Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Corn Flour & Meal or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz

Organic Polenta Corn Grits. Corn Grits are simply coarsely ground bits of degerminated corn.  They have long been a traditional staple of both southern Italy and the American South that are usually cooked and eaten as hot porridge or cooked then slightly cooled until firm and sliced into squares.  For breakfast try Corn Grits served with milk and honey.  For lunch or dinner they're excellent topped with butter cheese marinara or gravy.  We use only the finest golden corn for rich and flavorful grits that are sure to delight your palate - any meal of the day.
Overall rating:
4.897 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(39 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 39 reviews
5 Stars
36
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
38 out of 39(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sammmy
fromFL
good grits
 January 21, 2016
"Great taste! I only use organic grits to avoid GMO's, and they are not always easy to find."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Creston
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
A daily favorite
 January 4, 2016
"We add all kinds of herbs and veggies to it then top with over easy eggs. Add cayenne sauce and YUM!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reeba
fromGeorgia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best Grits
 December 5, 2015
"Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits are the best grits I have found. I cook a big pot full and the extra is heated up later in the microwave. They are just as good leftover."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gooddaysunshine
fromTampa, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Doesn't clump up. Use in homemade cat food.
 November 22, 2015
"I make homemade healthy soft food for my cat. Use recipe Feline Feast from Dr. Pitcairn's book. Found that other corn grits products get very lumpy when heated up. This Polenta from Bob's Red Mill doesn't clump at all when cooked. The directions say to stir while heating and I do that. When fully cooked and smooth in texture I stir in the other ingredients, including 2 lbs. of ground turkey.I place into quart freezer bags and freeze. I got a 3 mo. old kitten in June who is now 8 mos. old. I feed him dry kitten food and the homemade Feline Feast wet food, which he likes better than any other canned food. He's very healthy on this diet."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yunfah
fromCharlotte, NC
Age:75+
Gender:Male
Makes a filling hot cereal
 November 20, 2015
"I enjoy polenta as a hot porridge in the cold mornings, adding dried cranberries, fresh blueberries and condensed milk. It soaks up the water though when cooked, so add extra water. Added Chia Seeds to it for extra nutrition and it's like eating a full breakfast."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
etboces
Gluten Free Side Dish
 October 15, 2015
"Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta is a great alternative to rice or pasta."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gapeachy
fromHouston, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great taste and texture
 March 27, 2015
"I'm a Southern girl and love this product."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stale
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Makes a great hot cereal!
 March 26, 2015
"If you don't like oatmeal or just want something different, this makes a very satisfying hot cereal.
I like to add chopped dates to the water for a natural sweetener while cooking and then top it with dried cranberries, chopped pecans or walnuts and maybe some banana pieces when done.
A regular part of our diet."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Claudette21
fromcharlotte
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Better than others
 January 14, 2015
"It is better than others I tried I wish it would have been grounded a little bit finer. Takes awhile to boil."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
good4ne1
fromVirginia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
So delicious !
 January 4, 2015
"Made them for tamale pie and as Breakfast grits…Also made them Brazilian style with sugar ! All recipes turned out great !"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
aprildream1
fromFl
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
not as good as real grits
 December 27, 2014
"The bag is big, just a little makes a lot, not much taste , not as good as real grits , taste better with mike then water . this is only what I think , others may like it because I am not a big grits person"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NEW59
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This is how Grits should be!!
 October 31, 2014
"I am from the south - this is how I remember grits - BUT - I use milk, not water to cook them in - smooooth and yummy. Great course of fiber, little bit of protein. Out of a score of 10-0 - this one gets a 10!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sisal
fromSan Antonio
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Easy to cook ahead
 June 10, 2014
"I love making polenta, then refrigerating to use during the week. Great sliced, microwaved and used as a base for a gluten-free stir fry or with tomato sauce ..."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cyd6
fromLindenwold, NJ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
I order this product a lot!
 April 14, 2014
"We have the organic corn grits almost every Sunday after church for breakfast. Friends come for breakfast and ask me where do I buy it, and I always tell them Vitacost."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
guy4God
fromScottsville, KY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Excellent flavor
 March 21, 2014
"These make a great treat for breakfast with some scrambled eggs! They have excellent flavor."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DrCF
fromFayetteville, NC
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great for Breakfast
 February 12, 2014
"I love these grits better than any I have ever tasted!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LenaV
fromRaleigh, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Very tasty
 January 29, 2014
"These grits are delicious. Great texture and taste. Better flavor than white grits. Of course they cost more than white grits, but organic foods cost more anyway, and they are worth it. Easy to cook. Will buy again."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lkinkz
fromLos Angeles, Califonia
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Very good product
 January 22, 2014
"I loved this product. Bob's has a lot of great cooking products and this one is a hit in our home. They taste fresher than other grits I have had."
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Daoudee
fromchicago
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Good Grits
 January 22, 2014
"I cook these Grits almost everyday and I love em'. They take longer to cook than regular grits and they are Organic whereas almost all corn products are GMO. So if you're patient and love grits try this polenta."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
orlu
fromTexas
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Good grits without salt
 December 8, 2013
"Really good and easy to make, just add water and simmer for 5 minutes."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next