Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Shea Butter Shampoo Repairing -- 12.9 fl oz

With Wheat Protein and Vanilla Cactus. DESERT ESSENCE Shea Butter Shampoo is essential for dry or processed hair. Shea Butter provides intense moisture to dry hair. Wheat protein easily penetrates the hair shaft to bind hair's inner fibers making hair smooth and shiny. It also helps strengthen the hair strand. Vanilla Cactus helps to soothe a dry scalp.  . DESERT ESSENCE Hydrating Shea Butter is a West African treasure extracted from Shea Tree nuts grown in protected and ecologically responsible areas of the African Savannah. These protected rare and exotic trees reach maturity only after 40 years of sustained growth. Shea Butter helps maintain moisture in dry brittle hair working to repair and revitalize preventing breakage and split ends. It is particularly beneficial to processed or heat damaged hair.  . Beauty Blooms in the Desert.
Overall rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(10 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 10 reviews
5 Stars
3
4 Stars
4
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
1
1 Star
2
7 out of 10(70%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Shea Butter Shampoo Repairing -- 12.9 fl oz
Review 1 for Desert Essence Shea Butter Shampoo Repairing -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cimmerman
fromPrinceton MN
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Love this!
 May 23, 2014
"Just started using this product and it is fabulous. It smells delicious and you don't need to use much. It glides through your hair very nicely."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desert Essence Shea Butter Shampoo Repairing -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
OnWaldenTablet
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Very good shampoo from a reliable company
 December 30, 2013
"This is a good solid shampoo for the rotation, but nothing spectacular. I do recommend it and I will reorder it in the future.
We use 4 brands of personal care products - Desert Essence, Aubrey Organics, Acure Organics, and Dr. Bronner's. We like to have a variety of lotion scents and different types of shampoos and conditioners, as it is good for the scalp and body."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desert Essence Shea Butter Shampoo Repairing -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sassa
fromSouth Dakota
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
This is my favorite shampoo.
 December 28, 2013
"This shampoo is great for my sensitive skin and it leaves my hair soft and with great shine."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desert Essence Shea Butter Shampoo Repairing -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meital
fromIsrael
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Worst Shampoo I ever tried..
 December 27, 2012
"Worst Shampoo I ever tried.. Leaves the hair dry like straw (though it claims to repair hair.. after a while of use my hair is dryer than it used to be and I feel it sheds much more than it used to."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desert Essence Shea Butter Shampoo Repairing -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
kupkake
Disappointed
 May 23, 2012
"This product left my hair feeling dry and stiff"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desert Essence Shea Butter Shampoo Repairing -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Aduial
fromEl Cajon, CA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Below average shampoo
 May 3, 2012
"In theory this is a great product, in reality, it fails to deliver for people with longer than shoulder-length hair. It does not suds up or make your hair feel clean. When used with the conditioner, they both leave a residue and weigh my hair down. I have thick, wavy, light brown hair."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desert Essence Shea Butter Shampoo Repairing -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Balancing162
fromThe Hot and Steamy Gulf Coast
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Strong Scent
 February 19, 2012
"The smell reminds me of the liquid antibiotic drops your veterinarian gives your sick kitten! A combination of bubble gum and cotton candy? Okay for desert, but not very appealing for shampoo. Also, the product is very, very thick, making it a bit hard to distrubute through my own thick hair. I know shampoo doesn't have to lather a lot to be effective, so that quality wasn't so much an issue. Probably better for shorter, thinner hair."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desert Essence Shea Butter Shampoo Repairing -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
TJAZ
fromPage, AZ
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Nice Product
 December 21, 2011
"I like this shampoo. Good moisturizing. Nice smell. My hair is kinda picky so it's not the best. Would recommend to someone who just needs a bit of moisture but not much."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desert Essence Shea Butter Shampoo Repairing -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
NinaJ
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
So-so product
 December 8, 2011
"Not bad for being so healthy for you, but it really doesn't feel extraordinary. Does nothing for my constantly tangled hair, but I love that it doesn't have any bad stuff in it. Definitely use with the (much more amazing) conditioner."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Desert Essence Shea Butter Shampoo Repairing -- 12.9 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
QueenbBrandy
fromHuntsville, AL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Great Shampoo
 November 13, 2011
"it leaves my natural hair soft and curly. I just wished it had a more feminine smell. I use an oil sheen for fragrance."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.