Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

5-HTP(501)
Amino Acids(1,335)
Calcium(3,472)
CoQ10(2,376)
Coconut Oil(3,229)
EFAs(3,350)
Fish Oil(1,491)
Iron(515)
Krill Oil(737)
Magnesium(1,721)
Melatonin(1,029)
Multivitamins(10,940)
Omega-3(4,744)
Algae(747)
Bee Pollen(282)
Caffeine(35)
Celadrin(78)
Charcoal(81)
Chitosan(40)
Chlorella(139)
Choline(128)
Collagen(225)
Colostrum(174)
D-Mannose(47)
DHEA(381)
DMAE(76)
EFAs(107)
EpiCor(30)
FOS(2)
GABA(161)
GLA(7)
GPLC(27)
Gelatin(13)
Glycine(8)
HGH(43)
Iodine(44)
L-Lysine(153)
L-Theanine(202)
LPP(39)
Lecithin(228)
Lithium(3)
Lutein(332)
Lycopene(97)
MSM(375)
NADH(46)
Pectin(20)
Propolis(71)
Pycnogenol(136)
Quercetin(124)
RNA/DNA(2)
Red Wine(10)
Relora(2)
Silica(17)
Soy(78)
Taurine(79)
Yeast(72)
Probiotics(4,909)
SAMe(551)
Spirulina(85)
Vitamin A(134)
Vitamin B(4,515)
Vitamin C(2,659)
Vitamin D(2,394)
Vitamin E(470)
Vitamin K(264)
Whole Foods(1,223)
Zinc(350)
Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Lutein or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Lutein 20 mg with Zeaxanthin Featuring Lutemax® -- 240 Softgels

Provides important antioxidant nutrients for healthy vision.*. What is lutein? Lutein is a compound found in fruits and vegetables (especially dark leafy greens) and egg yolks. Lutein is a member of the carotenoid family. It is an antioxidant that can help protect healthy cells from free radical damage.*.  . Lutein is found naturally in the body concentrated in the macula of the eyes. The macula located in the center of the retina is responsible for producing the sharp central vision required to see fine detail (for reading sewing etc.). Lutein helps protect the macula by scavenging free radicals and filtering out potentially dangerous high-energy blue light and ultraviolet radiation.*. The body cannot make lutein on its own; it must be consumed through diet or supplements. Studies recommend obtaining 6 mg to 20 mg of lutein daily for eye health and antioxidant protection.* . How does lutein support health? Research shows higher plasma levels of lutein and zeaxanthin may be associated with macular health.*. Lutein protects healthy eye cells from free radical damage.*. Lutein helps protect the eyes by filtering out potentially dangerous high-energy blue light and ultraviolet radiation.*. Why choose Vitacost Lutein? Contains standardized extracts of lutein and zeaxanthin carotenoids with antioxidant activity.*. Standardization ensures consistent levels of active ingredients in each dose. Features Lutemax® a standardized extract of lutein from high-quality marigold flowers. Marigold flowers are one of the best sources of lutein. Provides 20 mg of lutein per 1-softgel serving. Provides 240 servings per bottle. About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  .  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.735 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(34 reviews) 21
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 34 reviews
5 Stars
25
4 Stars
9
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
0
33 out of 34(97%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Lutein 20 mg with Zeaxanthin Featuring Lutemax® -- 240 Softgels
Review 1 for Vitacost Lutein 20 mg with Zeaxanthin Featuring Lutemax® -- 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mutthead1
fromPendleton, S.C.
Age:75+
Gender:Male
Excellent product to prevent eye problems
 August 25, 2014
"Lutein helps improve blood flow to the eye especially the retina of the eye. This helps to prevent eye problems that occur to our aging. I have taken Lutein for over 20 years with good results and no known side effects."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Lutein 20 mg with Zeaxanthin Featuring Lutemax® -- 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1fearlessgrandma
Just right
 February 21, 2014
"This Vitacost product has all the beneficial properties suggested by my doctor. Being able to order my supplements online saves time, so I can always be available for my grandchildren. Bonus: it's the best value!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Lutein 20 mg with Zeaxanthin Featuring Lutemax® -- 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dimwitt
fromPlant City, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
 January 3, 2014
"Recommend by eye Dr."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Lutein 20 mg with Zeaxanthin Featuring Lutemax® -- 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TigerKingQueen
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Excellent product for my eyes' health
 December 18, 2013
"High quality product. Low cost with free shipping. High speed delivery."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Lutein 20 mg with Zeaxanthin Featuring Lutemax® -- 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mightymite
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Certainly helps
 November 3, 2013
"I've been using this for about 2 years or so. I still don't use glasses (or contacts) and I want to keep it that way. I make sure I get the right vitamins for my eyes - Vitacost makes a great product that I'll keep using."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Lutein 20 mg with Zeaxanthin Featuring Lutemax® -- 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
iamabeader
fromNC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
I like the small size capsule.
 April 2, 2013
"If you are looking for a easy to swallow capsule, this is the one to get. It goes down easy and has a larger amount of lutein than other capsules on the market."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Lutein 20 mg with Zeaxanthin Featuring Lutemax® -- 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
S2000
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Great product!
 March 20, 2013
"This product is easy to swallow."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Lutein 20 mg with Zeaxanthin Featuring Lutemax® -- 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
CTswimmer
fromCT
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Lutein
 March 18, 2013
"Preventative use of lutein is like taking vitamines. No one can tell if it helps."
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Lutein 20 mg with Zeaxanthin Featuring Lutemax® -- 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dakotah12
fromIndianapolis, IN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Physician
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
This product is a great buy!
 March 4, 2013
"Vitacost Lutein is the same product that I have bought retail but have experienced savings by buying online through Vitacost."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Lutein 20 mg with Zeaxanthin Featuring Lutemax® -- 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TigerKingandQueen
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Friend
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
Vitacost Lutein 20 mg with Zeaxanthin is so good
 January 1, 2013
"Vitacost Lutein 20 mg with Zeaxanthin Featuring Lutemax is indeed a very good product. It promotes my overall health and it's affordable for me and my family members to take daily."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Lutein 20 mg with Zeaxanthin Featuring Lutemax® -- 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
hacker
fromWashington State
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Lutein makes my work possible
 November 5, 2012
"After spending many years staring at computer monitors it became obvious that I had to do something with my vision. The first thing I found helpful was eyebright, but later I switched to bilberry and lutein.
My latest related experience is with astragalus which I started to take for other reasons but to my surprise it gave back a good amount of flexibility in my focusing. In the first six months my vision was not steadily good, but after that it became unexpectedly good all the time even in twilight."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Lutein 20 mg with Zeaxanthin Featuring Lutemax® -- 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Wolf29
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Rarely need reading glasses now
 August 8, 2012
"Don't know if it's coincidence but since I've been taking Lutein, I hardly have to wear my reading glasses unless the print is very small. Been taking the vitacost brand for a couple of years as it's the best value for the price."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Lutein 20 mg with Zeaxanthin Featuring Lutemax® -- 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Grannyem
fromCameron Park, CA
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:3-5 supplements daily
Referral source:Family Member
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Twice the Protection
 April 27, 2012
"My husband and I have been taking Lutein 20 mg for several years. I found Lutein 20 mg with Zeaxanthin in easy-to-swallow soft gels and we're getting double protection for our eyes!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Lutein 20 mg with Zeaxanthin Featuring Lutemax® -- 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
chidough
fromAustin, MN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Good Product
 December 28, 2011
"I am using this to promote eye health for my husband and me.
I'm not sure there is a way to tell if it is being effective.
"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Lutein 20 mg with Zeaxanthin Featuring Lutemax® -- 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
pias
fromca
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:61-180 days
 May 14, 2011
"good pice"
-1point
0of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Lutein 20 mg with Zeaxanthin Featuring Lutemax® -- 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
yohan55
fromsan francisco
Age:75+
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
lutein
 April 5, 2011
"it is difficult to evaluate any supplement product. you take it because you think it of value.there is no dramatic effect of any supplement product. the price and service is a great value"
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Lutein 20 mg with Zeaxanthin Featuring Lutemax® -- 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
artzystuf
fromCosta Rica
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great Value!
 March 5, 2011
"At Vitacost I pay about 15% of the price I pay here where I live. I will continue to buy from Vitacost whenever I can."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Lutein 20 mg with Zeaxanthin Featuring Lutemax® -- 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
XJ40
fromLiverpool, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:30-60 days
Excellent Product & Value
 May 7, 2010
"This is the most potent and least expensive source of Lutein that I've found and I have looked extensively. Highly recommended."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Lutein 20 mg with Zeaxanthin Featuring Lutemax® -- 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
drdb
fromColumbus, Ohio
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
Daily supplement usage:6+ supplements daily
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Enhanced performance
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Works!
 October 7, 2009
"My eyesight is noticeably better (sharper, more vivid colors) when I use this product. Using beta-Carotene also seems to give even more improvement."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Lutein 20 mg with Zeaxanthin Featuring Lutemax® -- 240 Softgels
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
glennord
good purchase and great buy
 October 5, 2009
"As with anything it takes time to tell, i have not been on it long but i can tell a difference, my eyes are starting to feel stronger, and can read those small road signs alot better.
and this is a great buy and easy to take."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 next