Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Baking Staples or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch/Flour -- 20 oz

Kosher. All Natural. Gluten Free.   Arrowroot Starch is used as a thickener. Arrowroot received its unusual name because the root of this South American plant was used in the treatment of poisoned arrow wounds.
Overall rating:
4.933 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 15(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch/Flour -- 20 oz
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch/Flour -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromArkansas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great Product
 December 3, 2013
" I use Arrowroot for baking bread. This is a great product and the price is more reasonable than buying it from my health food store. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch/Flour -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Freshly Wonderful
 November 11, 2013
" This is my first All Natural purchase. I was a little skeptical that there would be much of a difference in All Natural and regular but boy was I wrong. This product is so fresh and pure. I love using it in my homemade deodorant! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch/Flour -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Easy & Great Quality
 September 13, 2013
" Very good starch to use if you are looking for an alternative to corn or potato starches. It does not impart any extra tastes or smells, so makes it a great for cooking sweet or savory dishes. Same proportions can be used in my experience, and the baked goods come out great. I love the fact that it is also very easy to digest as opposed to corn or potato options. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch/Flour -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromTAMPABAY, FL.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
EXCELLENT PRODUCT
 August 19, 2013
" DISSOLVES QUICKLY IN RECIPES. FINE QUALITY. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch/Flour -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromWashington State
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great Product!
 August 18, 2013
" This is great as a thickener in baked products, and also as a thickening agent in soups and gravies. I'm using this instead of cornstarch now, and I actually prefer it!
Also, I use this in my homemade deodorant. Mix it with coconut oil, baking soda, and a couple of drops of essential oils, and it's a great natural deodorant! Especially effective with lavender/tea tree oils. :) "
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch/Flour -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMaine
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Trying to stay away from flour/gluten products
 June 25, 2013
" I used this recently instead of cornstarch and it worked fine. I am attempting to do Doug Kauffmans Phase 1 diet which excludes anything with yeast, corn, and wheat (all have mycotoxins). I can get almost everything on Vitacost and of course for a lot less money! "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch/Flour -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
 June 19, 2013
" I bought this to use in homemade deodorant and lotion to cut down some of the greasiness from all the oils. It worked great. It also works great in baking/ cooking as a thickener. Overall very pleased. I could have done without receiving the bag broken open, if they had packaged in a separate plastic bag some of the mess could have been prevented. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch/Flour -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromOcean City, NJ
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
GREAT IN BAKED PRODUCTS
 May 13, 2013
" I use arrowroot in place of gmo cornstarch. I use this in all kinds of baked products when they call for cornstarch. Great as a thickening agent too. A must have for gluten free baking/cooking. "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch/Flour -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromLos Angeles
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Worked great
 April 2, 2013
" Worked great in my baked goods. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch/Flour -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromIndiana
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great product!
 March 23, 2013
" It works excellently in place of cornstarch, for those of us trying to avoid GMO's. I tried it in homemade pudding with slightly stringy results, but that may have been operator error. I highly recommend this for most any cornstarch-based application, though! "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch/Flour -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNewtown, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great Substitute for Corn Starch
 March 17, 2013
" There are times when you just don't want to use corn starch, and this is a great substitute for it. It's healthier and works just as good. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch/Flour -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Good stuff
 January 12, 2013
" The product seems to be good quality and worked as expected in the recipes I tried, except for the snicker doodle recipe on the back of the package. It was tasty, but I think there should have been 1 tsp xantham gum added. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch/Flour -- 20 oz
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product