Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Coconut Oil or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil -- 54 fl oz

Certified organic non-GMO coconut oil. Cold pressed without the use of heat or chemicals and packaged in BPA-free jars. What is coconut oil? Coconut oil is natural substance obtained from fresh coconuts. It’s versatile and can be used as a butter substitute baking ingredient or as a high-heat cooking oil. It’s also popular for skin/body/hair purposes.  . How does coconut oil support health? Approximately 60 percent of coconut oil is comprised of medium-chain triglycerides (MCTs) but unlike other triglycerides (which mainly contain long chain fatty acids) MCTs may be beneficial to human health.* . Why choose Vitacost Coconut Oil Extra Virgin? Made from certified organic coconuts. Cold pressed without heat or chemicals. Non-GMO. Packaged in BPA-free jar. Superior quality at a great value! . About Vitacost. Vitacost nutritional products are manufactured to high standards of quality efficacy and safety. Each Vitacost product meets or exceeds the standards and requirements set forth in the FDA’s Code of Federal Regulation (21 CFR 111) Current Good Manufacturing Practices (CGMP).  . *These statements have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration.  This product is not intended to diagnose treat cure or prevent any disease.
Overall rating:
4.905 / 5
4.9
 / 
5
(2274 reviews) 2033
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 2,274 reviews
5 Stars
2,102
4 Stars
142
3 Stars
21
2 Stars
5
1 Star
4
2,256 out of 2,274(99%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil -- 54 fl oz
Review 1 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Bhindbblueyes
fromDenali, Alaska
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great everyday oil
 July 29, 2014
"I use this oil for everything--moisturizer, oil pulling, hair care, cooking, and it's about the best coconut oil I can find for the value. Slight coconut flavor, and really good consistency. I highly recommend it."
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
UncleJaque
fromMonmouth, Maine USA
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
Great quality product at good value in 54 oz. size
 July 29, 2014
Reviewer Images
User submitted photo
"Melts at body temp - In Summer I put the jug out in the sun and let it liquify, then decant it in recycled glass pint containers for storage.
Use for home made medicinal herbal preparations recipes and cooking.
Can be used as substitute for butter or margarine.
Excellent for popcorn; movie theaters used to use it until government banned it.
In dishes where I don't want the coconut flavor or aroma we use the refined oil.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Brooke28
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Best value of real coconut oil
 July 28, 2014
"This is by far the best value of real virgin coconut oil. There are some brands out there claiming their oil is virgin but it is clearly refined and tastes of chemicals!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Brook607
fromNew York, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Tasty
 July 28, 2014
"I love coconuts. I love the taste, the look, and the aroma. This is my first time trying coconut oil, so I can't compare this brand with others. Vitacost brand has a great coconut aroma and mild coconut taste. It is delicious. I used it to saute vegetables, and they tasted so good. It's a nice change from using olive oil."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AverageMom
fromFlorida
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Wonderful product!!!
 July 25, 2014
"I can't say enough how great this product is! From the very first time I used it - complete heaven! Purchased originally for my skin and hair - I have also been using it for cooking. My skin is amazingly soft and my hair feels wonderful after my Coconut Treatment - I also use it on my daughters' hair - and it is completely transformed into soft flowing, easy to brush and moisturized locks - all three of the girls (teen and pre-teens) have very long hair. And the smell is mild, yet so remarkable. If you've been on the fence about trying this product - I say "get off the fence"! You'll be glad you did! And the prices on VitaCost are very affordable - especially considering the quality of the products!"
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Pennypinchingpaleo
fromMurfreesboro, Tennessee
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Affordable & quality
 July 25, 2014
"I love cooking with coconut oil and this product delivers quality at an affordable cost. I stock up and buy two and the shipping is free! Thanks Vitacost! :-)"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
rbeadle
fromChicago, IL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
great quality - love large 54 oz. size
 July 24, 2014
"Use coconut oil for everything - skin, cooking...the quality of Vita Cost virgin organic coconut oil is excellent. doesn't need refrigeration."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
GarethPA
fromStroudsburg, PA
I LOVE THIS STUFF!
 July 23, 2014
"Vitacost Coconut Oil is awesome. I use it in place of most other cooking oils."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
AZRedHead
fromEloy, AZ
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great way to start the day!
 July 21, 2014
"I'm adding this to my ersatz latte/cappucino using a blender. Coffee, coconut milk, keto slim protein powder, and a tablespoon of coconut oil (I'm ready to up it to 2 tablespoons). This is how I start my day with a protein and coconut oil boost."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sandibo
fromWisconsin
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
This product is equivlent to top name brands.
 July 20, 2014
"I have been swishing with unrefined coconut oil daily and taking 3 tablespoons a day for good health. The quality of the oil is important for purity, taste and texture. I found this Vitacost product to be comparable to the top brands that are 3 times the cost and not available in a larger container."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
YoSamiJo
fromPlano, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
My go-to coconut oil.
 July 19, 2014
"Organic, BPA-free, great texture and delicious flavor. The price is the best around (I've looked around a lot...)
I use it mostly in my raw "baking," and everyone who's tried my goodies has asked if there was coconut in it, commenting they liked the flavor.
Not switching brands on this item anytime soon!
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kvsall
fromCalifornia
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Excellent coconut oil
 July 17, 2014
"I've tried a number of brands of organic coconut oil. This product is my favorite. I use it on my skin after my shower and for oil pulling orally. It is easy to put on and quick soaks in. The other brands are harder to get out of jar, this one is almost fluffy."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rikkismama
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Excellent
 July 17, 2014
"Use this in place of butter and oil. Use it to fry, bake and even to butter my toast. Has great flavor"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
AmDe77
Best quality and price!
 July 17, 2014
"You will not find a better deal on coconut oil anywhere! Trust me, I have searched long and hard!!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Franiece
fromPelican Rapids, MN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
I use it everyday!
 July 15, 2014
"I have been buying this product for years now. It is by far the best tasting and best value of all the other brands I've tried. An added bonus is the free shipping I get when I spend $25 on Vitacost brand products!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
EarthyMother
Too much of a good thing? I think not!
 July 15, 2014
"When you discover all the benefits of coconut oil, you might realize that you want a lot of the right stuff! Here it is!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Jeanet
fromSanta Rosa, CA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
I love this organic, non GMO, healthy product.
 July 13, 2014
"This oil is good for all sorts of cooking. I use it to fry an eggs or a steak, to sauté vegetables or in Chinese stir fry, to bake a cake or other deserts, its use is endless. It is delicious in not just oriental dishes, this healthy oil adds flavor to most foods.
I keep a jar in my camping gear or in my emergency pack for cooking and when it is cold, I swallow a spoonful to warm me up.
I also like to use it on my skin. It has no added chemicals and it leaves my skin in better condition than most moisturizers."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Saramarie33
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
excellent
 July 11, 2014
"I use this for cooking all the time and for making desserts. It's super!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Glade
fromTroy, OH
Age:55-64
Great organic coconut oil
 July 9, 2014
"This product is great value for organic cold pressed
coconut oil. I use it for everything from cooking eggs to
salad dressing or baking cakes. It has a delicate flavor.
I have used this oil every day for almost 3 years.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Vitacost Extra Virgin Certified Organic Coconut Oil -- 54 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sweetsmiley721
fromCharlotte, NC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
So many uses!
 July 9, 2014
"I use his proud to for so many things! Moisturizer, to eye make up remover to cooking, it's so versatile!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
1 2 3 4 5 ... 102 next