Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Flours Meals & Grains or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bob's Red Mill Spelt Flour -- 24 oz

A Grain From Antiquity. Whole Grain • Stone Ground. Friend of the Heart. All Natural. Kosher. Spelt is a non-hybrid primitive relative of our present day wheat that dates back more than 9000 years. Spelt has a unique nutty flavor and because of its high water solubility its vital nutrients are quickly absorbed into the body.  Bob's Red Mill Stone Ground Spelt Flour can be used in most recipes calling for wheat flour -- especially yeast and quick breads.
Overall rating:
4.9 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
9
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
10 out of 10(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill Spelt Flour -- 24 oz
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill Spelt Flour -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
leapardnose
fromUtah
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
good stuff
 January 5, 2014
"I love the products and fast service with Vitacost; so far every thing I have tried is super good!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill Spelt Flour -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
homegal
fromLouisiana
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 November 15, 2013
"Really like the spelt flour. You can substitute it for wheat flour in recipes. It is an ancient grain and is very hearty."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill Spelt Flour -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lovemybug
fromYoungstown, OH
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Healthy Baking
 August 7, 2013
"Bake with this flour all the time! Wouldn't be without it!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill Spelt Flour -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ABCDFG
Gender:Female
Great flavor!
 July 14, 2013
"I made vegan Indian Frying bread from this flour. Taste was amazing, having no bitterness but natural sweetness and mouthwatering flavor!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill Spelt Flour -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Cherubco
fromGreensburg, PA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Good Whole Grain
 April 2, 2013
"The Spelt flour yields a dense flavorful bread. If you like Graham flour, you will like a straight Spelt flour bread using honey as the sweetener. See the Bob's Red Mill website for many good recipes."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
Bob's Red Mill Graham Flour -- 24 oz Each / Pack of 4
 
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill Spelt Flour -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SamKH
Love!
 November 12, 2012
"I am in love with this flour. It makes my baked goods come out so much softer and cakier than using whole wheat flour."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill Spelt Flour -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
noteasilyswayed
fromHouston
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
does not make our noses run ; )
 November 7, 2012
"It bakes better than my other whole wheat flours, and I am not allergic to it. That is the main + for me."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill Spelt Flour -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kayd809
fromCopperas Cove, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great Alternative for Wheat!
 May 24, 2012
"I just purchased this flour today at our local grocery store. I wanted to try it before ordering online. It's about a dollar cheaper here on vitacost! I was extremely surprised by its taste! I bake all my own bread at home in our bread machine and have tried various wheat breads since they are supposed to be healthier than white. However, I don't like the bitter taste and denseness of traditional wheat. I've found graham flour which is whole wheat and my family LOVES my graham loaf. But, to me, it gets old to always have the same bread! So, I tried spelt. It's not heavy and has a nice nutty flavor to it. My crust came out crispy and the inside is nice and soft. I'd recommend spelt to anyone as an alternative to wheat. I know I'll be using it for years to come!"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+8points
8of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill Spelt Flour -- 24 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
locarbn
Great alternative to wheat
 January 19, 2012
"May be suitable for wheat sensitive individuals. Bakes great, tastes great. Volume is reduced in baked goods--expect somewhat denser results. If you are a "Wheat Belly" try this ancient grain for an occasional "breads experience" w/o exposure to FrankenWheat."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Bob's Red Mill Spelt Flour -- 24 oz
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product