Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Skin & Coat or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Halo Purely For Pets VitaGlo™ Dream Coat® Meal Enhancement for Cats and Dogs -- 16 fl oz

For Dogs and Cats. Meal Enhancement to Support Your Pet's Lustrous Coat and Healthy Skin. Groom from the Inside Out.  . VitaGlo Dream Coat  provides a blend of pure oils that supply all the essential fatty acids needed to promote a full shiny coat smooth skin and a great immune system. The longer you use it the better it works!  . Nourishment is more than food on a plate. It's a commitment you make to your animal companion a commitment born of love and enacted day after day. A commitment visible in the food you serve in the products you use to groom in each stroke and every hug.  
Overall rating:
4.64 / 5
4.6
 / 
5
(50 reviews) 43
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 50 reviews
5 Stars
39
4 Stars
7
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
47 out of 50(94%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Halo Purely For Pets VitaGlo™ Dream Coat® Meal Enhancement for Cats and Dogs -- 16 fl oz
Review 1 for Halo Purely For Pets VitaGlo™ Dream Coat® Meal Enhancement for Cats and Dogs -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Madram
fromRavenna, OH
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
My dogs love it!
 September 26, 2014
"I have been using Halo Dream Coat for my dogs skin and coats for 3 years. They all now have soft fur and healthy skin. Just mix a teaspoonful into their dinner each evening."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Halo Purely For Pets VitaGlo™ Dream Coat® Meal Enhancement for Cats and Dogs -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Birdwell50
fromCougar Mountain Washington
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Amazing ....soft!
 August 2, 2014
"Adapted a ten year old mixed breed dog from the humane society whose fur was dull, course, and was not soft to pet. This stuff is amazing...we are amost through with the first bottle and not only is her entire fur shiny, soft and cuddly....even her tail seems to have come alive with beauty. Put this over her food and she really enjoys it. She is also eating less grass with this stuff. Well worth the investment! Great product! Will buy more."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Halo Purely For Pets VitaGlo™ Dream Coat® Meal Enhancement for Cats and Dogs -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pet4mom
fromRocklin, Ca
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
This really works
 May 21, 2014
"My dogs and cats all love the taste of Halo Dreamcoat. Their coats are softer and shinier and there's less shedding as well. I will continue to use this product because of the results we have seen with our pets."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Halo Purely For Pets VitaGlo™ Dream Coat® Meal Enhancement for Cats and Dogs -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MBlack
fromAssonet, Massachusetts
Gets Results
 May 17, 2014
"I purchased this after noticing that my Boston Terrier had flakes appearing on her coat, especially over her back. After using it for a few weeks, her coat looks great and no more dry skin. I will purchase it again."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Halo Purely For Pets VitaGlo™ Dream Coat® Meal Enhancement for Cats and Dogs -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
lovemyvitacost
good product
 April 29, 2014
"I like this product but it lacks a way to measure. pouring from a large bottle into a 1/4 tsp is almost impossible & there's no way you can get a measuring spoon into the bottle. This is all manufactoring & nothing to do with Vitacost. I think it needs a dropper to you can have an accurate measurement and less waste."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Halo Purely For Pets VitaGlo™ Dream Coat® Meal Enhancement for Cats and Dogs -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Dobiejrtmom
fromSan Antonio, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Good stuff!
 April 6, 2014
"Our vet recommended this for our Jack Russell who has very bad skin allergies. It does seem to help her skin. I started giving it to our Doberman as well. It has really helped him! He sheds a lot less than he used to since giving him this oil. It is definitely worth it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Halo Purely For Pets VitaGlo™ Dream Coat® Meal Enhancement for Cats and Dogs -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Ageekgirl
fromRifle, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
My dog must be different
 March 22, 2014
"She does not care for this at all taste wise, but she is a finicky eater. The reason to try this was for the itching she seems to have. So far it has been 3 weeks on this product and it has not changed her frequency of scratching."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Halo Purely For Pets VitaGlo™ Dream Coat® Meal Enhancement for Cats and Dogs -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Tontita
fromJacksonville Beach, FL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
My dog loves it!
 March 14, 2014
"It took about a month to notice any benefits, but I now can tell that my dog's coat is shinier with decreased shedding. She loves the taste too, and will not eat without it. I forgot to add it to her food ONCE, and she looked at me like, "Ummm, yeah, something's missing. Can't fool me!" I now keep multiple bottles in stock so I don't run out!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Halo Purely For Pets VitaGlo™ Dream Coat® Meal Enhancement for Cats and Dogs -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Lizster
fromFL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Nope!
 October 5, 2013
"That's what my cat says when I add this to his wet food. He refuses to eat it when I use this supplement. I had high hopes for this since it has so many great reviews. He isn't a picky eater, either, so I was quite surprised. I recommended it since it does appear to help others."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Halo Purely For Pets VitaGlo™ Dream Coat® Meal Enhancement for Cats and Dogs -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boomersmom
fromMN
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Even the Vet Commented on Dog's Coat
 September 28, 2013
"Got a rescue dog ten months ago and used dream coat for most of the time since. She's an American foxhound mix and initially her coat really needed help - dull and flakes throughout. Recently the vet even commented on the great condition of her coat and asked what we've been doing. Dream coat and probably a better diet than she'd had. I stopped using it for a few weeks a while back and she was constantly itching and scratching. Although she still scratches some, it's SO much better when using Dream Coat."
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Halo Purely For Pets VitaGlo™ Dream Coat® Meal Enhancement for Cats and Dogs -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CJ14564
fromUpstate NY
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Really Works
 July 29, 2013
"My dog gets seasonal allergies that really make him itch incessantly in the spring and late summer. He scratches himself and licks and chews at his paws non-stop. I purchased this after reading the great reviews and am so impressed with the results. My dog has been on it since March and he did not experience any springtime allergies, his incessant itching stopped and he only occasionally licks his paws but he no longer chews at them. I recently had him at his annual vet exam and his doctor was very skeptical when he looked up the ingredients. He even told me "well, wait until August." He even tried to recommend another product but I'm not about to stop using this when I have had such amazing results. If this continues to work throughout August I will be a buyer for life."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Halo Purely For Pets VitaGlo™ Dream Coat® Meal Enhancement for Cats and Dogs -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
arielbird
fromTucson, AZ
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Glossy, thick fur and no biting or licking
 July 27, 2013
"Our three cats (our oldest lived to be 22 or 23!) have been using this oil or its near-predecessor for their entire lives. For the "new" cats (adopted and fed since this formulation), the results were apparent within three weeks: thicker, glossier hair, without biting or licking at problem spots. Clearer eyes, healthier disposition.
I use the minimum amount added to their home-made pet food, and I think even if I fed them commercial processed food, they'd still be better off with this supplement added every day. I have heard it said that one should start slowly with kittens with less than a third of the minimum dosage to avoid diarrhea, but check with your vet first to see if this supplement is appropriate for sick or underfed cats.
"
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Halo Purely For Pets VitaGlo™ Dream Coat® Meal Enhancement for Cats and Dogs -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LizK413
fromKentucky
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Duration of use:30-60 days
Works fantastic for my pup
 July 23, 2013
"I bought this for my cat, who has very flaky skin. But I have a difficult time getting her to eat it. I can only mix in a few drops at a time, or she will not eat it. (I also use a dropper as a cap to keep dispensing simple.) So, I started giving it to my dog. He didn't really seem to have any skin or coat problems, so I didn't really expect much from it ... but WOW! His fur is super soft, now. I love snuggling with him! I'll continue to give drops to kitty as I can, but I have yet to see improvement in her coat. Still, I have to highly rate this product because of how wonderfully this has improved my dog's coat. I just mix it in with his dry food, and he happily eats it up!"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Halo Purely For Pets VitaGlo™ Dream Coat® Meal Enhancement for Cats and Dogs -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ScottieMom
fromMurphy, NC
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Wonderful supplement for my Scottie's coat & skin
 July 23, 2013
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"For several years, my Scottie had been suffering with skin issues. Since changing her diet and adding Dream Coat to her food for over two years now, her skin is in excellent condition and her fur is soft and shiny. Vitacost also offers the best price on Dream Coat."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Halo Purely For Pets VitaGlo™ Dream Coat® Meal Enhancement for Cats and Dogs -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Riley93
fromAnaheim, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:30-60 days
Healthy - Shiny Dog
 July 19, 2013
"This is my third bottle. My finicky Yorkie even likes the taste. Last year his hair was coming out in clumps and he just couldn't stop scratching all over. Now, his hair has grown back and it looks beautiful and shiny. His skin is not nearly as itchy as it was last year before we began adding VitaGlo Dream Coat. I will continue to purchase this product."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Halo Purely For Pets VitaGlo™ Dream Coat® Meal Enhancement for Cats and Dogs -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cutti05
fromMooers, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great, recommended product.
 July 7, 2013
"Not only does my dog LOVE the taste of this oil, but it creates a noticeable benefit with her fur. It is soft, full, doesn't shed, and luscious. An example: I was away for a couple months and the person watching my dog neglected the Dream Coat, but gave her fish oil instead. When I came home, I thought her fur felt light, not too soft, and she was shedding quite bad. I switched her back to the Dream Coat and there was such a profound, noticeable difference. Even the people watching her made a random comment of how great her fur felt. I highly recommend this product, both because it helps with your animals fur, and they love the taste."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Halo Purely For Pets VitaGlo™ Dream Coat® Meal Enhancement for Cats and Dogs -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Roslyn
fromRialto, Ca
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
This product is great for my dog
 June 7, 2013
"I have to say that after using different products and vitamins on my dog who has extremely dry rough smelly skin, i was skeptical about using Dream Coat. Little did I know that after a week of using Dream Coat my dog's skin showed dramatic changes, now she has beautiful soft skin and the smell is gone! and since we put the oil in her food, she loves eating!! I will never use anything else!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Halo Purely For Pets VitaGlo™ Dream Coat® Meal Enhancement for Cats and Dogs -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Momof5dogs1rabbit2babies
fromOrlando FL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
I love my dogs coat again.
 April 5, 2013
"My dog was having allergy problems and losing her hair. I had her shaved , purchased special soap for her. After several trips to the vet and purchasing different food. Supplementing her food with fish oil. Nothing seemed to work. I did my research online and found Dream Coat. Her hair is back and soft and shiny. I would recommend to anyone that has a dog with allergies. Just make sure you follow instructions and introduce slowly like the directions say and don't expect to work overnight it takes a good month before noticing difference."
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Halo Purely For Pets VitaGlo™ Dream Coat® Meal Enhancement for Cats and Dogs -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
OrgAnnic
fromNorth Carolina
Gender:Female
Pets refuse to eat this
 March 9, 2013
"I read the glowing remarks and maybe this is a good product but neither of my cats, fed in different rooms and different bowls for the occasion, would go for it. I tried putting this in some high end canned cat food and in their dry food. Finally, tried it alone and they treat it like kryptonite, sorry to say. Based on my experience I am not able to recommend it. Disappointing."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Halo Purely For Pets VitaGlo™ Dream Coat® Meal Enhancement for Cats and Dogs -- 16 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MarkTS
fromSaint Helens, OR
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Works well, with one solvable problem
 March 5, 2013
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"Halo Dream Coat has give our rescue pet Emmy a healthy coat. The one challenge we had was dispensing from the bottle. Pouring 1 teaspoon at a time and every time dealing with a drip down the side of the bottle could be an oily mess. This problem could be solved by either a perfect eyedropper in place of the lid. Our solution was a "Bottle-top Dispenser, 0.5-5ml, Clear Glass Bottle" purchased only. It takes all the challenge from it and 5 ml is almost exactly 1 teaspoon."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 next