Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Fish Oil Plus Vitamin D or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Mega EFA-D3 Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels

Unique premium-quality combination formula with omega-3 fatty acids and vitamin D. Provides an optimal ratio of EPA and DHA and vitamin D in superior form! What is Vitacost Mega EFA-D3? Vitacost Mega EFA-D3 Omega-3 EPA & DHA is a premium-quality fish oil supplement delivering high elemental levels of two of the most-studied omega-3 essential fatty acids: EPA and DHA. Also included is 2000 IU of vitamin D in its superior form vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol) per 2-softgel serving. Omega-3 fatty acids are essential to the body and must be obtained through diet. Fatty fish such as cod tuna and salmon are the best source but they can also be found in some plant sources and in flaxseed walnuts and soybeans. Most people do not eat enough of these foods however to obtain optimal amounts of omega-3 nutrients. In this case taking a supplement such as Vitacost Mega EFA-D3 may be beneficial. Vitamin D is a fat-soluble vitamin that plays a role in bone health immune health and more.* Vitamin D3 (cholecalciferol) is a preferred form of vitamin D and the same type naturally produced by skin when exposed to sunlight. Unlike other low-cost low-grade fish oil supplements which may contain traces of dioxin mercury PCBs and other environmental contaminants Vitacost Mega EFA-D3 has been molecularly distilled to guarantee the freshest purest product. Mega EFA also contains a higher milligram-per-serving amount of omega-3 fatty acids than other brands with 800 mg of EPA and 400 mg of DHA in each two-softgel serving. How does Vitacost Mega EFA-D3 support health? EPA and DHA are well known for their cardioprotective properties their ability to maintain healthy cognitive function their potential to support healthy moods and their positive impact on joint comfort and flexibility*. Higher blood levels of omega-3 essential fatty acids including EPA and DHA are associated with a healthier mood*. Vitamin D promotes strong healthy bones and peak immune system function*. Why choose Vitacost Mega EFA-D3? Provides higher milligram-per-serving amount than other fish oil supplements (EPA = 800 mg and DHA = 400 mg—in each two-softgel serving). Provides 2000 IU of vitamin D per serving in its superior form. Easy-to-swallow softgels with pleasant strawberry flavor. Fish oil has been molecularly distilled to ensure mercury dioxins and PCB levels are well below industry standards. An economical and convenient way to meet the American Heart Association’s recommendation to increase daily omega-3 fatty acid consumption. Contains 120 servings per bottle. Exceptional quality at an extraordinary value. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  . * These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.607 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(28 reviews) 22
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 28 reviews
5 Stars
20
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
27 out of 28(96%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Mega EFA-D3 Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Review 1 for Vitacost Mega EFA-D3 Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
haruki
fromSwitzerland
Age:75+
Gender:Male
Excellent product
 July 23, 2014
"This product is very recommendable as it has a pleasant taste
and the softgels are in an easy-to-take size.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Mega EFA-D3 Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Girlfromthenorth
fromNorthville, NY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Best Tasting Fish Oil
 May 8, 2014
"I don't often experience burps/belches from fish oil, but on those occasions that I do, this product has a nice slightly fruity taste, not fishy at all. I love having the Vitamin D included so I don't have to take another pill."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Mega EFA-D3 Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sportster555
Here's a Tip
 April 4, 2014
"I keep these in the freezer and take them at bedtime. That prevents the burping and gas passing often associated with these suckers. Enjoy!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Mega EFA-D3 Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lauls85
fromNY
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Great product. Great price
 March 23, 2014
"I like this. The additional vitamin D3 of 1000 IU per capsule (2000 per serving) is a good combination with the Omega 3 (EPA and DHA). The strawberry flavor makes it even better (we don't always taste the strawberry. It is definitely better than fishy aftertaste).
I would want to make an additional comment about the shipping carrier that Vitacost is using to ship my items, LaserShip. It was UPS before but not anymore. LaserShip has been shipping my order very fast. It is better than UPS, in which they always have to drop my orders to the local post office the day it should be arrived, which is always one additional business day before the packages come to me. LaserShip comes rather quickly. Even when I order my items on Friday (before 1pm EST), they will be coming to my door on the very next Monday, or Tuesday the latest. I am looking forward to this type of reliable services, especially during summer time, I want it to come to me sooner, not later, to avoid spoiling with heat."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Mega EFA-D3 Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lovechunk
fromJefferson City, TN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Awesome Fish Oil!
 July 4, 2013
"Even if you burp up this one....only taste Strawberry! Great price too!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Mega EFA-D3 Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
am38
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Pleasant, but surprising taste
 June 20, 2013
"The strawberry taste was unexpected, unusual for a fish oil supplement, but pleasant. I don't necessarily like taking 2 larger pills a day, but does the job. I also give one to my large dog daily, and despite the strawberry flavor, he eats it as well."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Mega EFA-D3 Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cross129
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great suppliment for less than half of others!
 May 18, 2013
"I have enjoyed taking this suppliment, no fishy taste or after taste. Softgels are easy to swallow and have a great strawberry flavor. Also, my friends were taking something similar with the same mgs and were paying 50.00 for half the amount! They are now ordering VitaCost Mega EFA-D3 Omega 3 and are quite satisfied as well with this product!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Mega EFA-D3 Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
petehel
fromAustralia
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Bigger concentration
 December 8, 2012
"Seems to have higher levels of EPA and DHA than similar products. Good price and appears to be helping with joint pain."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Mega EFA-D3 Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sjm2
fromNJ
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Better with D3! Keep the heart healthy!
 December 2, 2012
"My family doctor wants me to take an Omega-3 supplement. I have tried several from Vitacost and I prefer this one the best. Perfect value for the size (240 softgels, dose is 2 per day). I like that it includes D3. My doctor likes the dosage amount of 2126mg/day and says it's the most beneficial. I will never let myself run out of the Mega EFA-D3 Omega3 EPA & DHA. I care about my heart health and I feel this supplement helps me."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Mega EFA-D3 Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leuthar
fromDallas, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
 October 20, 2012
"The size of capsule is not to big and it goes down smooth with not after taste,..."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Mega EFA-D3 Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Naneekris
fromTx
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Strawberry fish oil
 August 26, 2012
"Great product. This fish oil capsule doesn't leave you tasting it all day long."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Mega EFA-D3 Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Karinsita
fromCalifornia
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
I love VitaCost
 July 30, 2012
"So far this is the only product we had trouble with. Not much, just that it was hard on the digestion and made awful gas. So we decided to take them once at night instead of twice daily and voilá, it is all good again."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Mega EFA-D3 Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mjkntx7
fromTX
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
What a Deal
 February 9, 2012
"I love the quality & the price of this big bottle of Mega EFA-D3, and the fact that you only need two of these power packed softgels a day.. with the
2000 IU's of D3, being a real plus. And, of course the fish oils are purified. My only issue with this product is that it contains Soy, and some people these days avoid soy like the plague.. Although for the average person there is probably not that much soy exposure in two a day, I hope.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Mega EFA-D3 Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
anjasmom
Just ok
 January 31, 2012
"I purchased this product because the brand I had previously purchased was no longer available. I guess it's working just as well. What I don't like is the taste - it sort of has a plastic taste to it. I purchased four bottles due to a sale and think after they gone I will just use liquid and not bother with capsules."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Mega EFA-D3 Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MadLib
Gotta love that vit. D is added to these!
 November 1, 2011
"The Mega EFA are the best fish oil pills out there and when I read an article about how most of us don't get enough vit. D I wanted to get some added into my routine. This product is great and I don't have to take an extra pill. Good job Vitacost!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Mega EFA-D3 Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Microchip
fromDallas, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Thanks for the D3
 September 30, 2011
"A great combination toward better health."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Mega EFA-D3 Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
trisha46
fromTexas
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
These melt the styrofoam!
 January 2, 2011
"These actually melt styrofoam in the styrofoam test for fish oil supplements and the strawberry flavor is a plus. GREAT VALUE! I now purchase NSI products almost exclusively."
+4points
5of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Mega EFA-D3 Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
GreekInLux
fromLuxembourg, European Union
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Good
 October 4, 2010
"vitamin D and EFA together. Great combination, taste, form. It would be juest great if later you put the same quantities in just one pill, or double vitamin D dosage in each one."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Mega EFA-D3 Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Simo
fromGrass Valley, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Convenience
 July 28, 2010
"As stated by others, this combines two important supplements into one. There is no significant savings in cost so the main benefit of this is just convenience. For those of you with burping issues, take at night before bedtime. Works for me."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Mega EFA-D3 Omega-3 EPA & DHA Fish Oil -- 2126 mg per serving - 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
janiec
Great product
 May 12, 2010
"Wanted a good product that wouldn't cause me to burp fish oil taste. I keep these frozen to reduce that problem but rarely I still have that problem. Ever tasted strawberry fish ??? I find if I take the frozen capsules after dinner or just before bed I have no burping or after taste from these"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next