Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hot Cereal & Oatmeal or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs

High in Protein & Fiber and No Cholesterol! Friend of the Heart. Whole Grain. All Natural. Kosher. Bob's Red Mill Old Fashioned Extra Thick Rolled Oats are uniquely "Kiln Toasted" and freshly milled from the highest quality oats grown in the Great Northwest - some of the best oat-growing country in the whole United States! These oats are rolled extra thick to give more "bite and texture" to your breakfast. These extra chewy oats produce extremely satisfying robust European-style cereal and yeast breads.
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5
 / 
5
(16 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 16 reviews
5 Stars
16
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
16 out of 16(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tara1965
The best oats
 July 8, 2014
"I love these oats for they are thick and creamy. I use them not only for breakfast but for making cookies too."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MSRDFX
fromMississippi
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Another excellent product from Bob's Red Mill
 July 7, 2014
"Just one of MANY products from Bob's Red Mill that I stock in my pantry. Great value from Vitacost and excellent product"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AikenVic
fromAiken, SC
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Great taste!
 June 4, 2014
"These extra thick organic oats are the only oats we buy. They cook up fast and the taste is excellent."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SacTown2
fromSacramento, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Simply the Best
 May 26, 2014
"Not sure I can anything more than the other reviewers. I like these because they are thick and stick with you all morning long. The bonus is they are organic, which is the way to go."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tanyanicole22
fromAlton, IL
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Tastes great, great for you
 May 21, 2014
"Love this product. Only critique I have is the extra thick rolled really aren't much different from the regular rolled oats. As far as taste and texture, bobs red mill never disappoints!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MomtoMase
fromPennsylvania
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Excellent source of organic whole grain
 April 18, 2014
"We use a lot of oatmeal in our home. This thicker roll works great if you want to keep some of the shape and chewiness of the oat itself. "Uncle Bob" has all quality products. We always see what he has available before buying grains anywhere else, and Vitacost prices them right!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MrKen
fromUpstate NY
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Great
 March 18, 2014
"I use the produce for making my own granola. My wife is very sensitive to the smell of baking oats. The extra thick variety seems to have a reduced odor. I would prefer to have the product available in a larger quantity, such as a 25 lb. bag."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
buybuybuy
fromMadison, SD
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
You can always trust products from Bob's Red Mill
 March 4, 2014
"My husband eats oatmeal just about every day. He really likes the extra thick oats. I like that they're organic. A win win. Bob's Red Mill products are reliable as to their quality. It's nice to get a good product at a great price. Thanks, VitaCost."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Madelein
fromRome, Georgia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best oatmeal ever!
 February 24, 2014
"I really enjoy getting up to this oatmeal every morning. I prefer to soak my oatmeal (with almonds added) for a couple of hours before preparing it so the thicker the better. It is more creamy that way which makes you wonder why I don't just buy oatmeal that is less thick and dissolves more easily. I like to soak grains as it is supposed to help break down the fibers enough to release more nutrients that are more easily absorbed yet I still like a substance to it. This works perfectly. The flavor is good and the texture just right. Who could ask for more from oatmeal?"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JEHinABQ
fromAlbuquerque, NM
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Great Product!!
 February 9, 2014
"Great natural oats!!!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bywater
fromNew York, NY
The nonpareil of rolled oats!
 February 8, 2014
"Am long-time crazy about these oats, and I like 'em chewy. My method is to pour them into rapidly boiling water, return the pot to a rolling boil, then IMMEDIATELY cover the pot, remove it from the heat, and walk away for seven minutes.
I love the texture of oats cooked this way -- soft, plump, but still chewy. (You'll want to customize the oat-to-water ratio to taste. I use a little less water than is called for in most oatmeal recipes.)"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CareFree
fromTexas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Wonderful!!
 February 7, 2014
"This oatmeal is so wonderful. I prefer oatmeal with some texture. This oatmeal can be cooked in a variety of ways. I like to add organic shreaded coconut and chopped peacans. This also can be used to make home made granola."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dbleagle
fromLaurel Springs, NC
Makes the best oatmeal!
 January 11, 2014
"So glad to be able to order this as I can't buy it locally (I live in a rural area and have limited choices). I like the thick oats because I don't like gummy oatmeal! This really does make great oatmeal! And I prefer organic if I can get it so this product really works for me!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
c4lestial
Quality oats
 December 30, 2013
"Great tasting oats loaded with nutrients and protien."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Caloriescount
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great product
 November 22, 2013
"I recently discovered farmers are spraying grain crops with RoundUp to "dry them out before harvest to decrease the mold, and mycotoxins in their crops" per Monsanto's recommendation. I don't want to eat Glyphosate for obvious reasons and organic foods are the only way to avoid them. Great oats, chewy and delicious!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Caliope
fromLittle Rock, AR
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
The very best!
 October 20, 2013
"I absolutely love these oats. The extra thick quality means no mushy, gummy cereal. I usually only cook mine for a couple of minutes and then let them sit in the pot with the lid on for about 5 min. That allows them to soften, yet maintain that nice chewy consistency. I haven't found a better price anywhere for these exceptional organic oats. They also make great oatmeal cookies."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.