Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Corn Flour & Meal or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz

Organic Polenta Corn Grits. Corn Grits are simply coarsely ground bits of degerminated corn.  They have long been a traditional staple of both southern Italy and the American South that are usually cooked and eaten as hot porridge or cooked then slightly cooled until firm and sliced into squares.  For breakfast try Corn Grits served with milk and honey.  For lunch or dinner they're excellent topped with butter cheese marinara or gravy.  We use only the finest golden corn for rich and flavorful grits that are sure to delight your palate - any meal of the day.
Overall rating:
4.851 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(47 reviews) 45
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 47 reviews
5 Stars
42
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
46 out of 47(98%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
tofuhead
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great grits
 May 22, 2016
"This makes the best grits. It also makes great polenta. I also prefer this for corn bread, rather than corn meal."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
JillyJ
fromCalifornia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Another good Bob's product.
 May 19, 2016
"I haven't actually had a chance to make polenta with this, but I made corn muffins with it and my family raved about the taste and product. I haven't met a Bob's product I Haven't liked."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
4ANGELS
fromFL.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Love !
 April 11, 2016
"Made great tasting grits & polenta from a great product Bob's Red Mill ...Love their products especially when they're organic too ! And a great price from Vitacost !"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Esmedoodles
fromNW Indiana
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great products
 April 8, 2016
"I love and trust all of Bob' Red Mill products."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
may2002
fromMinnesota
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
so easy and tasty
 March 18, 2016
"so far we have only made grits, boil water, add grits, stir.Served it topped with some butter. I want to try corn bread also though."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
AllieU
fromCharlotte, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Dry - needs more water
 March 9, 2016
"I found that I needed a LOT more water (almost double) than is called for. Once I figured out the water/grits ratio, they are not bad. It's not the best tasting grits I've ever had, but definitely a better taste than instant."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Acergal
fromAsheville, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Delicious, nutritious, and organic
 February 26, 2016
"Great tasting, nutritious, and safe."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PortiaFromNewEngland
fromNew England
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Soooo GOOD. Can't Believe I EVER used Instant!
 February 16, 2016
"Followed directions and made the smoothest most flavorful grits I've ever tasted! No clumps. No "mystery" ingredients... ONLY pure Organic (non GMO) CORN.
Not only a lot tastier than instant but more filling too."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sammmy
fromFL
good grits
 January 21, 2016
"Great taste! I only use organic grits to avoid GMO's, and they are not always easy to find."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Creston
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
A daily favorite
 January 4, 2016
"We add all kinds of herbs and veggies to it then top with over easy eggs. Add cayenne sauce and YUM!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Reeba
fromGeorgia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best Grits
 December 5, 2015
"Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits are the best grits I have found. I cook a big pot full and the extra is heated up later in the microwave. They are just as good leftover."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gooddaysunshine
fromTampa, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Doesn't clump up. Use in homemade cat food.
 November 22, 2015
"I make homemade healthy soft food for my cat. Use recipe Feline Feast from Dr. Pitcairn's book. Found that other corn grits products get very lumpy when heated up. This Polenta from Bob's Red Mill doesn't clump at all when cooked. The directions say to stir while heating and I do that. When fully cooked and smooth in texture I stir in the other ingredients, including 2 lbs. of ground turkey.I place into quart freezer bags and freeze. I got a 3 mo. old kitten in June who is now 8 mos. old. I feed him dry kitten food and the homemade Feline Feast wet food, which he likes better than any other canned food. He's very healthy on this diet."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Yunfah
fromCharlotte, NC
Age:75+
Gender:Male
Makes a filling hot cereal
 November 20, 2015
"I enjoy polenta as a hot porridge in the cold mornings, adding dried cranberries, fresh blueberries and condensed milk. It soaks up the water though when cooked, so add extra water. Added Chia Seeds to it for extra nutrition and it's like eating a full breakfast."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
etboces
Gluten Free Side Dish
 October 15, 2015
"Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta is a great alternative to rice or pasta."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gapeachy
fromHouston, TX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great taste and texture
 March 27, 2015
"I'm a Southern girl and love this product."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Stale
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Makes a great hot cereal!
 March 26, 2015
"If you don't like oatmeal or just want something different, this makes a very satisfying hot cereal.
I like to add chopped dates to the water for a natural sweetener while cooking and then top it with dried cranberries, chopped pecans or walnuts and maybe some banana pieces when done.
A regular part of our diet."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Claudette21
fromcharlotte
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Better than others
 January 14, 2015
"It is better than others I tried I wish it would have been grounded a little bit finer. Takes awhile to boil."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
good4ne1
fromVirginia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
So delicious !
 January 4, 2015
"Made them for tamale pie and as Breakfast grits…Also made them Brazilian style with sugar ! All recipes turned out great !"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
aprildream1
fromFl
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
not as good as real grits
 December 27, 2014
"The bag is big, just a little makes a lot, not much taste , not as good as real grits , taste better with mike then water . this is only what I think , others may like it because I am not a big grits person"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bob's Red Mill Organic Corn Grits Polenta -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NEW59
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This is how Grits should be!!
 October 31, 2014
"I am from the south - this is how I remember grits - BUT - I use milk, not water to cook them in - smooooth and yummy. Great course of fiber, little bit of protein. Out of a score of 10-0 - this one gets a 10!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next