Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hot Cereal & Oatmeal or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs

Friend of the Heart. Whole Grain. USDA Organic. Kosher. You Can See Our Quality!  . High in Fiber. Bob's Red Mill® Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats are uniquely "Kiln Toasted" and freshly milled from the highest quality farm-fresh oats in the world. These nutrient-rich oats abound with that telltale creamy and soothing texture of oatmeal while their plumpness provide a remarkable note of chewiness. Some brands smash their oats to smithereens to speed up the cooking time but we just can't do that. Join us in farewell to mushy porridge.  . Dear Friends. Whole grain oats have always been  universal customer favorite at Bob's Red Mill. Their robust oat flavor texture and ease of preparation plus proven nutritious benefits and cholesterol reduction make them a perfect breakfast.  . A few years back we learned of the World Championship Porridge Competition in Scotland called the "Golden Spurtle." At that point we had yet to discover the spurtle - a centuries-old Scottish wooden porridge stirring implement.  . The Bob's Red Mill team traveled to Carrbridge Scotland to compete in the World Porridge Championship. We competed against fourteen other teams from around the globe. Our team's belief in our porridge skills and our consistently superior oats never wavered.  . That crisp October morning all teams paraded through town behind a bagpipe band. After three heats of competition we remained one of five finalists. All five finalists prepared their traditional recipe - oats salt and water - for the judges. Finally the announcement: "Bob's Red Mill is the new Golden Spurtle World Porridge Champion."  . The Bob's Red Mill oats we knew to be superior were proven the "WORLD'S BEST".  . Please know dear friends you can easily experience the world's best porridge by following simple stovetop recipe on this package. No tricks or gimmicks. Oats in this package e are the "World's Best."  . To your good health -Bob Moore
Overall rating:
4.957 / 5
5
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 47
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 47 reviews
5 Stars
46
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
47 out of 47(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromNashville, TN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
These oats are the BEST rolled oats!
 February 10, 2016
"I've tried all of Bob's oats and these are my favorite. They're simple to cook, smell fantastic and make a giant bowl of big fluffy oats. Sometimes they're cheaper than the other varieties as well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RsMom
fromKentucky
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
great oats!
 February 3, 2016
"Our whole family likes these oats. They do have to cook ten minutes, but that's easy enough. Very nice texture, not like the pasty texture that quick oats have. Plus, I react to oats if they are not organic, I'm guessing that they are sprayed with roundup as a desiccant, as I have read. But I do fine with these.
Some family members like 'em straight, with a sweetener and milk.
For me, I add a little dab of butter, and sugar, raisins, and cinnamon, topped off with milk. I could come up with other fruits and flavors, but this is my fave.
This is a wonderful hot breakfast.
I did try mixing the oats, water, and salt and refrigerating overnight. They cook in half the time, like quick oats, but they lose the texture that I mentioned above. I don't mind the ten minutes of cooking, they don't require tending, so I just set the timer.
Enjoy!
"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dunnsvillecat
fromMechanicsville, Va.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Perfect Oats
 January 20, 2016
"I use these oats to make my overnight oats and enegy bars. they are firm, delicious and good for you."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rodoggy
fromBedford,TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Yummy
 January 9, 2016
"I've been eating this oatmeal for breakfast everyday for a year now and totally enjoy it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Firefly63
fromLong Beach, WA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Oatmeal in the morning
 January 3, 2016
"This tastes great and frankly I cannot tell once it is cooked if it is thicker than regular oatmeal or not. I like it and recommend it to anyone who is an oatmeal lover."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trails
fromNorthwestern CT
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great for granola
 January 3, 2016
"I make my own granola and use these as they hold up well and make a terrific granola. I buy these regularly."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ksns
fromSouth Carolina
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Love the availability.
 January 3, 2016
"Product is great and you can not beat the price, taste or delivery.
TKS"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GreenBadger
fromOregon
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Good Oats
 January 1, 2016
"These are very good oats, with good oat flavor. I hate mushy oatmeal, and have developed a method of cooking it to avoid that, but it has to be made with the thickest rolled oats I can get, and these work well for it. If you want texture rather than goo, these are great."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Specs
fromThe Jersey Shore
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
The best!
 December 24, 2015
"I'm an admitted oatmeal junkie; have it almost every morning. That's made me, I think, an oatmeal connoisseur. I've tried many brands. Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick is my oatmeal of choice!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Swank
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Delicious!
 December 22, 2015
"I love this oatmeal and was thrilled to find it at a great price ...compared to what I pay at the supermarket."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
BettyL
fromPittsburgh
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great taste
 December 2, 2015
"Great taste ...easy to use!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pucha
fromMiami
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Delicious
 October 13, 2015
"Very satisfied with the product, thick, organic, love it!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ORGANICway
fromSan Diego, CA
Excellent organic product!
 September 11, 2015
"My breakfast every morning is this Organic Rolled Oats with almond milk, papaya, and walnut."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lucy8108
fromTampa, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great Price and love this product!
 September 5, 2015
"I have used this oatmeal for a while and love it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MPars
fromPennsylvania
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Delicious!
 June 26, 2015
"This is my favorite oatmeal. It has flavor and some chew, so you feel as if you have actually eaten something. Makes great cookies too!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Hardhat
Awsome
 June 10, 2015
"This oatmeal has the best texture and flavor of any I've tried."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
babyfood
fromBristow, VA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
baby food, healthy for family
 May 27, 2015
"I use this to make my son's baby food, it's a great alternative to the rice cereals and I haven't been able to find the large bags at my grocer so I'm very happy with this."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
realcurlytop
fromCalifornia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Thick & tasty
 May 8, 2015
"My husband loves these thicker oats over the original ones. He eats oats every morning plus he'll even eat these raw in a trail mix or even by themselves. We love that these oats are organic."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dore430
fromHuntsville, Alabama
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Love This Oatmeal
 April 13, 2015
"I've been eating Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats for several years now, and I hope I'll never have to change! I've eaten oatmeal almost daily for most of my adult life; and after reading about how non-organic oats are sprayed heavily with pesticides, I decided to go organic. After trying a few different kinds and brands, I found that the extra thick rolled oats was the absolute best! Now I have my daily oatmeal knowing that I'm not ingesting all of those nasty pesticides ;) Try it... You'll like it!!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Extra Thick Rolled Oats -- 2 lbs
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lkld
fromFL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent flavor and texture
 April 12, 2015
"I was surprised to find that Bob's Organic is so much tastier than common store brands of oats. The texture (and taste) of the extra thick oats makes this my family's favorite. Not only is this a delicious hot breakfast cereal, the oats are wonderful in meatloaf, salmon patties, etc.."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next