Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Bread & Muffin Mixes or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz

Kosher. Dairy Free. All Natural. Wheat Free.   Moist delicious and bursting with whole grains and seeds. The flavor and texture are complex and deeply satisfying. Specially designed for those sensitive to wheat or gluten. For bread machine or by hand this mix makes 1-1/2 lb loaf.
Overall rating:
4.474 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(19 reviews) 18
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 19 reviews
5 Stars
14
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
2
1 Star
0
16 out of 19(84%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Review 1 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Ghostplane
fromNE Florida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Tasty if a little heavy
 August 1, 2014
"Gluten-free is never quite the same for those of us who grew up on the gassy commercial stuff. But this is good, so I'm happy."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
FranAl
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Reaction!
 July 4, 2014
"First, I really like this company and their products. But this bread had a really strong taste of caraway and I had a bad reaction a few hours after eating it.
I must be reacting to one of the ingredients, but wanted to let the others know, just in case it can help somebody.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LisaMT
fromSouth Pasadena
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Bob's Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix - Gluten Free
 June 4, 2014
"This is a delicious bread. My son, who doesn't really like seeds or nuts - yet - loves the way this bread taste - seeds and all. I really enjoy a nice bread like this. It was easy to make and really delicious. Thanks Bob's for making a great hearty bread mix that is also gluten free which is an added benefit to us."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
katinka
fromcosta rica
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
yummy, healthy and filling
 May 12, 2014
"I usually make white glutenfree buns from scratch, but this breadmix is a really nice change of pace. The bread is easy to make and doesn't require a breadmaker. I love the nutty texture, the heavenly rye-like smell, and of course, the taste! This bread is pleasantly compact and is surprisingly satisfying."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Czechchick
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
The best tasting GF bread
 May 6, 2014
"Love this bread mixture- so far the best I tried from many. I am also allergic to eggs and this recipe calls for eggs and I substituted it for apple sauce and baking powder (1 egg= 3 tbs of sauce and 1 teas spoon of baking powder)- it worked well. So could be made vegan."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
crazyorganic15
fromNJ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Very good and tasty
 December 28, 2013
"I baked this for the first time and I loved it. It's crunchy and tastes great. I will order more. Since I stopped eating wheat products It's not easy to stay without eating bread. This is very fulfilling."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AllNaturalKD
fromBradenton, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
My preferred mix
 June 21, 2013
"I've made many loaves of gluten-free bread using my own flour blends and have had good success - but, it is a real sacrifice of time and effort to do all the incremental measuring yourself. A friend suggested I try the Red Mill mixes - and - I did. And really really am happy with the results. I do tweak them, adding extra seeds, sometimes adding molasses, an extra egg, soda water - just a slight variation. My number one vote goes to this particular mix - both for texture, taste, and flexibility. The whole grain mix is now my standard go-to mix as a base for my gluten-free breads. I can make it either as a sweeter bread (more Squaw bread style with molasses) or straight forward rich grain bread with added sunflower/pumpkin seeds with some extra liquid and an additional egg. I highly recommend this mix to anyone looking for a wonderful full flavored, highly textured gluten-free bread. And - I can throw all the ingredients in a bread machine, set it, and go about my business and end up with a great loaf of bread!"
+12points
12of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ziggyspal
fromFallbrook Ca
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Tastes Really Good
 June 13, 2013
"I've tried store bought gluten Free bread and did not like the consistency or taste. This product tastes great, holds up well, even better toasted.
It is simple to make. i use egg substitute because my wife and I are Vegans. I have made it in a bread machine and mixed by hand. both methods are easy and fast."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MotherBear
fromMinnesota
Tastes Great
 May 25, 2013
"This is a great tasting gluten free bread mix. Seeds are plentiful and the texture is wonderful. Love this bread, highly recommend!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TonyBalony
fromBeachwood, NJ
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
 May 16, 2013
"This is a very good product and very tasty for gluten free bread. It is very easy to make if you have a bread machine and a lot better than the bread you purchase in the stores."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
mjm3
fromstaten island ny
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
not good
 April 29, 2013
"I didn't like the texture and taste of this bread. I have other gulten free breads that taste better."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
truejoy
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best Gluten Free Bread Ever
 April 9, 2013
"This is far and away the tastiest gluten free bread I've had. It is a brown bread that is multigrain and has texture. You'd never know it's gluten free."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
paulnps2
fromPalm Springs, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Great tasting dense high fiber bread
 April 8, 2013
"This mix bakes a very tasty and dense, dark loaf, reminiscent of pumpernickel and other dense dark breads. I bake my loaf in a Cuisinart bread machine and take it out right after cooking to maintain a nice moist loaf.
Great with butter and jam or for a sandwich. Tends to slice thick as it has so many gluten free flours and seeds. I tend to toast, spread with fresh avacado and goat cheese and/or cold poached salmon or other lighter meat."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
dressagefanatic
fromOhio
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Very disappointed
 April 3, 2013
"I have tried numerous Bob's Red Mill mixes and they have all been great. This one, however, was disappointing. I followed the instructions a "T" and the bread ended up VERY heavy, with a strong caraway taste. I know whole grain bread is heavier than white but this was heavy to the extreme. Luckily my husband likes it so it won't go to waste."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
trusted
fromgrand isalnd, ny
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
best gluten free bread ever!
 March 24, 2013
"This gluten free bread actually tastes good, it rises like normal bread, and has a great texture!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Msjujubee2013
fromSouth Dakota
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Exceptional
 February 4, 2013
"We have tried many mixes. Some ok, but flavor lacking. THIS is the softest most flavor filled loaf of bread. I used coconut milk for moisture. Mix thickens quickly. Add, 3/4 cup, Just enough to get a nice gloss. Use stand mixer.
Remember to let rise just even to top of pan. Also used a rapid rise yeast.. Love love this bread. Molasses sweet. If you want a bit more sweetness add more Agave syrup or Honey. 3/4 cup.
Room temp eggs etc works best for these mixes.
"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
GlutenFreeKaty
fromPortland. OR
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
A Great Gluten Free Rye Bread
 January 29, 2013
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"It has a strong caraway flavor which limits its use. But it is delicious and has great texture. My husband, who does not have any gluten intolerance issues almost ate the whole loaf himself! I used my Cuisinart Breadmaker (which I love and use regularly) and from picture you can see that is make a dense, nutty loaf."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
Pamela's Products Gluten-Free Bread Mix -- 19 oz Each / Pack of 2
4.8 out of 5(27)
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
zip1
Really great bread
 January 27, 2013
"So many of the gluten free breads are unpalatable or bland. Not this one. A rich, full flavor. We add some cashews and raisins and toast it for breakfast."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Bob's Red Mill Hearty Whole Grain Bread Mix Gluten Free -- 20 oz
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product