Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

This product is no longer available. Continue shopping at Vitacost.

Alkalol Nasal Wash -- 16 fl oz

A Soothing Nasal Wash Mucus Solvent and Cleaner. ALKALOL is an alkaline saline solution specially formulated to clean and moisturize the nasal passages dissolve mucus kill germs and bacteria and provide natural relief from the symptoms of sinusitis. and allergies. THE HISORY OF ALKALOL:. ALKALOL was formulated in 1896 by my grandfather James P. Whitters a pharmacist in Taunton MA.  For over a century ALKALOL has utilized the same natural formula to provide soothing relief from the symptoms of sinusitis allergies and chronic congestion.  Four generations of our family have shared one goal:  To provide the finest nasal wash and mucus solvent available.
Overall rating:
4.735 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(49 reviews) 36
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 49 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
8
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
49 out of 49(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Alkalol Nasal Wash -- 16 fl oz
Review 1 for Alkalol Nasal Wash -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sinusbad
fromBoston, MA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Physician
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great Product
 January 26, 2014
"This product really works. I would highly recommend."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Alkalol Nasal Wash -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TG52
fromNew Jersey
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great addition to saline rinse
 July 15, 2013
"I use this with my neti pot, adding it to my saline solution. It really helps with inflammation, sometimes acting like Drano in clogged pipes! Wonderful product. Also I have used it to gargle with a sore throat - it was helpful there too."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Alkalol Nasal Wash -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
australiabound
fromClinton, NC
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Great product!
 May 13, 2013
"If you have allergies or a sore or scratchy throat this product is great to gargle with. It immediately soothes scratchy throats. If you put a little in your nasal saline solution, it also helps clear your sinuses. Great product, just wish they had more in stock!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Alkalol Nasal Wash -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KCM2
Awesome product... ramp up your nasal rinse
 May 2, 2013
"This traditional nasal wash can be combined with your own Saline rinse. It really makes it 1000 times more effective! We love it!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Alkalol Nasal Wash -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
personalexperience
Alkalol is like no other and a must have!
 April 20, 2013
"I have been using Alkalol for most of 13 years for relief from chronic sinus issues. It was originally recommended by my doctor after my first of 3 sinus surgeries. I cannot say enough about the wonders of the relief I receive from using this product. Just so you know, no Nettie pot for me. I use this product with the hard core full-size waterpik with nasal irrigator.
Going from buying it back when it was $2.00 a bottle to struggling to get a store to order it for me at sometimes over $8.00 a bottle and even on the internet at those high prices plus shipping because it was even harder to find free shipping.
So I stopped using it for a while and suffered greatly.
After suffering for too long I went looking for it again on the internet to discover pricing and shipping had changed and found Vitacost a much need friend to bring back my relief.
If you suffer like I do, no gross detailed explanations needed. Just try it. The relief is instantaneous and palpable. Using Alkalol speaks for itself. I couldn't say enough great things about it."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Alkalol Nasal Wash -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TJdog
fromLouisiana
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Nothing else like it.
 April 13, 2013
"Due to chronic sinusitis , I need something i can use to wash out my sinuses. This product in 8 ounces of warm saline water is great for addressing my sinus problems. I simply add one eighth of a teaspoon of salt to 8 oz. of warm water and then add 1 to 2 oz. of Alkalol. I pour it into my cupped hand and suck it up my nose as I bend over the sink. This flushes out my sinuses in a very soothing manner. I don't know what I would do without it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Alkalol Nasal Wash -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NetiYogi
fromWestern, Mass
Add 1 or 2 capfuls to a saline salt wash
 January 30, 2013
"I've been doing Neti for over 30 years and recently a friend gave me a bottle of Alkalol. Tried it both full and half-strength and was far too strong. I add one or two capfuls to my normal saline solution -- backing off just a bit on the amount of salt and the experience is far better than salt and water alone.
If you are buying pre-measured salt packets, consider going to a health food store and buying a pound of sea salt (of course, it would have no iodide nor other additives) for less than $1-. It will last you a whole year.
Also avoid plastic neti pots. I have two porcelain neti pots and their smooth spout slides into the nostrils far better than plastic."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Alkalol Nasal Wash -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
decadence
fromLas Vegas, NY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Amazing
 January 13, 2013
"What a difference this makes added to saline salt nasal wash. Is it weird to say my nose feels refreshed? Before I stumbled upon this product at a national drugstore I didn't know anything was missing, but now I'm hooked. Was paying almost double before I saw Vitacost carries it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Alkalol Nasal Wash -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rnnn
fromny,ny
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
great product
 December 26, 2012
"great product"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Alkalol Nasal Wash -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Anonymous
fromWest Coast
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Strong stuff
 November 8, 2012
"I find it rather harsh so on my worst days I use it with a much reduced amount with salt and a cup of warm water. I also don't like the after-affect of smell. The first time I used it with the recommended amount I couldn't finish it was way too strong and slightly painful. I probably will stop using and use the Himilayan product instead it but it does work and is very inexpensive. I could have unusual reactions to it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Alkalol Nasal Wash -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lovinMYlife
fromOrlando, FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Phenominal product
 October 5, 2012
"I use this product with the nasal neti pot. I have been using it now for several years and will always include the alkalol as part of the nasal wash process. My immunologist recommended it and keeps a bottle in the office to show patients.
I've also used it to gargle with salt water when my throat is sore or scratchy from nasal drainage.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Alkalol Nasal Wash -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KJ7777
Excellent product and excellent pricing.
 September 26, 2012
"This product is relatively difficult to find, and Vitacost has it! It is an excellent product, and Vitacost's pricing is also competitive."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Alkalol Nasal Wash -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anti
fromNorthern California
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great Product
 September 8, 2012
"This product is wonderful. Whenever I have nasal congestion or feel a cold coming on I always irrigate my sinus's with a dilution of Alkalol and water. It works! I rarely get a sinus infection anymore."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Alkalol Nasal Wash -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Elilily
fromFL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This is the best nasal cleaner ever.
 August 17, 2012
"This mucus solvent leaves me breathing clean and clear. I use it with a Neti Pot or my nasal lavage. It is very difficult to obtain. Previously I had to find a privately owned pharmacy and have them order it for me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Alkalol Nasal Wash -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
catcrazy
fromchicago
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great for use in Neti pots
 August 15, 2012
"Takes nasal cleansing to a new level! Feels cleaner than plain saline and does a great job of removing mucus. I only use about 1 tbls. in my regular saline solution. I think using it straight would be much too strong."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Alkalol Nasal Wash -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
goldenoldie
fromPa
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Outstanding Product
 August 9, 2012
"I have only used this product for about 8 months, but it's the longest time I have gone without a sinus infection in about 5 years. I use it morning and evening as I have many allergies. I do take medication for them but nothing has helped me as much as ALKALOL..Have shopped around and Vitacost has the best price and fastest service. I would recommend this to everyone who has any sinus problems and will continue to use it daily ."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Alkalol Nasal Wash -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TOP8
fromRidge Spring, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Best product I have used.
 July 23, 2012
"I have been using alkalol for several years now. It's the only thing I have found that actually helps clear and keep my sinuses open. I have had tremendous problems with recurring sinus infections and this has been a real life saver. I use the Neil Med squeeze bottle to apply. I mix the product 50/50 with saline I mix up using distilled water and the saline packets from the Neil Med kit. One packet of salt to 8 oz distilled water. Keep that in one container. Mix 50/50 with alkalol into another container I use for storing the ready to use mixture. Then I just grab the diluted bottle, put about 2 oz in the Neil Med squeeze bottle, warm to a tepid temp (usually by holding under the hot water for a couple of minutes). The gently squeeze into each nostril. Make sure you hold your breath. Good luck!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Alkalol Nasal Wash -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mouse1
fromWestport, CT
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
best for neti!
 June 26, 2012
"This soothing wash is great for the neti pot. I mix it with salt for a soothing wash. THe price is 1/3 lower than in my local pharmacy"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Alkalol Nasal Wash -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bean42
Great price and fast delivery
 May 3, 2012
"I have been using this product for many years. However, the price kept rising. I ordered from Vitacost at a surprising low price and got prompt delivery."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Alkalol Nasal Wash -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Trixie71
fromBoston, MA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Duration of use:61-180 days
nice additive for neti pot rinse
 February 26, 2012
"soothing addition to saline neti pot rinse - I use one cap-full"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next