Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Protein or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Source Naturals Brown Rice Protein Powder -- 32 oz

Natural Source of Vegetarian Protein. Vegan Non-GMO Sprouted. Hypoallergenic. Source Naturals Brown Rice Protein Powder is a concentrated hypoallergenic source of non-dairy protein in a convenient powder form. This high-quality protein supplement is made from sprouted brown rice for enhanced efficacy and is enzymatically isolated in a process that is free of chemicals. Easy to digest and perfect in smoothies BROWN RICE PROTEIN POWDER is designed to work in conjunction with a variety of exercise and diet programs to ensure that your body gets one of the most important macronutrients.
Overall rating:
3.6 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 30
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
13
4 Stars
6
3 Stars
1
2 Stars
6
1 Star
4
21 out of 30(70%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Source Naturals Brown Rice Protein Powder -- 32 oz
Review 1 for Source Naturals Brown Rice Protein Powder -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
LaneeT
fromPittsburgh, PA
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Great for Protein Shakes!
 May 3, 2014
"After being told that I have to transition toward a healthy lifestyle from my doctor, I started off by incorporating healthy shakes into my diet and cutting back the unhealthy foods. I like this product. It doesn't have an overpowering taste that I hate about protein shakes. I will buy again once my first bottle runs out!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Source Naturals Brown Rice Protein Powder -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
shooka
fromtel aviv
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
BAD TASTE
 April 27, 2014
"OVER COME ALL OTHER flavors
aftertaste .
BAD MIXING
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Source Naturals Brown Rice Protein Powder -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Erdy
 April 25, 2014
"Great source of protein and great price"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Source Naturals Brown Rice Protein Powder -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Errin
fromRoanoke, Va
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
This stuff tastes really bad!
 March 17, 2014
"I ordered plain soy protein before, so I expected the rice protein to be plain and chalky tasting. I just didn't expect the bitter taste. I can't cover it up with banana in my milkshake, it's too strong."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Source Naturals Brown Rice Protein Powder -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
jamesfromCA
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
BEST VALUE!
 January 16, 2014
"The quality is right! the taste is right! the price is right!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Source Naturals Brown Rice Protein Powder -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
BayAreaMan
This batch, at least, had bitter taste
 November 10, 2013
"I use rice protein daily on my hot and cold cereals and as a protein shake. I've bought Source Naturals Brown Rice Protein Powder periodically over the years and, until my last purchase, I'd have given it 3 to 4 stars. I bought 8 containers this last time, but the first one I opened had such a strong bitter taste I returned the other 7 containers. It was so bitter I couldn't disguise it with (among others) cinnamon, bananas, or fruit juice. I've now gone back to Nutribiotic."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Source Naturals Brown Rice Protein Powder -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
RayOfSunshine
fromUtah County, Utah
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good protein powder, needs flavoring each time
 October 26, 2013
"It is a very good protein powder. A slight chalkyness to it after mixed in water. Needs flavoring each time - I usually added some liquid stevia, along with cacao powder, or strawberry or raspberry extract, to make a yummy drink. Gives me no physical discomfort, as some protein powders do, such as stomach unhappiness, or leg cramps."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Source Naturals Brown Rice Protein Powder -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Gung
fromDMV
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Good form of protein, taste may disgust
 September 27, 2013
"I am not the type of person that is easily detered from drinking something. Trust me when I say I've had my fair share of homemade smoothies and shakes. I can choke down things for the sake of health MUCH MORE than the average person.
Now I bought this item as I was looking to move away from whey protein/looking to decrease my dairy intake. If you're buying this with intent of stuffing multiple servings into a smoothie to make a 24g or 32g protein shake you may want to think again. There's a reason the serving sizes are so small, it's probably because putting anymore than one serving of this in to most foods (or drinks) will be a struggle for most people to handle.
Most people will NOT be able to drink this straight with water. It's gritty (doesn't bother me) and it taste like sand (not preferable). It smells like VERY VERY strong brown rice (figuring brown rice cooked is almost odorless), it also kind of smells like sawdust.
I like this protein because its whey free, has a great amino acid profile, and most other vegan proteins seem to bother me (ie life's basics plant protein and MRM veggie protein), and it's also cheap. I rate this 3 because the flavor kind of disgusts me, but I find that if you drink it with orange juice its relatively easy to drink because the flavor is disguised pretty well (just shake it occasionally so that the powder doesn't settle at the bottom). At the sametime I have no currently been able to find any other liquid I can drink this with other than orange juice lol. I recently tried mixing a serving with oatmeal and water and I ended up choking that down but it did NOT taste good.
Until I literally try the Nutribiotic brown rice (a company which offers it in flavors) I would recommend Source Naturals solely off of its amino acid profile and value to hardcore nutritionists that can set their taste buds aside. That said, if there were numerous people that could vouch for the taste of Nutribiotic brown rice and say that it was better than Source Naturals product then I would NOT recommend Source Naturals at all and I would say go with Nutribiotic's product. Nothing against Source Naturals, you're just better off throwing on a few more dollars just for the sake of flavor."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Source Naturals Brown Rice Protein Powder -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
VeggieKaren
fromOrlando, FL
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
The best one I have used
 September 10, 2013
"I use this every morning in a smoothie. It is more cost effective than the Vitacost brand (that rarely happens), and has a great flavor.
It mixes well with cold liquids.
The only complaint is the container. A measuring scoop is provided, but the handle is relatively short. If you have large hands, you will not be able to reach the product in this tall container once 3/4 of it has been used. Plan to transfer this into a different container once you have used about half of it. A minor convenience.
"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Source Naturals Brown Rice Protein Powder -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JustMatt
fromColumbus, OH
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Great Product
 May 1, 2013
"This is my favorite rice proteinn powder. I like that it doesn't have a bunch of artifical sweetners. The flavor is pretty bland which I don't mind, but not unpleasant. I mix it with water, but it also mixes well with juice or almond milk. Works good in smoothies."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Source Naturals Brown Rice Protein Powder -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
RedRbn
fromSt Louis, MO
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Taste wasn't bearable.
 April 15, 2013
"I tried to force this protein down, but just couldn't. It was so chalky and nasty that it didn't matter how nutritionally good it was for me, I had to return it for a refund. I'll stick to my Jarrow Rice Protein Powder."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Source Naturals Brown Rice Protein Powder -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Critterlover2
fromGreater Seattle area
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good value for alternative protein for shakes, etc
 March 31, 2013
"This is very bland, mororo less chalky as far as taste goes. But good protein content. Mixes up okay in shakes. I add a couple of drops of SweetLeaf chocolate sweetener drops for flavoring."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Source Naturals Brown Rice Protein Powder -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
momnpagummebear
Age:55-64
 March 18, 2013
"Good amount of protein. Does not mix well in drinks. It wants to clump up. Adding it to a blender with juice does better. It takes more work to enjoy it this way, than I have time."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Source Naturals Brown Rice Protein Powder -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
pamelajk
frompompano,fl.
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
 March 4, 2013
"The taste is OK, good in smoothies BUT gave me terrible digestive cramps and bloating and felt sooo sick the 2 times I tried it, I only used the recommended tablespoon scoop and it gave me bad stomach issues. Maybe it's just me ,vitacost said they haven't had any complaints on this product,and they did refund my money,I always use vitacost for my vitamin products.Great company!!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Source Naturals Brown Rice Protein Powder -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
OohChiral
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
It does the Trick
 January 27, 2013
"I wouldn't go so far as to say the powder tastes delicious. It's strong, and can be overpowering in smoothies. I find that citrus cuts the taste of the protein powder when it's added to the blends. When I was donating blood plasma and eating vegetarian, I helped keep my protein values up."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Source Naturals Brown Rice Protein Powder -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Kiwi28
fromSaint Paul, MN
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Tastes delicious!
 January 7, 2013
"My husband and I have ordered this brown rice powder several times and love it. It tastes great, it's filling, low in carbs, and doesn't have hidden chemicals like sucralose. We drink smoothies every morning and will continue buying this."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Source Naturals Brown Rice Protein Powder -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
JohnnyDoodle
Mixes well in shakes
 December 19, 2012
"A great value for the price. I use it in my morning breakfast shake every day. It mixes well with anything I put in the blender."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Source Naturals Brown Rice Protein Powder -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
amnlyn
fromcolorado springs, co
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Good value, poor taste
 December 5, 2012
"Gritty texture and not tasty."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Source Naturals Brown Rice Protein Powder -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
2 / 5
2 / 5
toomanyvitamins
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Tastes awful
 October 1, 2012
"I guess it mixes okay. I put it in my fruit smoothie, and while it's not grainy like pea protein, the taste of this is awful. Like it had gone bad, though the expiry date was far in the future. I can't even finish it."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Source Naturals Brown Rice Protein Powder -- 32 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
HapaGirl
fromLos Angeles, CA
Gender:Female
Would definitely buy again
 August 19, 2012
"I bought this product to use while doing the 21-day Clean Program (by Dr. Alejandro Junger). I was not a regular user of protein powders prior to the cleanse. Now I use it daily in my morning smoothies even after finishing the cleanse. This product is chalky and very powdery but once I mix it up in my smoothie, I can't even tell it's there. What a convenient way to get protein! And it makes me feel full until lunch. I love it."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
1 2 next