Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Flours Meals & Grains or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 44 oz

Wheat Free. Dairy Free. Kosher. Specially designed for those sensitive to wheat and gluten this mix can be made into delicious homemade cakes cookies breads muffin pancakes and waffles. Contains a blend of gluten-free flours from potatoes sorghum tapioca garbanzo and fava beans.
Overall rating:
4.692 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
32
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
36 out of 39(92%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 44 oz
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 44 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromkansas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love with bananas
 May 27, 2016
" This product works will recipes on Bob's Red Mill site. I love the banana bread and ginger snaps. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 44 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromFLORIDA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
A good alternative
 March 2, 2016
" I use this flour blend to make GF banana bread. It turns out perfectly with no off flavors. I did try to use it to make a birthday cake and I didn't like it as much. I would recommend to use this when you are adding other flavors. The consistency is great though. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 44 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromOregon
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Works well in all regular gluten recipes!
 March 1, 2016
" Great pancakes, muffins. Can use in most gluten recipes. No gum in it! Needs extra sweetning. Flavor is a little sour. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 44 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromRaleigh, NC
Phenomenal Product
 January 18, 2016
" I have used so many different GF flours! Coconut, Almond, blends... but for me this is the best. It does not have Xanthum Gum in it which is wonderful because I have a mild reaction to it. The combination of flours provides a less granular and more natural texture such that I don't have to double or triple sift. And typically I only need to add slightly more liquid than what a wheat flour would call for to create similar results - unlike other blends that require a good 1/4 to 1/2 cup extra liquid to ensure it doesn't taste granular or feel heavy. Many recipes I don't like drawing out a specific flavor like coconut or almond - so for me, this blend is so far my favorite! "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 44 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNorthern California Coast
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love, love, love this product!
 January 11, 2016
" One of the best Gluten Free baking mixes I've tried. Gives a great texture to all my GF baked goods. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 44 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromToronto
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Excellent
 December 30, 2015
" I've been repurchasing this product now since it works the best in any recipe I tried! I prefer it to regular flour, it gives the perfect texture and flavour to the good. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 44 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromGeorgetown, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent price, excellent product!
 November 5, 2015
" I use Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour regularly and I love it. It is a very good substitute for regular all purpose flour. By buying the larger bag, it is a good buy too as it is much more expensive in the grocery store. It is a must have, if you want to bake with gluten free flour. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 44 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
great for breads
 October 15, 2015
" I really love this flour - in places. This is not what we use for dessert baking as the bean flour imparts a bitterness that is just not welcome among sweet treats. But when I want to make zucchini bread, pumpkin bread, banana bread, that heartiness tends to result in a wonderfully balanced flavor. So don't think pancakes or cupcakes, or any cakes for that matter, but do absolutely try this as a substitute in your breads and see what you think! It's been in our house for years and isn't going anywhere! "
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 44 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromAtlanta, GA
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Excellent product
 October 10, 2015
" Excellent product. I use this as part of my preparation for corn muffins. Bob's Red Mill products can't be beat. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 44 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromHawaii
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Gluten free flour
 September 13, 2015
" I have used this in a few recipes and works just fine. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 44 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromLas Vegas, NV
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
great product
 September 6, 2015
" Half of my family is gluten free and this is a great product to have on hand for all your baking needs. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 44 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
fromCanada
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Strong "beany" flavour...
 September 3, 2015
" Like another reviewer mentioned, the flour is too beany, I agree! I used this to make a bread loaf which seemed to work great, however the second day I found it to be way too dry. I tried toasting it and then topping with peanut butter and bananas, but the bean flavor is too strong. Made cookies afterword and they don't crisp up at all, stays too bread-like with a beany taste. Good for savory baking only, but dry and crumbly. I'll try Bob's other gluten-free baking flour without beans. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 44 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromLancaster, PA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
It's Good Stuff!
 July 13, 2015
" I've been using this flour for years and it's very mild flavor makes it interchangeable with wheat. I use it as a breading along with some salt and pepper when I deep fry oysters or other fish. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 44 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSeattle
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
good product
 April 26, 2015
" Used this in my GF chocolate cake and it turned out very nice! I make this cake for special occasions and have used a variety of GF flours, most of which I grind myself. This worked very well! "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 44 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMounds View, MN
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Works as well as conventional AP flour
 March 23, 2015
" I use this flour for all of my vegan baked goods, and I have never been disappointed. They always have a light texture just like regular flour, and there is no weird flavor that you get from other gluten free flours, plus it has less processed ingredients. I would highly recommend! "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 44 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMount Vernon, AR
Age:75+
Gender:Female
 March 23, 2015
" This flour is a good price, so I bought 4. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 44 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Product
 March 12, 2015
" Good combination of flours and starches that allows successful baking; good taste as well "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 44 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromAlbuquerque, NM
This is the only baking flour I use
 February 24, 2015
" This flour is so easy to work with -- I never have any problems when starting with a "regular" recipe and simply using this flour instead of white flour. "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 44 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromHomewood, IL
Gender:Female
great product
 January 7, 2015
" This flour has worked well in many applications and gives guidelines for how.much xanthan gum to add. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bob's Red Mill Gluten Free All Purpose Baking Flour -- 44 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromReedley, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This is an excellent product!
 December 23, 2014
" I love this flour. I can use any of my old recipes for cookies, brownies, pancakes, muffins, etc. and substitute this flour in place of regular flour cup for cup. The only other thing I have to do is add the correct amount of xanthan gum (certain amounts for cookies, cakes, pizza crust, etc.) and I have a good recipe that is gluten free. I have bee super impressed and enjoyed this flour sooo much!! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next