Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Coconut Oil or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil - Non-GMO -- 54 fl oz

Certified organic non-GMO coconut oil. Cold pressed without the use of heat or chemicals and packaged in BPA-free jars. What is coconut oil? Coconut oil is natural substance obtained from fresh coconuts. It’s versatile and can be used as a butter substitute baking ingredient or as a high-heat cooking oil. It’s also popular for skin/body/hair purposes.  . How does coconut oil support health?  . Approximately 60 percent of coconut oil is comprised of medium-chain triglycerides (MCTs) but unlike other triglycerides (which mainly contain long chain fatty acids) MCTs may be beneficial to human health.* . Why choose Vitacost Coconut Oil Extra Virgin? ·         Made from certified organic coconuts. Cold pressed without heat or chemicals. Non-GMO. Kosher. Packaged in BPA-free jar. Superior quality at a great value! .  . About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.  .  .  
Overall rating:
4.902 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(2622 reviews) 2364
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 2,622 reviews
5 Stars
2,419
4 Stars
167
3 Stars
23
2 Stars
7
1 Star
6
2,598 out of 2,622(99%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil - Non-GMO -- 54 fl oz
Review 1 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil - Non-GMO -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kristenia
Great value
 April 27, 2015
"I use coconut oil for just about everything from food to skincare and this is a great deal for such a large quantity. Highly recommend."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil - Non-GMO -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Mamabearer
Try a different brand
 April 25, 2015
"I purchased this thinking it was organic and safe for use, but when adding it to certain liquids and blending I noticed a lot of foam. It seems there is some sort of surfactant in this product and I can no longer use it for food. Disappointed in the Vitacost brand."
-2points
0of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil - Non-GMO -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DecentMct
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Great tub of coconut goodness
 April 25, 2015
"I've bought many jars/brands and this one compares with the best of those at a fraction of the price. It's one of the things that still holds it value when converted Into Canadian currency."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil - Non-GMO -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cornejo
fromFlorida
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
The product is awesome
 April 24, 2015
"It has a better cheaper price than in the retail stores, and it has a great quality."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil - Non-GMO -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Jerbob
fromBayfield,WI
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
good except plastic container
 April 24, 2015
"my 1st use of coconut oil. I like the product,but wish it was in a glass container. I'm not sure if coconut oil is acidic enough to leach toxins out of plastic container"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil - Non-GMO -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Slbhanna
fromNew Kensington
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Outstanding
 April 6, 2015
"Since I began making coconut oil lotion recently for myself and extended family, I am very thankful that this product is available in the 54oz size because they can't get enough of it. When I read the benefits of using it in the diet and cooking with it, I ordered jars for my family as well. I didn't think mashed potatoes could get better, but they sure do using this in place of butter. Try it...you'll love it!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil - Non-GMO -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ashkel
fromMetuchen, NJ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Great value
 April 5, 2015
"My whole family cooks with this product, so this size is perfect and a great value. Its pure and mild coconut flavor is delicious."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil - Non-GMO -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GFconnie
fromupstate ny
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great value
 April 4, 2015
"Lovely oil that does everything the more expensive alternatives do. VERY SATISFIED. I use daily for sautéing, greasing a baking dish, and on my rough skin as needed."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil - Non-GMO -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HappyintheVI
fromSt. John VI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Flavor like homemade coconut oil
 April 3, 2015
"Good taste/flavor, Great price, cheap shipping, set and save rocks!!!
Savings are good for the budget in a high cost of living area.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil - Non-GMO -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BAS26
fromNo Name, Colorado
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
best value around!
 April 3, 2015
"We use this daily in skin care, cooking, weight loss, dogs dinner, oil pulling. So many uses!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil - Non-GMO -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
doglady13
Great value
 April 2, 2015
"This is by far my favorite coconut oil. It always arrives fresh, it tastes great, and is a fairly good price point. They did just raise the price on this product, but you can sometimes get it at a discount when they have a sale. It has been wonderful for cooking, as well as making homemade body/bath products."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil - Non-GMO -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
N2equality55
fromAshevillE, NC
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
The BEST you can buy!
 March 31, 2015
"I use this for everything! Cooking, smoothies, hair, face, body, nails! I mean this is definitely a staple at my home. I Even 'hipped' my Gastro Dr. To the awesomeness of coconut oil! You can't go wrong with this product or getting it from Vitacost!"
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil - Non-GMO -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1sassysal50
fromCleveland, Ohio
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Tastes Great
 March 30, 2015
"This product tastes great. I use it to saute, stir fry and on steamed vegetables instead of butter. I also mix a spoonful in my morning coffee before I add the creamer. I has a wonderful coconut flavor."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil - Non-GMO -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
kate61
fromWilkes Barre Pa
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Coconut oil
 March 30, 2015
"This product is very good for cooking almost anything and add flavor that other oils do not have. I don't do alot of frying but it also is very good in an electric frying leaving a nice crisp outside while the inside is very flavorful."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil - Non-GMO -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Oceanist
fromSanta Monica, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
excellent coconut oil
 March 29, 2015
"This stuff is great. Use it for cooking fish, dab it into my oatmeal, slather it on my freshly showered skin. Has a tendency to liquify when the weather is warm, so approach with caution during the hot days."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil - Non-GMO -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Anonymous
fromAlabama
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Best oil at the best price
 March 28, 2015
"I have tried several coconut oils but always keep coming back to this one. It smells fresh and pure and the taste is wonderful! I recently found another brand at our Sam's and tried it since it was a little cheaper. The smell was off so here I am back to my favorite. We used it in cooking, oil pulling ,toothpaste, deep oil treatment for hair, lotion and skin care, and making salves and chapsticks. This is my favorite brand for all!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil - Non-GMO -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PEFFY
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
I use this coconut oil for my daily oil pull.
 March 28, 2015
"This is a lot of coconut oil at a good price. It's organic and I use it daily for my oil pull."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil - Non-GMO -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
gusgrl
fromeastern Iowa
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
great product great price
 March 26, 2015
"love the organic coconut oil. we use it when making popcorn, for baking, in my oatmeal, etc. we highly recommend this product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil - Non-GMO -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ScoSny
fromClifton Park, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Delicious and at a great price!
 March 26, 2015
"I was a little skeptical when I noticed how inexpensive this product was. I have been paying $49.00 for a similar product at my local green grocer. After reading all of the positive reviews, I decided to purchase a jar & compare it to my local product. Well, it compares extremely well! I will be buying my extra virgin coconut oil from Vitacost from now on."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil - Non-GMO -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Downeastbecka
fromFranklin, me
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Delicious and nutritious!
 March 26, 2015
"We use this delicately flavored oil for everything, from baking and sauteing to body lotion and deodorant! Very good price for organic coconut oil..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 119 next