Christmas...but you're wrong! hehehe) So, as I searched through the internet with my long list of ingredients and check card...I prepared to pay an exorbitant amount for the finest cocoa I could lay my hands on...and yet- I was thrilled to find such a superior cocoa, both Organic and Fair Trade with such a reasonable price!
what a fabulous surprise to find such a wonderful and flavorful cocoa which matches my criteria of Organic, Fair Trade, and purity!
I am simply thrilled with my find! It's now...my secret ingredient!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Equal Exchange Organic Baking Cocoa -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
UpNorthGirl
fromU.P. Michigan
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good cup of cocoa
 July 6, 2013
"This is our preferred product for our nightly cup of hot chocolate. I use a tiny little wisk to make a smooth cup and we both enjoy the rich and chocolatey flavor, not to mention that it is organic."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Equal Exchange Organic Baking Cocoa -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Skibunny
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Chocolaty Heaven!
 March 22, 2013
"I think this is the best cocoa I have ever tasted! It has been so amazing in all the recipes I have tried with it. I can't say enough good things about it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Equal Exchange Organic Baking Cocoa -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bubble7
Yummy baking cocoa.
 March 14, 2013
"This makes good hot cocoa and works well in baked goods."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Equal Exchange Organic Baking Cocoa -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
2bnatural
fromsml, va
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
awesome product
 October 18, 2012
"great taste and love that it is organic"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Equal Exchange Organic Baking Cocoa -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
alala
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
great in baking!
 September 14, 2012
"I use this is my cakes, and it tastes amazing and rich. Also fair trade, which is a huge plus :)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Equal Exchange Organic Baking Cocoa -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lljustforfunll
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love it!!!
 September 14, 2012
"I love this cocoa...after just having gone through a container of Hershey's brand, this was really quite a treat...The difference in a cup of hot chocolate is like night and day! It is so smooth!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Equal Exchange Organic Baking Cocoa -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LakeView16
fromN.E., PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Fair Trade & Tasty
 September 6, 2012
"I selected this because it was fair trade cocoa, and now I would recommend it for that and for its superior taste. It's smooth with no bitterness and so chocolately!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Equal Exchange Organic Baking Cocoa -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sydney0800
fromColorado
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
 July 24, 2012
"Great tasting chocolate."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Equal Exchange Organic Baking Cocoa -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MissNelle
fromAlaska
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Doing the right thing
 June 9, 2012
"I bake quite a bit and also make my hot cocoa from scratch. Equal Exchange cocoa powder tastes great and I like knowing that I am helping support a Fair Trade product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Equal Exchange Organic Baking Cocoa -- 8 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Natalia
fromUSA
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Wonderful Fair Trade Organic Cocoa Powder
 July 15, 2010
"This cocoa powder tastes wonderful. It makes delicious hot cocoa. I think the price is very fair given the fact that it is organic and a Fair Trade product which is important. Cacao products which are Fair Trade are a big plus for me."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Equal Exchange Organic Baking Cocoa -- 8 oz
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7 / 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product