Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Top-rated product

Product Reviews

DivaCup Model 2 Post Childbirth -- 1 Cup

Model 2: for women who are 30 years old and over and/or for all women who have gone through childbirth: vaginally or cesarean.  . • Menstrual Solution. • Feminine Hygiene protection. • Menstrual Cup. • Clean – Comfortable – Convenient. • No Leaks – Reliable. • 12 hour protection –Reusable. • Latex/Rubber-Free – Hypoallergenic – Medical Grade Silicone. The DivaCup® is a revolutionary alternative to tampons and pads. It is a modern concept that was first introduced in the 1930's and used by women worldwide for decades. Our leading-edge proprietary redesign makes it simple and easy-to-use. The DivaCup® eliminates the inconvenience of disposable products in endless absorbencies shapes and sizes. It is the most environmentally-responsible feminine choice because it is reusable. Reduces landfill waste and your eco-footprint! The DivaCup® accommodates your changing flow. Simply empty 2-3 times a day and reinsert. It can be worn confidently overnight. Ultimate freedom: enjoy your daily activities traveling yoga driving camping dancing extreme sports and more....without leaks. An essential for every Diva! Not Associated With Toxic Shock Syndrome (TSS)
Overall rating:
4.533 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(60 reviews) 57
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 60 reviews
5 Stars
47
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
3
2 Stars
3
1 Star
2
53 out of 60(88%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for DivaCup Model 2 Post Childbirth -- 1 Cup
Review 1 for DivaCup Model 2 Post Childbirth -- 1 Cup
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jayersgould
fromBay City, MI
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Over 180 days
BETTER Than Sliced Bread!
 June 17, 2014
"I have owned and used my DivaCup for over 6 years now. The only problems that I have had are when I don't have it properly inserted. Getting it in just right takes some practice and I would recommend doing this during a time when you are *not* on your period. If I don't have it in just right, I can tell because I get a little dull ache in my abdomen. The trick it to make sure that it is not too far up and is not folded or stuck to itself. So, after inserting it, I grasp the bottom and twist it around a few times and then pull out until the stem is *almost* protruding out, but not quite. This seems to be the "sweet spot" for me at least.
When wearing this, it's like you're not even on your period. There are no pads, no strings, no sign at all that you are bleeding. Great for long trips or even for endurance sports. I've run marathons with this thing in! Nothing could be more discreet.
This is an amazing value and great for the environment, plus no embarrassing pads or tampons to dispose of or for the dog to get into the trash and tear up.
I love this product and can't recommend it enough!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for DivaCup Model 2 Post Childbirth -- 1 Cup
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mrsevilbug
Age:35-44
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Patience will bring great rewards
 February 27, 2014
"I'm 37; no children; small frame; been using the DivaCup for 2 yrs. It was my first cup; no need to try another brand in my opinion. I followed the instructions and got Model 2 despite never having gone through childbirth, and it fits just fine.
The trick is that you have to be very comfortable with your body, all its parts, and not being shy about touching your labia. I have no problems doing it a public restroom, so long as I can wash my hands beforehand and plan how I need to proceed in a sterile manner. Meaning- do it at home first and be patient with the results.
I put off buying it for years because I didn't understand how it wouldn't be a messy disaster. You have to develop a plan on how to use it and navigating from the toilet to the sink and back to the toilet. And I seem to fill it more often than the packaging notes. If it seems like it's leaking a little or if I get crampy, 9 times out of 10 I just need to empty the cup and reinsert. Simple as that. Most times, I don't even necessarily need to empty it in public; maybe once on heavy days.
Understand where your cervix is and relearn what your mother most likely taught you about your period. You really don't have to get into any more of a squat than when you use a public restroom and hover or use a tampon. If you give it a little bit of time and a little bit of patience, it really can be rewarding to use a cup and not cotton that's been treated with chemicals. I feel like I even learned more about my body and more of what's going on during my period. All the while, it's freeing because you put the cup in and can be done with it."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for DivaCup Model 2 Post Childbirth -- 1 Cup
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Budgie678
fromVA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Learning curve
 January 21, 2014
"This is a good product however I have a love/hate relationship with it. You really have to get the hang of it and it may take a few periods before you do. This is quite difficult to insert and if you do it wrong it will slip out. Once it is in properly it is great and you can wear it for hours comfortably. It is a little time consuming to take out, wash, and put back in, so I don't even feel like messing with it on light days. I think its more useful on heavy days. I don't recommend it for someone who isn't comfortable with their anatomy down there."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for DivaCup Model 2 Post Childbirth -- 1 Cup
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
EnviroGrl903
fromNew York
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Friend
Duration of use:61-180 days
Happy Periods
 August 18, 2013
"I recently started using the Diva Cup and I am loving it! My first cycle was a little rough, but after figuring out how to insert and remove it, things are going smoothly now. I love not having to worry about having tampons and pads with me and it is also better for the environment.
Some tips-
Experiment with the fold-one may be easier for you to insert than the other.
Relax! If you tense up when removing it is harder to get out.
Use some lubrication (coconut oil is great!) for insertion to prevent irritation.
Wear a pad as a backup during the first few cycles until you figure out how often to empty it."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+9points
9of 9voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for DivaCup Model 2 Post Childbirth -- 1 Cup
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HahnemannHealing
fromSanta Fe, NM
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Worth the try & the buy
 June 27, 2013
"I purchased this product after I read a medical article about all the dioxins and carcinogens we are exposed to through tampons and maxi pads. I am 46 years old, have had two children through drug-free home births, and am comfortable with the functions of my body. Since I am still menstruating as regularly (if not more so) as I did in my twenties, but am now very interested in getting prepared for menopause, I like to chart my periods and flow in order to be on top of any changes that might signal the "change". I am also very concerned about the landfill and waste problem within our culture (avid environmentalist). For all these reasons, I decided to purchase the Diva Cup.
It came in a pretty little patterned purple bag with a swirled purple pin. It seemed large to me at first. The silicone is medical grade and very smooth. I set it aside until the day my period came.
Nervous about insertion, I had carefully read the instructions several times and looked at images to help me visualize the correct location and placement of the cup. I really had nothing to worry about. It was so easy to insert that I got the hang of it on my VERY FIRST TRY. Obviously, I ordered Model 2, and I folded it as directed. I used it at the first sign of my period, so even though there wasn't the same amount of lubricating flow that I need for tampon insertion, it slid in very easily.
Over the next couple of days, I had to get the hang of where in my body it was best "seated". I noticed that, when it was full, the added weight made it "ride low", which I could feel. This was a helpful indication that it was time for a bathroom visit. My first day and night wearing it, I noticed that my cramping seemed to be worse than usual, so I went back to the internet and found out that lots of women had the same issue, which was fixed very easily by pushing the cup in farther. I think, ideally, it should be higher than the enclosed instructions recommend. The manufacturer insert says that the stem should be no more than 1/2 inch away from the opening, but it is most comfortable if it is an inch up or higher.
I liked how clean the process was. During my entire period, I didn't have to mess with bloated tampons, wrapping them and the pads to dispose of in the garbage (if you don't already do this, you should, because despite conventional wisdom, tampons are NOT biodegradable in septic systems, even city ones, and cause all kinds of problems).
While wearing the cup, for the first time in my life, I actually felt like I didn't have my period. You never realize how conscious you are of a tampon inside you (even though you don't feel it) and a pad on your undies until you use a menstrual cup like this. Also, tampons always leaked on me, so I always had to pair them with a sanitary pad. This cup never leaked. And since the menses flow never comes into contact with air while the cup is worn, any odor is now nonexistent!
It is most convenient in your bathroom where you can wash your hands and the cup before re-insertion, but I used it on a hiking trip where I had to use a port-a-potty as well as an outdoor campground toilet, and I never had any problem. After emptying it, I just wiped it clean with a piece of toilet tissue and popped it back in.
I liked how I could actually see and keep track of exactly how much menstrual flow was being collected. I think this is another helpful way of managing one's health and being able to catch symptoms of reproductive issues like fibroids, endometrial problems, and the like early on. It made me feel proud again of my body's functions and my health and appreciate the wonder of my period.
I discovered that, yes, like other women have found, the cup's stem is sort of useless and can be annoying because of how long it is, so I trimmed it with scissors. For example, I couldn't feel the cup during wear while I was walking to standing, but once I began squatting during weight lifting, sitting, or doing yoga, I could definitely feel it poking around, and that was bothersome. Since our canal is not much longer than our finger length, we don't need the stem, anyway. It is super-easy to just reach in there and grasp the narrow base of the cup when needed to twist it for engaging the seal or pinch it for releasing the seal when removing it. Before I trimmed it, I also experimented with turning the cup inside out -- something that had helped others -- but this made it a little too slippery for me during removal. It otherwise solved the problem, though.
I like this thing so much that I want to buy another. I highly recommend it as yet another gift that we women can take advantage of in order to be better to ourselves, be healthier, be more at ease during our monthly cycles, and be happier."
+19points
19of 19voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for DivaCup Model 2 Post Childbirth -- 1 Cup
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
IAmJess
fromNJ
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Love it!
 April 6, 2013
"This is my 4th Diva Cup and I love it. It's super easy to use. The first one I purchased gave me some trouble in the beginning but that's only because it takes some getting used to in order to wear it properly. To those afraid of using it, just give it a try and don't give up with your first period. I never leak and can't feel it once it's in."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for DivaCup Model 2 Post Childbirth -- 1 Cup
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
tennblondie
fromBowling Green, KY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Regrets
 February 26, 2013
"I wish I hadn't bought this. After reading all of the rave reviews, I really wanted to try it. I have used Instead Softcups before and liked them, although they leaked. I am a tampon girl and wanted to try something else to get away from the chemicals. I never could get this in my body no matter how I folded it. It is way too big. I understand the method of using this, but it's gigantic. Sorry Diva Cup, I wanted to like you, but I will have to use Natracare from now on. The cup and it's little purple bag went in the trash can."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for DivaCup Model 2 Post Childbirth -- 1 Cup
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
snailshopper
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Awesome product!
 January 26, 2013
"What can I say that hasn't already been echoed by many other women? I definitely agree that there is a learning curve and it will take a few cycles before you get the true hang of using this product, but when you do, you'll be amazed at how wonderful the DivaCup is. I also agree that you need to be comfortable with your body and all it's processes. It's a bit hands-on to use and insert properly and it might take several tries before you find the insertion method that works best for you. I personally do not feel comfortable cleaning the cup when I'm not at home or in a private bathroom, so I use tampons when I know I'll be out for many hours, but my tampon usage has been drastically reduced. If it's inserted properly, you won't feel it and there's no irritating dried-out feeling! It's comfortable, well-constructed, easy to use once you get the hang of it and it's re-usable. Remember, don't give up if it doesn't work properly right away. Many other women have stated that it took them a few cycles to be comfortable using the cup and I wholeheartedly agree. A+ in my opinion."
+7points
7of 7voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for DivaCup Model 2 Post Childbirth -- 1 Cup
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CHERYLpREDHEAD
fromRussell, KS
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
excellent answer for women
 January 17, 2013
"this product should have been out decades ago."
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for DivaCup Model 2 Post Childbirth -- 1 Cup
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KittyKatniss
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Best Kept Secret!
 November 3, 2012
"This product is absolutely fabulous! I have recommended this to all my friends!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for DivaCup Model 2 Post Childbirth -- 1 Cup
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
clkinnee
frompittsburgh, pa
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love this!
 October 11, 2012
"I love this product and will never go back. Like many have said, it took some getting used to. It was uncomfortable, but I stuck it out and by the 3rd month I couldn't even feel it. I found it to be a bit long for me, even after cutting the "stem" off, so I turn it inside out and it's the perfect length for me. I highly recommend to everyone"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for DivaCup Model 2 Post Childbirth -- 1 Cup
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
koryn101
 October 4, 2012
"I was told about this product long ago, but was skeptical to try it. So glad I did! I love my diva cup! It is more comfortable than tampons and you don't have to change it as often as tampons. I only gave it a four because it does leak sometimes. I wear a pantyliner and that works fine. No more tampons here!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for DivaCup Model 2 Post Childbirth -- 1 Cup
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HappyCustomer84
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Glad this was referred to me!
 September 17, 2012
"My sister in law told me about this product. I have used it 2 months now and I love it. I have told other women about it, and how comfortable it is. I honestly would forget I have my period if it weren't for cramps and the awful bloating. It does take some practice inserting it, but once you have that figured out, it's like nothing at all. I would definitely recommend this to any women that is sick of the regular sanitary products. I also bought the wash with it. For the price of both the products and the amount of soap you have to use, this product is by far a great deal!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for DivaCup Model 2 Post Childbirth -- 1 Cup
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jlynn15017
Will never go back to tampons or pads!
 August 15, 2012
"I love this product. It takes about a day or two to get used to. After you get the hang of it, you will never return to any other method. Highly recommend!"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for DivaCup Model 2 Post Childbirth -- 1 Cup
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Xandrasdaughter
fromDanville, Ky
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Wonderful invention
 May 9, 2012
"I have been using the Instead cups that are disposable. This is 10 times better. I have a heavy flow and was able to change it every 12 hrs as directed. It does take some getting used to, some practice is needed getting it placed. And I could feel it at first. I also purchased the wash for it. Love it! I almost forgot I was on my period."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for DivaCup Model 2 Post Childbirth -- 1 Cup
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
SudoNimm
fromRhode Island
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
 March 25, 2012
"Material is too pliable and makes it difficult to get a good seal. I've used another brand of menstrual cup in the past and figured they'd be similar, and this was easier to obtain so I bought it. It leaked constantly, and every "how-to" thing I read basically said you have to just keep fiddling with it until you get it right. I didn't have that problem with the cup I used to have."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
Gladrags The Moon Menstrual Cup - Size B -- 1 Cup
4.5 out of 5(11)
 
 
 
 
 
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for DivaCup Model 2 Post Childbirth -- 1 Cup
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
srock822
fromSchodack. ny
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
This is an amazing product
 March 23, 2012
"I am using the Diva Cup for the first time and I am so glad I bought it. It is super comfortable. So easy to insert, empty and remove. It is not messy at all. It has no odor and it is so convenient that I can sleep with it in and wear it all day without having to take it out, because you can wear it for 12 hrs at a time. Buy it you won't be sorry, you will save so much money and hassle. :)"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for DivaCup Model 2 Post Childbirth -- 1 Cup
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
JKHe
fromOregon
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Not sure...
 February 28, 2012
"So, I had to buy 2 of these to get the size right. They say if you are over a certain age, you should be x - well, I did - WAY too big...painful. So, I bought the smaller one - and still rather painful getting in and out. I guess not having children and doing kegels my whole life leaves me not 'average'...anyway, just be aware - the size is the hardest part - and well, no one wants a return on these puppies!"
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for DivaCup Model 2 Post Childbirth -- 1 Cup
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
leolove05
fromChicago, IL
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great product
 January 29, 2012
"I was skeptical at using this at first. The idea of storing period blood in a cup was disgusting to me. I decided to give it a try after many moms recommended it. I LOVE it. I got used to it right away and have had zero leaks. You do have to be very comfortable with your own body to use it..and you obviously have to be okay with seeing gross things but it's cleaner than using disposable pads and tampons (and doesn't smell nearly as bad). I'll definitely recommend this to my friends."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for DivaCup Model 2 Post Childbirth -- 1 Cup
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nikkinik510
fromCalifornia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Can't live without!!!
 January 25, 2012
"I was skeptical about this cup. Though I read the reviews, I thought that maybe it wouldn't work because I had a c-section and that I might need the smaller one. However, when I used it, it fit great and I instantly could not imagine how I had lived without it for so many years!
I have told all my girl friends about it and how effective it is. Just a small price to pay for many months of use. I also appreciate that it is safe to use and can be worn overnight.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next