Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Bread & Muffin Mixes or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz

Kosher. Dairy Free. Wheat Free. Moist delicious and bursting with whole grains and seeds. The flavor and texture are complex and deeply satisfying. Specially designed for those sensitive to wheat or gluten. For bread machine or by hand this mix makes 1-1/2 lb loaf.
Overall rating:
4.455 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(33 reviews) 32
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 33 reviews
5 Stars
26
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
2
28 out of 33(85%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromGeorgia
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Good GF Bread
 May 18, 2016
" I made this for some family members that are GF and DF. They were pleased with it. My husband and I are not GF but we liked it. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Will not buy again
 March 17, 2016
" We use Bob's Red Mill Homemade Wonderful Gluten Free Bread Mix regularly and decided to try the Whole Grain version as we would prefer whole grain as an option. We were so disappointed with this loaf that we actually threw out half of it. It has onion powder in it which makes it smell weird and taste weird and is SO unnecessary. Need to remember to read the full ingredients before buying! Maybe without onion powder it would have been better but as is, I don't recommend it. Unfortunately we bought two bags of mix and will throw the second one out. We highly recommend the Homemade Wonderful GF mix though - gave it a 5 star review. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromPark City, UT
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
a great tasting bread
 February 5, 2016
" gluten free? It is the best tasting gluten free bread out there. I served it with soup and my adult children were skeptical at first, but ended up loving this bread! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMeredith, NH
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
You gotta try this bread!!
 January 26, 2016
" Outstanding product! Makes a gluten-free bread that is hearty, tastes rich and fights back when you chew it. My husband is making this in our bread maker every week. We use it for toast and to eat with our winter soups and stews. YUM!! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromToledo, OH
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Hearty bread
 December 28, 2015
" This mix makes a hearty dense bread full of fiber. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromRockville, MD
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Love this bread!!!
 October 3, 2015
" I have been making this bread for over a year now, and it is the MOST DELICIOUS bread (especially gluten free!) that I have had. I actually look forward to my toast every morning! It keeps me full for hours as well. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromFrenchville, Maine
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Really Good Bread
 June 27, 2015
" Very hearty flavor, texture and taste. Tastes just like pumpernickel. Great consistency and makes a fantastic sandwich for a gluten-free bread substitute. "
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromIndiana
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Sandwich bread
 June 2, 2015
" I have been buying this product for many years and my family and friends love it. I have added honey, caraway seeds, onion powder, turmeric, cumin and several other spices to the mix. Each loaf comes out perfect and makes for a variety of breads. I also dry out the left overs and use as bread crumbs( gluten free) in meat loaves. I recommend a good bread knife for cutting thinner slices.
Also, a piece of foil paper can be lightly draped over the cooking loaf about 20 minutes before it is removed from oven. It keeps the bread from getting too brown on top. It's delicious!
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromChesapeake, va
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best "Rye" bread that is Gluten Free!!
 May 20, 2015
" I love everything about this bread mix! It is very easy to make! It is chewy, very tasty, and good with about anything. My family loves it--I am so happy that it is Gluten Free!! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Great Gluten-Free Irish Brown Bread
 May 15, 2015
" Having fallen in love with Irish brown bread while living in southern Ireland, I have been on the search for a gluten-free facsimile. This mix fits the bill nicely, although it is not quite as coarse and has a heavy rye taste. Rather than follow the package recipe, I follow a traditional brown bread recipe with the mix:
-Blend into the mix 1 teaspoon each of baking soda and salt.
-Add 16-18 oz full fat buttermilk
-Mix until blended. Mix should be wet.
-Form into a rounded mound on a baking stone.
-Bake at 450F for 20 minutes, then 400F for 30 minutes. Check for doneness (using toothpick method) and cook for additional 5-10 mins if needed.
-Cool slightly and wrap in linen tea towel (or kitchen towel) until cool.
-Slice and serve with KerryGold butter and jam.
I keep mine in an airtight container in the refrigerator. Toasting thin slices is wonderful. Perfect blend of sweet and slightly salty. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Fantastic!!!! Very good results...
 February 22, 2015
" I used melted coconut oil in making this bread, then sprinkled sea salt over the top before baking. It came out AMAZING!!!! Truly a delicious bread. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
fromGrand Rapids, MI
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Peasants in the dark ages wouldn't eat this stuff
 December 24, 2014
" I couldn't eat it. I don't throw away any food (almost) ever, but I fed this to the birds. I couldn't force myself to eat more than half of the loaf. Tasted like raw rye or some coarse grain. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromMichigan
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love this bread!
 December 20, 2014
" I made this bread in my bread machine, following the instructions exactly.
It came out beautifully and my husband (not gluten free) and I both love this bread!! Lots of nice whole grains and great flavor!
Came back to order more :) "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCola. SC
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Adds alot to a loaf
 November 13, 2014
" This is very good GF flour. I mix it in with other Bob's Red Mill products to give my bread a bit of a pumpernickel (sorta) flavor. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromNE Florida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Tasty if a little heavy
 August 1, 2014
" Gluten-free is never quite the same for those of us who grew up on the gassy commercial stuff. But this is good, so I'm happy. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reaction!
 July 4, 2014
" First, I really like this company and their products. But this bread had a really strong taste of caraway and I had a bad reaction a few hours after eating it.
I must be reacting to one of the ingredients, but wanted to let the others know, just in case it can help somebody.
"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromSouth Pasadena
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Bob's Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix - Gluten Free
 June 4, 2014
" This is a delicious bread. My son, who doesn't really like seeds or nuts - yet - loves the way this bread taste - seeds and all. I really enjoy a nice bread like this. It was easy to make and really delicious. Thanks Bob's for making a great hearty bread mix that is also gluten free which is an added benefit to us. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromcosta rica
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
yummy, healthy and filling
 May 12, 2014
" I usually make white glutenfree buns from scratch, but this breadmix is a really nice change of pace. The bread is easy to make and doesn't require a breadmaker. I love the nutty texture, the heavenly rye-like smell, and of course, the taste! This bread is pleasantly compact and is surprisingly satisfying. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
The best tasting GF bread
 May 6, 2014
" Love this bread mixture- so far the best I tried from many. I am also allergic to eggs and this recipe calls for eggs and I substituted it for apple sauce and baking powder (1 egg= 3 tbs of sauce and 1 teas spoon of baking powder)- it worked well. So could be made vegan. "
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromNJ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Very good and tasty
 December 28, 2013
" I baked this for the first time and I loved it. It's crunchy and tastes great. I will order more. Since I stopped eating wheat products It's not easy to stay without eating bread. This is very fulfilling. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next