Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Hair Shampoo or
Choose a Category

Product Reviews

Aubrey White Camellia Smoothing Shampoo Warm Vanilla Ginger -- 11 fl oz

Argan & Olive Oils. Smooth Revival. Tames & Softens. Dry Hair • Replenish. True to Nature Since 1967. All-Natural Ingredients. Sulfate-Free • Phthalate-Free. Paraben-Free • Cruelty-Free. Gluten-Free. Tame frizzy hard-to-handle hair with this ultra-smoothing shampoo that restores softness and manageability. Great for relaxed and natural styles. Enticing Warm Vanilla Ginger scent!  . Features. Benefits. Organic White Camellia Oil. High in vitamin E; smoothes hair fiber & adds shine. Organic Argan & Olive Oils. Rich in vitamins & nutrients; deep-conditions & protect
Overall rating:
3.5 / 5
3.5
 / 
5
(30 reviews) 28
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 30 reviews
5 Stars
15
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
2
2 Stars
2
1 Star
8
19 out of 30(63%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Aubrey White Camellia Smoothing Shampoo Warm Vanilla Ginger -- 11 fl oz
Review 1 for Aubrey White Camellia Smoothing Shampoo Warm Vanilla Ginger -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
ficus
 November 17, 2013
"It's really great for very dry hair. Otherwise, it can be a bit too greasy. I tried both the shampoo and conditioner and ended up giving them away to a friend who has very dry hair. It was a bit too greasy for me. Aubrey's honeysuckle rose shampoo worked better for me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Aubrey White Camellia Smoothing Shampoo Warm Vanilla Ginger -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Curlygirl117
fromNJ
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Gentle Cleansing
 September 26, 2013
"I love this shampoo because it is gentle enough to use on my normally dry curly hair and it leaves my scalp feeling clean without making me feel stripped. By far my favorite shampoo in the Aubrey line, and I have tried all of the ones for dry hair as well as the Aubrey GPB shampoo."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Aubrey White Camellia Smoothing Shampoo Warm Vanilla Ginger -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Boston2509
fromMassachusetts
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Makes my hair smooth & shiny
 November 4, 2012
"I love this shampoo! I have fine hair, but a lot of it and it has a frizzy texture. This shampoo tamed my frizzies and gave it lots of body and shine, too. It also has a beautiful scent."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Aubrey White Camellia Smoothing Shampoo Warm Vanilla Ginger -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
luvtoread
Disappointed
 August 22, 2012
"I purchased this same shampoo before and liked it very much. This shampoo was different; I don't know if it's just inconsistent, or there was a deliberate formula change.
The consistency is more gel-like, it did not lather at all, it was a slightly darker color, and my hair felt gummy afterwards. After the trouble of washing and drying my hair, I had to find a different shampoo and rewash. It wasn't just not good, my hair felt awful.
I would have returned it, but the shipping charges were almost as much as the product cost."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Aubrey White Camellia Smoothing Shampoo Warm Vanilla Ginger -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
JP89
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Good shampoo
 May 15, 2012
"This shampoo does help to smooth my dry, curly, frazzled hair somewhat. I do not like the smell of it but it does not last long once the hair is dried. I do use the Ultra Smoothing Conditioner White Camelia after I shampoo along with coconut oil. I do recommend this shampoo and conditioner if you hair is very dry and love the natural ingredients."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Aubrey White Camellia Smoothing Shampoo Warm Vanilla Ginger -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Grey7fox
fromNewnan, GA
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great Shampoo!
 May 1, 2012
"If you have coarse fly-away hair (that also might be grey), this is the shampoo for you! Especially if you use the White Camellia Conditioner after it. It makes your hair so soft and manageable.
I love it!
"
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Aubrey White Camellia Smoothing Shampoo Warm Vanilla Ginger -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
123mini
 May 1, 2012
"dried the hair each time. may work for others, did not work for me."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Aubrey White Camellia Smoothing Shampoo Warm Vanilla Ginger -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
McGonagle
 September 6, 2011
"this product is the oiliest shampoo I have ever tried. your hair will not feel clean and people will think you haven't bathed in weeks due to the look that this shampoo and cond. gives your hair:( :("
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Aubrey White Camellia Smoothing Shampoo Warm Vanilla Ginger -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
RMcD
fromthe South
Age:35-44
Gender:Male
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Heavy, heavy, heavy...
 June 8, 2011
"I really like most Aubrey products. This one, however, might be for damaged hair. It makes normal hair look greasy. I do not recommend."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Aubrey White Camellia Smoothing Shampoo Warm Vanilla Ginger -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
2ndlady
fromDeltona, Fl
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
 May 18, 2011
"The natural ingredients cleaned the hair and didn't strip it of it's ow natural oils."
+1point
2of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Aubrey White Camellia Smoothing Shampoo Warm Vanilla Ginger -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Scigeek
Age:25-34
Referral source:Other
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
 April 7, 2011
"The shampoo is the thinnest of the AO that I've tried. No suds at all, but hair feel squeaky clean after using this shampoo. Moisturize your hair nicely. I gave 4 star because of the lack of suds."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Aubrey White Camellia Smoothing Shampoo Warm Vanilla Ginger -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
clotilde
fromCA
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Great product
 March 31, 2011
"This product really works for me! Be prepared: as others have said it doesn't lather up a lot but I got used to it in a few days. It might not be for everyone but I love the herbal scent. It leaves my fine and wavy hair looking healthy for the first time in a long time! Highly recommended."
+3points
3of 3voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Aubrey White Camellia Smoothing Shampoo Warm Vanilla Ginger -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Arwen521
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
Leaves Hair Limp, unkempt
 March 27, 2011
"I had high hopes for this shampoo as I've been looking for a completely natural shampoo for a long time after many attempts to make my own failed to leave my hair looking anything close to nice. But this shampoo left my hair looking the exact same as my homemade counterparts - unkempt. Even after my hair was dry, it looked wet and somewhat crunchy. I'm a stay-at-home so I could endure it, but I would never go out looking like that. I am a huge proponent for all-natural products, so I was very sad this didn't work. I was actually quite surprised that a product would be sold on the shelves that left your hair looking like that!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Aubrey White Camellia Smoothing Shampoo Warm Vanilla Ginger -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
kinseikun
fromTN
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
great shampoo
 September 11, 2010
"If you already have beautiful, tamed, straight hair, then of course this is not going to be the shampoo for you. That's why on the bottle it says for "dry, coarse, unruly" hair. So of course those people gave bad reviews.
Well, I DO have dry, unruly, untamed hair. For years I have been trying to find something that will easily help my culry hair not be so frizzy. Finally, I found the answer!
Yes--the shampoo does not sud up as well as most shampoos--that's because it is free of chemicals like sulfates--the chemicals that sud up, and also damage hair. The more water you use, the more it will sud up.
This shampoo is very good at cleaning, and the smell at first is strong in the shower, but gets more subtle outside. It may feel like your hair feels a little wiry after shampooing, but I don't know of any frizzy haired people like myself that doesn't use conditioner anyways. This shampoo and its matching conditioner are great. My hair doesn't feel oily, and it stays tamed (not straight, but not crazy) for a good amount of time. I'm so glad that finally I can lose the crazy frizzies!"
+5points
5of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Aubrey White Camellia Smoothing Shampoo Warm Vanilla Ginger -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
martharobert
not happy with product
 September 7, 2010
"I found this shampoo to be very watery and it doens't lather at all. I have very thick hair and had to use a lot of product and still didn't feel this cleaned my hair."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Aubrey White Camellia Smoothing Shampoo Warm Vanilla Ginger -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
bad4evr
fromNortheast
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
smooth, silky, hair
 June 17, 2010
"Love Aubrey products! This shampoo & accompanying conditioner tame my relaxed hair. I love the smooth results that elevates tangled hair."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Aubrey White Camellia Smoothing Shampoo Warm Vanilla Ginger -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Value:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Quality:
2 / 5
2 / 5
Effectiveness:
1 / 5
1 / 5
Meeswee
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Worst shampoo I have used
 May 29, 2010
"I used this shampoo for the first time before I went to work in the morning and I was sorry I did. My hair was so greasy looking and I was actually embarrassed by how I looked and could not wait to get home to use a different shampoo. I used it up as an expensive hand soap. Unless you have extremely dry hair, I would not recommend it at all."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 18 for Aubrey White Camellia Smoothing Shampoo Warm Vanilla Ginger -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ladalo
fromNapa. California
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great Stuff
 February 16, 2010
"Another Great Shampoo...I love them all and this one is on the list to get again..."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 19 for Aubrey White Camellia Smoothing Shampoo Warm Vanilla Ginger -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
dlharris
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Duration of use:30-60 days
#1 Shampoo for Dry, Curly Hair!
 February 11, 2010
"This shampoo performs better by far than any I have tried. The lack of suds takes getting used to, but my hair has not looked so healthy and shiny in years. It's a miracle, one I've been searching out for a long, long time."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 20 for Aubrey White Camellia Smoothing Shampoo Warm Vanilla Ginger -- 11 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
voch
fromBergen County,NJ
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Referral source:Family Member
Duration of use:Over 180 days
Aubrey Organics White Camellia Ultra-Smoothing S
 February 11, 2010
"My daughter & husband recommended this because the review in Skin Deep is good product to use. Anything organic and no chemical we will try to use it."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
1 2 next