Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Flours Meals & Grains or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bob's Red Mill Organic Gluten-Free Whole Ground Golden Flaxseed Meal -- 1 lb

100% Whole Ground. Fiber Lignans & Omega-3 Fats. Gluten Free. USDA Organic. Friend of The Heart. Kosher. Organic Golden Flaxseed Meal has a robust nutty flavor and tastes really great! Two tablespoons added to your cold or hot cereal pancakes and waffles or baked into your breads muffins and quick breads brings you the amazing nutritional benefits of omega-3 lignans and dietary fiber. This opaque packaging material preserves the healthful omega-3 fats which are an essential part of our diets. One serving of flaxseed meal contains 1800mg of omega-3 fatty acids.  . Millers of Natural Foods! What's inside each flaxseed and found in flaxseed meal could be better health spelled F-L-A-X:.  . F is for Fiber. It's amazing how much fiber a little flaxseed contains. Just two tablespoons of flaxseed meal delivers 4 grams of fiber as much fiber as 1½ cups of cooked oatmeal! Studies suggest that when flaxseed meal is added to the diet harmful LDL cholesterol drops while good  HDL cholesterol stays put. Regularity improves also.  . L is for Lignans. Here's where the flaxseed story gets major points. Flaxseed contains high levels of natural antioxidants called lignans. Many plant foods have some lignans but flaxseed has at least 7 times more than an other. To get the lignans that are in just two tablespoons of flaxseed meal you'd need to eat about 30 cups of fresh broccoli.  . A is for Alpha-linolenic Acid. Modern diets - even healthy ones - are routinely deficient in omega-3's. Flaxseed is a mega-source for the plant version of omega-3 called alpha-linolenic acid. The oil in flaxseed is about 50% alpha-linolenic acid. Canola and walnut oils the next highest sources have bout 10%. But most foods have far less. One serving of flaxseed meal contains 1800 milligrams of omega-3.  . X is for Excellent choice. Should you consider adding flaxseed meal to your diet? "Absolutely" say many doctors and nutritionists.
Overall rating:
4.845 / 5
4.8
 / 
5
(58 reviews) 50
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 58 reviews
5 Stars
50
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
57 out of 58(98%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill Organic Gluten-Free Whole Ground Golden Flaxseed Meal -- 1 lb
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Gluten-Free Whole Ground Golden Flaxseed Meal -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CoastalMomma
fromSouth Carolina
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Great kitchen staple
 April 6, 2016
"I bought this flaxseed because it was a good price and I enjoy using it in a lot of different things. You can notice the taste if you use too much, but just a tablespoon or so in smoothies, muffins or even a teaspoon in oatmeal makes food a little healthier. Great product and I use it almost on a daily basis and I won't need to purchase another bag for a couple months. You can get creative and use it in pretty much anything, so definitely something good to have around. I also use it for my sons smoothies and cereal as well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Gluten-Free Whole Ground Golden Flaxseed Meal -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DonCar
fromCadillac, MI
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Wholesome Ingredients
 February 13, 2016
"An excellent product that fulfills our daily fiber needs w/o additives, preservatives, fillers or artificial sweetners, flavors or colorings."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Gluten-Free Whole Ground Golden Flaxseed Meal -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lowcarbjohn
fromSouth Carolina
Age:75+
Gender:Male
Great for low-carb breads.
 October 23, 2015
"Used with soy flour, wheat gluten flour, an egg, etc, makes a great bread machine loaf with only 2 g carbs per slice.
Go for it!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Gluten-Free Whole Ground Golden Flaxseed Meal -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HHANSEN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
 July 23, 2015
"Been using this for years added to morning green smoothies. It keeps me regular!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Gluten-Free Whole Ground Golden Flaxseed Meal -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JannieZ
fromWestland, Michigan
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Husband's favorite
 June 29, 2015
"Husband uses this every day on his cereal, hot or cold. He says it keeps him regular."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Gluten-Free Whole Ground Golden Flaxseed Meal -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Nitongale
fromOhio
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
 June 5, 2015
"Good when I need omega3 boost."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Gluten-Free Whole Ground Golden Flaxseed Meal -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Aloemama
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great tasting ~
 April 4, 2015
"I mix a couple of bananas with the flaxseed; tastes great.
.
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Gluten-Free Whole Ground Golden Flaxseed Meal -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lovegffood
fromNr. Cleveland, Ohio
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Flaxseed is an excellent source of fibre
 January 7, 2015
"So many benefits and uses - definitely in baking, in yogurt, in smoothies etc!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Gluten-Free Whole Ground Golden Flaxseed Meal -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MaylinB
fromAthens, GA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Healthy properties
 December 21, 2014
"I use Flaxseed Meal in everything I can. You don't know it is there, and there are many benefits to eating it. I like Bob's Red Mill Organic brand, because I have used those brands before and like them very much. I recommend them highly because you can trust Bob's Red Mill."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Gluten-Free Whole Ground Golden Flaxseed Meal -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
debl
Been using this for years...an excellent product
 December 4, 2014
"I have tried other Organic Ground Golden Flaxseed Meal over the years and they were always way more expensive, but not better quality. I am more than satisfied with the taste, texture and quality of this product and will definitely keep buying it."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Gluten-Free Whole Ground Golden Flaxseed Meal -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RuthieK
fromKentucky
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great product!
 October 30, 2014
"I use this in yogurt, and in making breads. I like to use it in yogurt for the taste and fiber. It gives a good taste and texture to my non-gluten rye bread and biscuits."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Gluten-Free Whole Ground Golden Flaxseed Meal -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SisterDaniels1
fromLawrenceburg KY
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
good product
 October 28, 2014
"I make flour free bread with this and almond flour. I do not eat flour and so this is a really good product for me."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Gluten-Free Whole Ground Golden Flaxseed Meal -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
snoopybreak
frombig spring tx
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
oxidation of ground flaxseeds
 June 30, 2014
"I have used bob's red mill flaxseed meal for years.. I prefer golden flax... nuttier taste.. great taste..... I use them in my yougart...smoothies... sprinkle them over salads... bake with them....I have "heard" some say, ground flaxseeds lose oxidation...i'm not sure about this... I keep mine in the 'frig....and feel like I get multitudes of benefits from this product..."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Gluten-Free Whole Ground Golden Flaxseed Meal -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
CBRosie
fromAZ
Versatile
 May 27, 2014
"Been purchasing this product for a while now and never disappointed. Good for the body and price good from VC. thx"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Gluten-Free Whole Ground Golden Flaxseed Meal -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sunflowergran
fromPhoenix, AZ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
I add this to recipes for nutritional value
 April 14, 2014
"A good product to add to recipes to make them more healthy. Has a fairly strong flavor so I only add a little to not be overwhelming."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Gluten-Free Whole Ground Golden Flaxseed Meal -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cannotfindanickname
fromLakeland, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
I really like this product
 January 4, 2014
"I am not eating wheat anymore so flax meal is my go-to product. I have been using it in smoothies, making a quick flax meal bread and wraps. My only question/concern has to do with something I read about oxidation of flax meal. Now I'm wondering if it's better to buy the seeds and grind them when you need the meal rather than risk oxidation of the product. Anybody out there have any thoughts on this?"
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Gluten-Free Whole Ground Golden Flaxseed Meal -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GranolaGirl33
fromRoswell, GA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Outstanding...
 January 2, 2014
"Love this product - pleasant tasting w/many medicinal qualities. Would highly recommend to anyone."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Gluten-Free Whole Ground Golden Flaxseed Meal -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
gkmdb
fromFindlay, OH
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Good value
 December 13, 2013
"You can probably find this at your local grocery store, but Vitacost usually has a better price. We use this to bake crackers and in other recipes because it is supposedly healthier than using flour. Both my wife and I have lost weight by avoiding flour, so flaxseed meal is a good alternative. We have never had a problem with Bob's Red Mill products."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Gluten-Free Whole Ground Golden Flaxseed Meal -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JFinn411
fromChicago, il
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Can't beat it
 December 3, 2013
"Love the brand. Love that they have gluten free, organic golden flax meal. I use it almost on a daily basis. Add it to cookies, muffins, breads, pancakes and since it Is golden, no one notices! Can't beat the price either for the quality."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Gluten-Free Whole Ground Golden Flaxseed Meal -- 1 lb
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mainlady
fromEastern NC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Very good
 November 24, 2013
"I add these to my GF oats every morning. I enjoy eating them and knowing I'm improving my diet as well."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next