Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Deodorant or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Desert Essence Deodorant Chamomile and Calendula -- 2.5 oz

With Chamomile and Calendula. Long-Lasting Protection. Propylene Glycol & Aluminum Free. Effective deodorant protection from an exclusive blend of pure botanical extracts and oils. Used daily this soothing stick neutralizes odor with healthy fresh scented essential oils of Chamomile and Calendula.
Overall rating:
3.308 / 5
3.3
 / 
5
(13 reviews) 13
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 13 reviews
5 Stars
7
4 Stars
0
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
0
1 Star
5
7 out of 13(54%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Desert Essence Deodorant Chamomile and Calendula -- 2.5 oz
Review 1 for Desert Essence Deodorant Chamomile and Calendula -- 2.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Gazelle21
This stuff is great
 October 11, 2013
"I've been using this for years and, I can tell you, this product truly lives up to it's name. I've tried many others, but this is the one that REALLY WORKS!!!!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Desert Essence Deodorant Chamomile and Calendula -- 2.5 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
whitespoon
fromNew York, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Radical change for the worse.
 September 20, 2013
"This was a great product until they recently changed the formula. Now it goes on white, foams and is sticky. I hope DE returns to the previous formula with the translucent stick and no white sticky foam."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Desert Essence Deodorant Chamomile and Calendula -- 2.5 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Balancing162
fromThe Hot and Steamy Gulf Coast
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Sticky Stick
 September 1, 2012
"I love Desert Essence so I tried their Chamomile and Calendula deodorant, a combo I use in another brand that has been good for me. It was such a DISAPPOINTMENT! It goes on okay, but almost immediately feels STICKY. And, it stays that way all day - yuk! I gave it several tries on different days, thinking it could be my "yard work deodorant" even, but the creepy feeling was too distracting. I ended up throwing it away."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Desert Essence Deodorant Chamomile and Calendula -- 2.5 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Ilirien
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Great product...up until they "improved" it
 June 29, 2012
"I have been using this deodorant for years and loved it. Now it seems they've reformulated - I purchased a new stick recently and ever since, my underarms have been irritated, stinging and itchy. In addition, the deordorizing properties of the product are no longer as effective as it was, so now I stink and I itch...really not what I'm looking for in a deodorant. I'm very sorry to have to find a new deodorant now."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Desert Essence Deodorant Chamomile and Calendula -- 2.5 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
dcrf
fromMassachusetts
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Changed ingredients not as effective
 April 9, 2012
"I have been using this deoderant for quite a while and had loved it until now. last time I ordered was well over a year ago because I got several at once.
So I came back and reordered some more. It is not as effective and I wondered why. THE INGREDIENTS HAVE CHANGED. It is no longer the same product I love.
I am very disappointed.
"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Desert Essence Deodorant Chamomile and Calendula -- 2.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
cookiesmom
fromRural Missouri
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Effective and harmless
 December 21, 2010
"This is a very good deodorant, and a moderately good anti-perspirant, with good ingredients. I have used it for years, with no complaints. It even soothes razor burn or heat rash!"
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Desert Essence Deodorant Chamomile and Calendula -- 2.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
healthwriter
fromCT
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Keeps Me Dry
 February 19, 2010
"This product doesn't have a noticeable scent which is nice. And, it really works. It keeps my underarm area dry. I wish it didn't contain propylene glycol, but am glad it doesn't have aluminum and all of the other ingredients are natural."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Desert Essence Deodorant Chamomile and Calendula -- 2.5 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
duke182716
fromgillette, WY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:30-60 days
I did not care for this deoterant
 February 12, 2010
"Feels sticky and gets worse the more you sweat. I won't be buying this again."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Desert Essence Deodorant Chamomile and Calendula -- 2.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
susi2susiq
Effective and Safer Than Store Brands
 October 12, 2009
"Trash your bottles of aluminum laden store brands and trade in for this. Each bottle lasts a long time and you won't be disappointed in performance either."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Desert Essence Deodorant Chamomile and Calendula -- 2.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
aunaturel
fromNC
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Duration of use:Over 180 days
new fave!
 June 25, 2009
"I began using this deodorant after my dr ran some heavy metals tests and found my aluminum was high. I needed to give up my old favorite. I am so glad I found this one; it works great! I tried other natural deos in the past, but would end up stinky by the end of the day. This one really works, and I'm giving it a good test in the southern heat and humidity! It's my new favorite."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Desert Essence Deodorant Chamomile and Calendula -- 2.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
LAScientist
A great replacement for old Tom's formulas
 June 20, 2009
"Tom's of Maine has made the mistake of changing formulas on its most popular lines, such as the 5370D that was made for quite a few years. The new 'substitutes' 5572 and 5570 are not improvements. This Desert Essence deodorant is excellent. Hopefully, they won't be changing it!"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Desert Essence Deodorant Chamomile and Calendula -- 2.5 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
mischa
fromCincinnati
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
 June 4, 2009
"I use this deodorant al the time for over a year now. I wouldn't go back to Dove or Secret again"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Desert Essence Deodorant Chamomile and Calendula -- 2.5 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
baines70
fromPhila., PA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Not so pleased
 May 17, 2009
"This deodorant did not do it's job. I actually thought it picked up the BO scent. Tossed it after a week. Thoroughly disappointed as I do like many other Desert Essence products."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.