Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hand & Body Lotions or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Aubrey Nourishing Moisturizing Lotion Sea Buckthorn -- 8 fl oz

All Natural Ingredients. Antioxidant-rich formula helps protect from free radical damage and replenishes moisture for healthy ultra-soft skin.  . Features & Benefits.  . Sea Buckthorn Oil & Topical Ester-C®  Antioxidant protection. Aloe Vera & Evening Primrose Oil  - Soothe & hydrate
Overall rating:
3.636 / 5
3.6
 / 
5
(11 reviews) 10
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 11 reviews
5 Stars
5
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
3
7 out of 11(64%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Aubrey Nourishing Moisturizing Lotion Sea Buckthorn -- 8 fl oz
Review 1 for Aubrey Nourishing Moisturizing Lotion Sea Buckthorn -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Karello
fromPhoenix AZ
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Recently changed for the worse
 April 24, 2013
"I've been a fan of Aubrey (no longer do they call themselves "Aubrey Organics"; just look at their product labels) for over 20 years, but all good things must come to an end.
This product, which used to have a thick creamy consistency, smelled like sandalwood and softened and moisturized like nothing else, is now none of the above.
I noticed with this new bottle purchased in April 2013 that the fragrance was quite different. It was vague spicy-floral, no longer sandalwood. Checking the label, I found that sandalwood oil is no longer in the ingredients list. Looking even more closely, I saw that the word "organics" is removed from the label. Now it's just Aubrey.
The lotion is thick, almost paste-like. It rubs in, then turns watery (this is different than before). When you've rubbed the water-grease mix in, your hands dry to a semi-powdery texture, as if they'd been dipped in starch, talc or maybe silicone. A friend said "It smells like the potpourri in Cost Plus Imports."
The ingredients list is much longer now, too long for me to bother researching. I remember some of the old ingredients, and they are missing. It used to be an all-natural moisturizer base of coconut and cocoa butter, preserved with natural E and grapefruit seed extract. They're mostly gone now too.
I am aware that sandalwood is currently endangered and very expensive. I agree that lotion may not be the best use of such a rare item. However, I don't feel Aubrey did this lotion justice by creating such an unpleasing substitute fragrance for it. Honestly I can't even tell you if this stuff is all natural anymore. It's not the luxury product it was, that's for sure. Sad. I'm returning this since it's nothing near what it used to be. I'd rather use Corn Huskers."
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aubrey Nourishing Moisturizing Lotion Sea Buckthorn -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Sunbum
fromFL
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Best lotion ever
 December 24, 2011
"I love the smell and how well this lotion works by far the best lotion I have ever used."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aubrey Nourishing Moisturizing Lotion Sea Buckthorn -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
sdt1
fromBritish Columbia, Canada
Gender:Male
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Winter Wonder!
 October 19, 2011
"This moisturiser is amazing! I'm sure it's the Seabuckthorn that is responsible in part, but the formulation leaves your skin moisturised without being greasy. It dries quickly, and creates an occlusive barrier that continues to lock in hydration for many hours. For Canadian winters, this product is a must have! The smell is "tropical", and very gender neutral."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aubrey Nourishing Moisturizing Lotion Sea Buckthorn -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Olie
fromWI
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
OK
 June 10, 2010
"This lotion works great, but the smell is a bit much. I use a lot of essential oils, but this has a odd smell. I will use it until it's gone, but will not order again."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aubrey Nourishing Moisturizing Lotion Sea Buckthorn -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
2 / 5
2 / 5
holisticcatowner
cream
 April 19, 2010
"normally i rate aubrey products very high..they are wonderful..however this product has the most horrible smell..i don't know if something was wrong with it and vitacost sent me something that was old or sitting in a warehouse for a long time, but beware..may be better to buy this at a health food store..not sure how fresh vitacost products are..i am going to throw this out.."
0points
3of 6voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aubrey Nourishing Moisturizing Lotion Sea Buckthorn -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
angelpomeroy21
Good lotion
 March 13, 2010
"Would like this lotion to be alittle more moisterizing."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aubrey Nourishing Moisturizing Lotion Sea Buckthorn -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
MamaMac
fromAustin, TX
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:61-180 days
Smells Really Bad
 September 24, 2009
"This product absorbs almost instantly into the skin and, like most of Aubrey's moisturizers, leaves your skin velvety smooth and soft. However, the smell of this product is so bad I had to throw it away. I would HIGHLY recommend their Unscented body lotion - very nice."
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aubrey Nourishing Moisturizing Lotion Sea Buckthorn -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Lorraine
fromMissouri
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Best Hand and Body Lotion - Ever!
 May 22, 2009
"I sampled the product at my local Health Food Store and couldn't believe that any product could leave my hands so soft for several days without continued use. I had to have more! Superior product, great smell - not overpowering and made with quality natural ingredients. This is a winner!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aubrey Nourishing Moisturizing Lotion Sea Buckthorn -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
criticaleye
fromLos Angeles
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Nice Rich Lotion
 January 31, 2009
"This is really a luxurious lotion. Thick, mildly scented, readily absorbed into skin leaving rough dry skin feeling soft.
Organic, no parabens or nasty stuff, great for dealing with stretch marks, or dry skin due to hormonal imbalances as well as dry weather. Continual use has helped my problem skin be soft and supple.
Will absolutely buy again!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aubrey Nourishing Moisturizing Lotion Sea Buckthorn -- 8 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
3 / 5
3 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Dapranel
fromFlorida
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
 December 26, 2008
"It took some getting use too not what i expected but I grew to like it as my skin began to feel softer and smoother. Just starting to use Organic products so i am trying to get use to the difference of how products feel and how my body reacts to them."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Aubrey Nourishing Moisturizing Lotion Sea Buckthorn -- 8 fl oz
Based on 1 ratings-only review
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
1 out of 1 recommend this product