Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Conditioner or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Shea Butter Conditioner with Wheat Protein and Vanilla Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz

New & Improved Formula. Repairing. Desert Essence Shea Butter Conditioner restores strength and luster to dry/damaged hair. Shea Butter provides intense moisturization while Wheat Protein helps strengthen the hair shaft. Murumuru Seed Butter is full of vitamins and minerals that impart shine and fight frizz. Vanilla Cactus helps soothe a dry scalp.  . Desert Essence Hydrating Shea Butter is a West African treasure extracted from Shea Tree nuts grown in protected and ecologically responsible areas of the African Savannah. These protected rare and exotic trees reach maturity only after 40 years of sustained growth. Shea Butter helps maintain moisture in dry brittle hair working to repair and revitalize preventing breakage and split ends.  . Beauty Blooms in the Desert.
Overall rating:
4.462 / 5
4.5
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 11
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
11
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
1
11 out of 13(85%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Shea Butter Conditioner with Wheat Protein and Vanilla Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Review 1 for Desert Essence Shea Butter Conditioner with Wheat Protein and Vanilla Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
OnWaldenTablet
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Another winner from Desert Essence
 December 30, 2013
"Nice scent, great ingredients, I have yet to find a Desert Essence product I do not like.
This is a lighter scented conditioner than the Prickly Pear one."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desert Essence Shea Butter Conditioner with Wheat Protein and Vanilla Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HealthConsciousCustomer
fromWashington DC
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Smells wonderful and best moisturizer!
 December 25, 2013
"I really love this product -- I have tried many different Shea conditioners and this not only works the best, it smells amazing (kinda citrusy.)"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desert Essence Shea Butter Conditioner with Wheat Protein and Vanilla Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ibaibez
fromGilbert, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
LOVE THIS!!
 May 14, 2013
"Desert Essence is hands down my FAVORITE non chemical shampoos and conditioners. I love this one and their coconut conditioner. I usually mix the two together (my hair gets DRY) and it works great! I have been searching through MANY non chemical shampoos and conditioners and this is one I am sticking with"
+2points
3of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desert Essence Shea Butter Conditioner with Wheat Protein and Vanilla Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Cade
fromQLD, Australia
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Poor for detangling.
 December 21, 2012
"The fragrance and texture of this conditioner were fine, but I found after rinsing my hair was so tangled I was having difficulty brushing through my moderately long hair without doing considerable damage. I ended up using 90% of the bottle as a shave cream, for which it worked great!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desert Essence Shea Butter Conditioner with Wheat Protein and Vanilla Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aduial
fromEl Cajon, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Heavy Greasy Conditioner
 May 3, 2012
"In theory this is a great product, in reality, it fails to deliver for people with longer than shoulder-length hair. It leaves a residue and weigh my hair down. I have thick, wavy, light brown hair."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desert Essence Shea Butter Conditioner with Wheat Protein and Vanilla Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
TJAZ
fromPage, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Like this
 December 21, 2011
"This is a really nice Conditioner. Gives the hair a soft feel. Not heavy. Smells nice."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desert Essence Shea Butter Conditioner with Wheat Protein and Vanilla Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
NinaJ
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Very good
 December 8, 2011
"Rich, but light. I double condition (meaning I put it on once, rinse, and do it again) because my hair is extremely thick, and by doing this I get the best result. My hair feels like I just went to the salon."
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desert Essence Shea Butter Conditioner with Wheat Protein and Vanilla Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Venicegirl
fromVenice, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Great Moisturizing
 August 25, 2010
"I have naturally curly dry hair and this along with it's coordinating conditioner are excellent!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desert Essence Shea Butter Conditioner with Wheat Protein and Vanilla Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Swirls2Curls
fromATL
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Duration of use:30-60 days
Quality product/Great results
 January 21, 2010
"Another conditioner that I mix with water and oils for a roller set. It is rich but light at the same time. I am very frugal, so it is not the best value for only 12 oz, but I will repurchase because it is a great product."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Desert Essence Shea Butter Conditioner with Wheat Protein and Vanilla Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
nursejeanette
fromNJ
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:30-60 days
 September 7, 2009
"I really like the way it conditions my fried hair without weighing it down. This is one of the few conditioners that actually works. I am hooked on this line of products."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Desert Essence Shea Butter Conditioner with Wheat Protein and Vanilla Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
WordSmooth
fromDallas, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Luxurious
 February 4, 2009
"This is my all time favorite conditioner for curly hair. I have wavy red hair and my sons are half white/half black with curly hair. We all use it because it is the only conditioner that really leaves our hair smooth, shiny and not at all dry."
+6points
7of 8voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Desert Essence Shea Butter Conditioner with Wheat Protein and Vanilla Cactus -- 12.9 fl oz
Based on the average of (2) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
2 out of 2 recommend this product