Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Flours Meals & Grains or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bob's Red Mill Vital Wheat Gluten -- 22 oz

Kosher. 75-80% Protein. Non-GMO Project Verified. Bob's Red Mill Vital Wheat Gluten is made from the natural protein found in the endosperm of the wheat berry. When combined with water it becomes highly elastic and taffy-like. Added to bread dough it helps retain the gas and steam from baking and gives more volume to the baked bread. It can be especially helpful for baking breads made with coarse whole grain flours and cereals.
Overall rating:
4.875 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(8 reviews) 8
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 8 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
8 out of 8(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill Vital Wheat Gluten -- 22 oz
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill Vital Wheat Gluten -- 22 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Shopforhealth
fromKentucky
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great product and great price!
 July 28, 2015
"I do a lot of bread making and vital gluten helps increase the rise of my breads--especially wheat breads or breads made with various flours. This is the best price I have found for vital wheat gluten.
Love it!
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill Vital Wheat Gluten -- 22 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChinaLake
Another Fine Product from BRM
 May 18, 2015
"Beyond the basic seitan recipe this stuff works extremely well as a binder in eggless recipes such as tofu quiches, fritattas, casseroles, etc. Wonderful stuff!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill Vital Wheat Gluten -- 22 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Teribear
fromStarkville, MS
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Wonderful, use it to make seitan!
 January 2, 2015
"I got a recipe to make my own seitan - it's pretty expensive to buy! So now I've been making it and it's wonderful! The vital wheat gluten is the main ingredient. It's so easy to make, I recommend it to all!! Once you have made it you can use it in soups, chili, sandwiches - whatever you would use meat for. You can also flavor it pretty much however you want."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill Vital Wheat Gluten -- 22 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
VeggieOakland
fromOakland, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Best high protein gluten I can find
 January 1, 2015
"Have tried WholeFood own brand, but keep going back to Bob's Red Mill. It makes the best chewy seitan."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill Vital Wheat Gluten -- 22 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PluckyChicken
fromMesa, AZ
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Excellent non-gmo product for baking
 December 23, 2014
"I trust Bob's Red Mill products and have been using them for years. This wheat gluten is essential in baking whole wheat breads and does a fine job in helping the bread rise and improves the texture."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill Vital Wheat Gluten -- 22 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ivorytickler8888
fromNew York, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Exactly what I wanted
 February 17, 2014
"This stuff tastes good and is super-consistent. Buy it and your protein costs will go down by about 75%. It's a great product."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill Vital Wheat Gluten -- 22 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Bubbienu
fromThomasville, NC
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Packaging needs help, but contents are great
 May 21, 2013
"I love Bob's Red Mill products, but the latest two pack of vital wheat gluten I ordered leaks at the bottom of both packs. I have not had this problem before with this product, so I assume it is a one time packaging issue. Nothing obviously wrong other than an incomplete seal at the bottom. The bags were in a larger plastic bag so it was not immediately apparent. I will still buy this product anyway, but that is the reason I didn't give it a 5 star rating."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill Vital Wheat Gluten -- 22 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JulesY
fromMichigan
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great purchase
 February 27, 2012
"Bob's Red Mill products are always high quality. Vital wheat gluten is an amazing ingredient for use in vegan and vegetarian recipies. Great purchase!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.