Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop 5-HTP or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Natrol 5-HTP TR Time Release -- 100 mg - 45 Tablets

Promotes Positive Mood. Helps Control Appetite. Natrol 5-HTP TR 100 mg Time Release is a drug-free plant-derived source of an amino acid that naturally increases the body's level of serotonin the chemical messenger that affects emotions behavior appetite thought and sleep. Regular use of Natrol 5-HTP helps provide a more positive outlook promotes relaxation calm and greater appetite control. Natrol 5-HTP TR is 100% vegetarian and has a controlled delivery system that releases 5-HTP slowly and then steadily over a period of 12 hours.
Overall rating:
4.333 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(12 reviews) 9
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 12 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
1
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
0
10 out of 12(83%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Natrol 5-HTP TR Time Release -- 100 mg - 45 Tablets
Review 1 for Natrol 5-HTP TR Time Release -- 100 mg - 45 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jlhveggie
fromHudson Valley NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Would purchase again.
 November 1, 2012
"It is a small pill and easy to swallow. I started taking this for better sleep and within 5 days I was sleeping 8+ hours and dreaming again."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Natrol 5-HTP TR Time Release -- 100 mg - 45 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DarV
fromFL
Gender:Female
 October 17, 2012
"I started taking this product in conjunction with a new diet where I was determined to get results. The product worked great for me, controlled my appetite, stabilized my mood on low carb days and helped me get sound sleep. I've taken this product for approximately 5 months now and the effects are the same."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Natrol 5-HTP TR Time Release -- 100 mg - 45 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
exerciselvr
 April 22, 2012
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
This customer did not provide a text review.
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Natrol 5-HTP TR Time Release -- 100 mg - 45 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Great Product
 June 22, 2010
"Tried 5-HTP a few years ago to help with enhancing my mood and remember it helping a little as well as less of an appetite. Started taking again 2 months ago and notice a difference if I don't take it mostly in my appetite. I love the time release as I sometimes forget to take supplements that require taking it a few times a day. Great product and plan on continuing use for a long time!"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Natrol 5-HTP TR Time Release -- 100 mg - 45 Tablets
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Marlane
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:30-60 days
 February 13, 2010
"I've been taking 5htp regularly for several months now. I do think it gives me a positive outlook on life. I think I prefer the NSI brand. When I was taking 200mg I think it was too much. I think I may of had anxiety from taking too much. I've gone down to 100mg in the evening and feel great."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Natrol 5-HTP TR Time Release -- 100 mg - 45 Tablets
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Kattamus
fromSeattle
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Disappointing Side Effect
 September 22, 2009
"While I do think that I slept a bit better the 2 weeks I took these, I very quickly started to gain weight (not a common side effect) so discontinued use after 2 weeks."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Natrol 5-HTP TR Time Release -- 100 mg - 45 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mattiem
Age:25-34
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
I like the TR versions
 August 13, 2009
"My wife and I take 5-HTP finding it evens out our mood a bit. I like the Time Release version because I think the 5-HTP lasts longer in my system this way. Also, this is the only Natrol version that is vegetarian if that's important to you. The others are in Kosher caps made of fish gelatin."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Natrol 5-HTP TR Time Release -- 100 mg - 45 Tablets
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
vtmns4thght
a good choice ...
 May 31, 2009
"I've been taking 5 HTP for over a year now and I won't allow myself to be without it.
It has made a difference in my overall appetite. I went off it for a time and noticed the change in my eating habits. A good product to add to your daily intake of vitamins.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Natrol 5-HTP TR Time Release -- 100 mg - 45 Tablets
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
3 / 5
3 / 5
johnny5alive
fromNew York
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
ok
 May 29, 2009
"Ok but not great"
-3points
0of 3voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Natrol 5-HTP TR Time Release -- 100 mg - 45 Tablets
Based on the average of (3) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.3 / 5
4.3 / 5
3 out of 3 recommend this product