Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Conditioner or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Aubrey Blue Green Algae Conditioning Mask -- 4 fl oz

Hair Rescue. There's no better conditioner for the hair than protein. And there's no better source of vegetable protein than blue green algae made up of over 50% utilizable protein all the major amino acids and a long list of vitamins and minerals. We combine it with organic shea butter organic aloe and other moisture-rich herbals in this ultra-conditioning mask ideal for chemically treated or damaged hair.
Overall rating:
4.391 / 5
4.4
 / 
5
(23 reviews) 20
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 23 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
18 out of 23(78%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Aubrey Blue Green Algae Conditioning Mask -- 4 fl oz
Review 1 for Aubrey Blue Green Algae Conditioning Mask -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
vmgc
fromCA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good but price went up
 March 1, 2014
"Love this product, works well on my parched dry hair. Nothing will make my hair shiny again, but this really makes it feel so much healthier. What I don't like is that the price went up considerably over the last year."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aubrey Blue Green Algae Conditioning Mask -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NatureIsle
fromQueens, New York
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great for 4C low porosity hair add avocado oil
 October 19, 2013
"This works great for my 4C low porosity, semi "protein sensitive" hair. I add avocado oil to this product, then wash with Kinky Curly Come clean, then condition with AO GPB conditioner. My hair feels soft and wonderful. Did I also mention that the conditioner is also vegan?
Cons: Container should be larger for the cost. I am able to get three uses out of this product on my short neck length hair."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aubrey Blue Green Algae Conditioning Mask -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
FoxyD
fromSouth Carolina
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Makes your hair feel fuller and thicker!
 September 25, 2013
"This was the first time I had ever tried this hair mask. It does make your hair feel thicker and fuller. It added a protein punch to strengthen my length, but did not leave my hair hard or crunchy... just soft and full. Loved it!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aubrey Blue Green Algae Conditioning Mask -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roseerose
fromLos Angeles ,CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Shiny Shiny!,
 June 10, 2013
"I love this hair mask so much.
Well smell is not good , but after I use this mask, my hair really shiny
I also like GPB .
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aubrey Blue Green Algae Conditioning Mask -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
DiscerningCustomer
fromNew York, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Very natural, but...
 December 11, 2012
"I really wanted to like this product. It is completely natural, has a gingerbread-cinnamon smell (you want to eat!), but it just wasn't giving my locks the kind of moisture treatment they crave. I would have liked more nutritious butter or oil in it, to really make my hair shine. Definitely competitive though: very natural product."
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aubrey Blue Green Algae Conditioning Mask -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
UrbanFarmer
fromSunnyvale,CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Smelly and hard to apply
 September 5, 2012
"Foul smelling, although the smell does not stay on my hair. It's more of a mud consistency, i.e. doesn't 'glide' thru my hair. Since it's hard to apply, I tend to use a LOT by just pasting it on. That turns out a good thing because it ran out faster. It does work, i.e. make my hair smooth and healthy-looking. But I have found alternative product that's easy to apply, works, and doesn't smell as bad."
-4points
2of 8voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aubrey Blue Green Algae Conditioning Mask -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cokotaro
香りが独特だけど
 September 5, 2012
"髪がパサついているので、週1位使っています。シャンプーする前のかわいた髪に使うので湯船につかりながら時間をおいています。洗い上がりはしっとりですが2~3しか使えないのですぐになくなります。"
-1point
6of 13voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aubrey Blue Green Algae Conditioning Mask -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
MelissaBee
fromAtlanta
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Awesome Results!
 July 9, 2012
"When I first opened this conditioner, I was not too thrilled with the smell. I need to mention that I am not typically bothered by perfumes, cleaning products, etc., so I was surprised at how negatively I reacted to the scent. I used the product exactly how it said on dry hair. This took the entire jar to cover my hair to the point that it felt like it was thoroughly and evenly distributed. I was kind of surprised at this because I don't have very long hair (shoulder length) and it is maybe medium thick, 2c to 3a texture. Anyway, after applying, I left it on for about 40 minutes and then rinsed and washed using Aubrey's Blue Chamomile shampoo and conditioned with Aubrey's GPB conditioner. I scrunched a bit of Curl Keeper in my hair and let it air dry. I just checked the mirror and I cannot believe how shiny and plump my curls look! This stuff really is awesome! I guess if you consider having a conditioning treatment done at a salon, you'd pay a lot more than the cost of one jar of Aubrey's Conditioning Mask. Bottom Line: Well worth the cost and dealing with the kind of funky smell!"
+8points
10of 12voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aubrey Blue Green Algae Conditioning Mask -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Raven2000
fromMichigan
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Outstanding Product
 February 3, 2012
"Have used this condtioning hair mask for a long time,,,its excellent for "all hair types". Its alot more reasonably priced from Vitacost then from anyplace else.
My only complaint would be that you don't get much product amount,,,which thats the manufacturers fault...not Vitacost's."
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aubrey Blue Green Algae Conditioning Mask -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Renata
fromHouston, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Didn't work for me
 August 1, 2011
"I tried few times and none of them I see any difference at all. Maybe it is my type of hair."
-3points
1of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aubrey Blue Green Algae Conditioning Mask -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Amzonian
fromSan Jose,CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Good Product
 April 14, 2011
"-Smells OK
-Conditions great!
Label say's keep it on for 10 mins, but I keep it on for 25-30 mins to get really soft and smooth hair.
Color of this product is light green (almost yellow!)
I'm happy with this product although it is quite expensive for such a small jar.
"
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aubrey Blue Green Algae Conditioning Mask -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
OrganicCosmetic
fromCambridge, MA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
I'm a rule breaker
 February 4, 2011
"I apply this to my hair after I have conditioned it (redundant you say?) on WET hair concentrating on the ends. My hair takes less product (it's a little pricey per ounce so I'm glad to get many more uses from one jar).
This mask makes my hair so soft and gives great slip when rinsing it out! Plus, to me it smells of batter--kind of a blueberry pancake batter and I love that!"
+2points
4of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aubrey Blue Green Algae Conditioning Mask -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
cravinganna
fromnew york
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Not amazing
 November 17, 2010
"I was looking for a good hair mask. I like that this goes on dry hair, but would not recommend it for girly or thick hair..plus it has a weird smell, which was nice at first, but annoying once you get used to it."
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aubrey Blue Green Algae Conditioning Mask -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TLJk
fromMichigan
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
 August 8, 2010
"Makes hair soft!!!"
-1point
1of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Aubrey Blue Green Algae Conditioning Mask -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nikkid45
Graet product
 July 15, 2010
"Smells funny. Works great at detangling and conditioning my 4c hair."
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Aubrey Blue Green Algae Conditioning Mask -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jain
fromSalt Lake, Ut
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Wonderful!
 November 24, 2009
"Best protein conditioner! Hair was left with shine and it detangled my hair easily"
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Aubrey Blue Green Algae Conditioning Mask -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NewQueen
fromChicago, IL
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
good
 May 8, 2009
"I like this stuff. It worked for me!! I used a moisturizing conditioner after cause this is protein. HOWEVER I have super long super thick hair and I only got 2 uses out of this. So I have to buy 2 at a time once a month now if I wanna do it once a week."
+3points
5of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Aubrey Blue Green Algae Conditioning Mask -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Smart
fromMd
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Not sure if it works.
 April 15, 2009
"But I respect good ingredients!"
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Aubrey Blue Green Algae Conditioning Mask -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dobel
fromSingapore
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
 March 8, 2009
"this is great for my hair had been dry and entangled after shampooing. It helps to soften it . I will order it again."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Aubrey Blue Green Algae Conditioning Mask -- 4 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LALanie
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
GREAT STUFF- NEVER GREASY
 February 14, 2009
"I've been using this product off & on for quite a few years. I use it occasionally when my hair is dry & overprocessed and/or lacking poof. This adds body, does not over condition (I have thin fine hair but lots of it), plus adds protein to your hair. Really a great product without any (chemical) stink. Sometimes I accidentally get a similar Aubrey product that is meant for the face, but I would miss having this one instead. It might be a little more than you would like to spend to try a product, but you'll be pleasantly surprised and will want to come back for more. It beats a lot of other products out there. It is like FOOD for the hair."
0points
2of 4voted this as helpful.
1 2 next