Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Facial Wash or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash with Eco Harvest™ Tea Tree Oil And Sea Kelp -- 8.5 fl oz

Normal Skin. Vegan. Gluten Free. Paraben Free. This gentle and unique cleansing solution leaves your skin feeling clean and silky. Eco-Harvest Tea Tree Oil a known antiseptic leaves skin feeling thoroughly clean. Echinacea and Licorice Root extracts work with potent anit-oxidant rich Green and White Tea extracts to soothe and protect the skin. Mineral rich Sea Kelp harvested from the sea nourishes the skin to leave it looking vibrantly healthy. Regular use ever so gently helps improve the texture clarity and radiance of your skin.
Overall rating:
4.341 / 5
4.3
 / 
5
(41 reviews) 37
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 41 reviews
5 Stars
28
4 Stars
5
3 Stars
5
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
38 out of 41(93%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash with Eco Harvest™ Tea Tree Oil And Sea Kelp -- 8.5 fl oz
Review 1 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash with Eco Harvest™ Tea Tree Oil And Sea Kelp -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
lunacat
Favorite face wash
 March 3, 2014
"The scent smells really good. I almost want to eat it. It leaves skin feeling clean, and a bottle lasts for awhile since only a small dab of soap is needed."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash with Eco Harvest™ Tea Tree Oil And Sea Kelp -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Sofaking77
fromSeattle, WA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Smell was a turn off
 February 19, 2014
"I tried this face wash and the smell reminded me of the shampoo you get with hair dye. I love Desert Essence products but if you're sensitive to smells, shy away from this one. I don't think I can even mix oils into the bottle to make it smell better."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash with Eco Harvest™ Tea Tree Oil And Sea Kelp -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
DuKirps
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Milder and has a better scent.
 February 8, 2014
"This one with Eco Harvest is much better than the other one for oily skin. It's milder and has a better scent. Does the job just as well of course. I just wish it came in a bigger bottle like the other one does. Still, it's a great value for money and I'd pick this over any other face wash."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash with Eco Harvest™ Tea Tree Oil And Sea Kelp -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ChristineN
frommidwest
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Amazing Product!
 January 31, 2014
"First of all, I use a lot of Desert Essence products and have yet to ever be disappointed. I was again so pleased with this particular product I had to share my thoughts....
I have combo skin and being 45, I need something that will not dry out my skin. This face wash is heavenly! It removed all my make up without stripping the natural moisture from my face and the fragrance is so nice. I love it!!
Thank you DE for another product I can feel good about using that actually works!! I will be a customer for life. :)
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash with Eco Harvest™ Tea Tree Oil And Sea Kelp -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JNS0204
fromNew Jersey
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Love it!
 October 29, 2013
"I love the smell and the way to it feels on my face. It really does a great job cleaning and not drying my skin out."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash with Eco Harvest™ Tea Tree Oil And Sea Kelp -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
chocoyeah
AWFUL smell - left film
 October 20, 2013
"I was looking to replace another Tea Tree face wash only because it didn't have as many natural ingredients as I would prefer...so I decided to try this. This smelled Rancid ...used it about 5 times and threw it away..I could compare the smell to the inside of a vitamin e capsule...and to top it off my skin never felt clean afterwards...would NOT recommend...maybe I got a bad batch because this smelled nothing like tea tree oil."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash with Eco Harvest™ Tea Tree Oil And Sea Kelp -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
ltnt
fromMontpelier, ID
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Smelly good?
 August 6, 2013
"I think this is awesome for your skin but it has a weird texture and I do not like the smell. I do however like the results from using it. I think my skin loves it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash with Eco Harvest™ Tea Tree Oil And Sea Kelp -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
7HillsGirl
fromSeven Hills, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Just ok
 July 27, 2013
"I have been using Avalon Organics Cleansing Gel (on this site) for years and thought I'd try something new. After washing with this, my face feels squeaky clean, which means the natural oils were stripped off. I thought it'd be ok, but I'm noticing breakouts now that I never got before. I will switch back to the Avalon Organics when this is gone."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash with Eco Harvest™ Tea Tree Oil And Sea Kelp -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
bebeatrice
fromMichigan City, In
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Recommended for oily skin
 July 11, 2013
"I have combination skin and only use this on oily areas. However, if you have dry skin, it will dry it up even more, so you have to use it cautiously. Personally, I prefer Derma e's tea tree oil and vitamin e face and bodywash for my type of skin, but like I just mentioned, this stuff is really great for oily skin."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash with Eco Harvest™ Tea Tree Oil And Sea Kelp -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
svan3
fromOklahoma
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Works great, smells wonderful!
 June 8, 2013
"I really like the desert essence Eco harvest tea tree oil and sea kelp face wash. To me it smells just like the Plumeria scent from a major bath and body retailer. Guys may not appreciate the smell but it doesn't linger.
Doesn't seem as drying as the original tea tree desert essence face wash.
"
+6points
6of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash with Eco Harvest™ Tea Tree Oil And Sea Kelp -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Rexie87
fromKalamazoo, MI
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
WOW!
 June 3, 2013
"This product has totally blown me away. I have tried multiple different products (Neutrogena, Proactiv, Clinique). Nothing was working. Finally I decided all these toxic chemical's weren't worth it, especially since I wasn't seeing results. I have been using this for 1 week and my acne is almost GONE! I cannot rave about this product enough. If you have acne- don't even think twice- order this product!"
+10points
10of 10voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash with Eco Harvest™ Tea Tree Oil And Sea Kelp -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Nvme212
fromNew York, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
So fresh and so clean
 May 30, 2013
"So I am 31 and have had acne for a long long time :( about 4 months ago I purchased this product and started using it daily but also adding some suger (as a scrub)and cleaned my face and OMG my face has cleared up dramatically. Ppl ask me all the time what am I doing. Before bed I was my face with the wash and a teaspoon of sugar and after its dry I use actual Tea tree oil on a cotton swab and dab any pimples or marks ( they also sell the greatest tea tree oil- Desert Essence ) try it for yourself it works :)"
+3points
4of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash with Eco Harvest™ Tea Tree Oil And Sea Kelp -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
UMfan
fromAnn Arbor, MI
Age:55-64
Gender:Male
great product
 May 4, 2013
"The product leaves my face clean without drying it out."
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash with Eco Harvest™ Tea Tree Oil And Sea Kelp -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
KWright
fromLa Marque, TX
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Product has Improved!
 April 26, 2013
"I have a large face wash bottle for refills from years ago. This Desert Essence smells much better, great after feel from washing and the bottle has quite a unique top to it. Overall, very satisfied with this Tree tea and sea kelp version!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash with Eco Harvest™ Tea Tree Oil And Sea Kelp -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
SARATOGAN
fromSARATOGA SPRINGS, NY
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
THE ESSENTIAL
 April 14, 2013
"DESERT ESSENCE FACE WASH WITH TEA TREE OIL AND SEA KELP IS THE BEST FACIAL CLEANSER I HAVE EVER USED. WITH SENSITIVE SKIN, OTHER PRODUCTS HAVE BEEN UNSATISFACTORY EITHER BECAUSE OF ALLERGIC REACTIONS OR SKIN IRRITATION. THIS PRODUCT, HOWEVER, HAS IMPROVED MY SKIN IN TEXTURE, TONE, CLARITY AND VIBRANCY. IT IS THE ONLY CLEANSER I'LL USE!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash with Eco Harvest™ Tea Tree Oil And Sea Kelp -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JesseO84
fromLawrence, KS
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
I enjoy but...
 April 9, 2013
"I gave it five stars but honestly it would be perfect if it smelled a little less strongly."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash with Eco Harvest™ Tea Tree Oil And Sea Kelp -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
healthconciousmom
fromSouthern IL
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good for teenage breakouts
 March 22, 2013
"My 13 and 15 year-old use this face wash and it helps to keep their acne to a minimum."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash with Eco Harvest™ Tea Tree Oil And Sea Kelp -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
MMcDole
fromIndianapolis, Indiana
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Great Smell, Weird Feel
 February 18, 2013
"I like the fact that this product is very natural. The ingredients are easily understood for the most part, and the bottle is a pretty good size. The consistency is very thin, but as long as you start scrubbing your hands together right after you pump, it will bubble up just fine. I really like the smell, it is different, the only thing about this face wash is the feel it leaves. It almost feels like when you wash your face with a bar of soap (very squeaky, a little filmy). When I dry my face off with the towel the feeling goes away a bit, face just feels a bit dry (when I follow up with jojoba oil as moisturizer - it feels just fine), but be forewarned that your face will feel squeaky immediately after use!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash with Eco Harvest™ Tea Tree Oil And Sea Kelp -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Looneymom
fromVirginia Beach, VA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Love this face wash
 February 8, 2013
"I am so glad I tried this product. I used the original face wash at first and really liked it, but this makes my skin feel amazingly soft and silky, oh and clean! It gets every drop of my make up off too, including my mascara. Just be careful not to get it in your eyes!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Desert Essence Thoroughly Clean™ Face Wash with Eco Harvest™ Tea Tree Oil And Sea Kelp -- 8.5 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
pitzi
fromNYC
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
don't buy this unless you wear stage makeup
 February 2, 2013
"It does clean the face but it feels like an industrial cleaner and the skin feels so dry afterwards. It also stings the eyes seriously."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
1 2 next