Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Baking Aids or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch/Flour -- 20 oz

Kosher. All Natural. Gluten Free.   Arrowroot Starch is used as a thickener. Arrowroot received its unusual name because the root of this South American plant was used in the treatment of poisoned arrow wounds.
Overall rating:
4.933 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(15 reviews) 12
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 15 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
15 out of 15(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch/Flour -- 20 oz
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch/Flour -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MamawD
fromArkansas
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great Product
 December 3, 2013
"I use Arrowroot for baking bread. This is a great product and the price is more reasonable than buying it from my health food store."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch/Flour -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
DeeMomma
Freshly Wonderful
 November 11, 2013
"This is my first All Natural purchase. I was a little skeptical that there would be much of a difference in All Natural and regular but boy was I wrong. This product is so fresh and pure. I love using it in my homemade deodorant!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch/Flour -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
laziblues
Easy & Great Quality
 September 13, 2013
"Very good starch to use if you are looking for an alternative to corn or potato starches. It does not impart any extra tastes or smells, so makes it a great for cooking sweet or savory dishes. Same proportions can be used in my experience, and the baked goods come out great. I love the fact that it is also very easy to digest as opposed to corn or potato options."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch/Flour -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SWEETPEA7
fromTAMPABAY, FL.
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
EXCELLENT PRODUCT
 August 19, 2013
"DISSOLVES QUICKLY IN RECIPES. FINE QUALITY."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch/Flour -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taters
fromWashington State
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great Product!
 August 18, 2013
"This is great as a thickener in baked products, and also as a thickening agent in soups and gravies. I'm using this instead of cornstarch now, and I actually prefer it!
Also, I use this in my homemade deodorant. Mix it with coconut oil, baking soda, and a couple of drops of essential oils, and it's a great natural deodorant! Especially effective with lavender/tea tree oils. :)"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch/Flour -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SAnn
fromMaine
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Trying to stay away from flour/gluten products
 June 25, 2013
"I used this recently instead of cornstarch and it worked fine. I am attempting to do Doug Kauffmans Phase 1 diet which excludes anything with yeast, corn, and wheat (all have mycotoxins). I can get almost everything on Vitacost and of course for a lot less money!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch/Flour -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
homemadenaturaliving
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
 June 19, 2013
"I bought this to use in homemade deodorant and lotion to cut down some of the greasiness from all the oils. It worked great. It also works great in baking/ cooking as a thickener. Overall very pleased. I could have done without receiving the bag broken open, if they had packaged in a separate plastic bag some of the mess could have been prevented."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch/Flour -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
surfmomocnj
fromOcean City, NJ
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
GREAT IN BAKED PRODUCTS
 May 13, 2013
"I use arrowroot in place of gmo cornstarch. I use this in all kinds of baked products when they call for cornstarch. Great as a thickening agent too. A must have for gluten free baking/cooking."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch/Flour -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
XicanaMom
fromLos Angeles
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Worked great
 April 2, 2013
"Worked great in my baked goods."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch/Flour -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SarahBella84
fromIndiana
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great product!
 March 23, 2013
"It works excellently in place of cornstarch, for those of us trying to avoid GMO's. I tried it in homemade pudding with slightly stringy results, but that may have been operator error. I highly recommend this for most any cornstarch-based application, though!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch/Flour -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kat12
fromNewtown, PA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great Substitute for Corn Starch
 March 17, 2013
"There are times when you just don't want to use corn starch, and this is a great substitute for it. It's healthier and works just as good."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch/Flour -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Marsbaby
Good stuff
 January 12, 2013
"The product seems to be good quality and worked as expected in the recipes I tried, except for the snicker doodle recipe on the back of the package. It was tasty, but I think there should have been 1 tsp xantham gum added."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Bob's Red Mill All Natural Arrowroot Starch/Flour -- 20 oz
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product