Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Shop Now At Vitacost
Shop Sunflower Oil or
Choose a Category
Top-rated product

Product Reviews

Flora Sunflower Oil Certified Organic -- 17 fl oz

Certified Organic. Cold-Pressed & Unrefined. Fresh from the Press. Flora's Sunflower Oil is from certified organic sun-ripened sunflower seeds (third party certification) that give it a delicious slightly nutty flavor and a light yellow to rich golden color. The seeds are cold-pressed in small batches in a state-of-the-art low-heat light- and oxygen-free environment. The oil is carefully bottled in light-resistant amber glass with a nitrogen flush to maintain optimum freshness prevent oxidation and ensure maximum nutritional value. Flora's Sunflower Oil is guaranteed GMO-free to ensure the safest best tasting cooking oil. Slight cloudiness of unrefined sunflower seed oil is a sign of the highest quality.
Overall rating:
4.7 / 5
4.7
 / 
5
(20 reviews) 16
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 20 reviews
5 Stars
17
4 Stars
2
3 Stars
0
2 Stars
0
1 Star
1
20 out of 20(100%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Flora Sunflower Oil Certified Organic -- 17 fl oz
Review 1 for Flora Sunflower Oil Certified Organic -- 17 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
FaithUrban
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Stopped my teeth sensitivity
 February 15, 2014
"I do oil pulling with this sunflower oil. This is done by swishing the oil in the mouth for 20 minutes then I rinse my mouth out with a cup of warm salt water. I read that this helps clean and detoxify teeth and gums. I'd stopped doing it for 4 or 5 months and when I resumed my teeth sensitivity subsided significantly."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Flora Sunflower Oil Certified Organic -- 17 fl oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
chand
fromohio
Age:65-74
Gender:Male
excellent quality
 August 17, 2013
"i have used it for over 4 years and will continue to use it"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Flora Sunflower Oil Certified Organic -- 17 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
PayingAttention
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
High quality, not for internal use, omega6 caution
 August 6, 2013
"excellent. however, do not take internally as omega-6's are very high in sunflower oil. do your research and homework. read reviewers use it in baby food. not a good idea."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Flora Sunflower Oil Certified Organic -- 17 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
masterowl
Powerful Sunflower
 May 17, 2013
"Great product. Cold pressed. Tinted glass to preserve from light. We use it in our home-made baby formula."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Flora Sunflower Oil Certified Organic -- 17 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
greatgrandmaw
fromLouisiana
Age:75+
Gender:Female
fresh
 April 4, 2013
"I ordered this to make infant formula. It smells fresh- no rancid smell or taste and I love the fact that it is organic. Only the best for my great grandbaby!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Flora Sunflower Oil Certified Organic -- 17 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
BBlu
fromLos Angeles, CA
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Great quality stuff
 April 2, 2013
"I searched Vitacost for the best organic cold pressed oil to use for oil pulling. This stuff works great and I will buy the same product again when I run out."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Flora Sunflower Oil Certified Organic -- 17 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ElenaEva
fromNY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Good dressing!
 March 10, 2013
"I use it for my vegs salad(tomats+cucumbers), just add salt and black pepper, really nice nutty flavor.
Also another way to enjoy it. Pour 2 spoon in small bowl, add sea salt and dip french bread in it.
I would not cook with this oil, because itt tooooo good of a taste. Its better for dressings.
"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Flora Sunflower Oil Certified Organic -- 17 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
supurb
fromSLC, UT
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
great product
 February 14, 2013
"I purchased this as an ingredient in the WAPF baby formula recipe. It meets the strict requirements of the recipe and I trust it to feed my baby. What more can be said? It's a great product."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Flora Sunflower Oil Certified Organic -- 17 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Leningradka
fromLong Island, NY
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Sunflower oil is the healthiest of all!
 January 19, 2013
"Sunflower oil is proven to contain most vitamins and has the highest nutritional value as compared to the rest of plant oils. It is called "postnoe" in Russian, which means "allowed during lent" by the Russian Orthodox Church. Why do you think Eastern Europeans have such a strong immune system?:-)
It has to be raw, cold pressed, not refined, cooked or processed in any way, and should be stored in a dark bottle, - exactly the way it arrives from Vitacost, exactly the way we like it. It tastes so good, that even if it wasn't for its nutritional value, I'd order it just to bust the flavor of all my salads!
Highly recommend it. To your health, folks!
"
+1point
3of 5voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Flora Sunflower Oil Certified Organic -- 17 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Ceekaytee
Great for Cooking and Oil Pulling
 May 8, 2012
"This is a great oil for cooking and oil pulling. The price is great for the amount you get. It's great for making popcorn and other dishes."
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Flora Sunflower Oil Certified Organic -- 17 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
ksenka
fromBrooklyn, NY
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Referral source:Self-referred
Reason for usage:Specific health concern
Duration of use:61-180 days
Delicious
 February 25, 2012
"This oil has a very specific, nutty taste. It's delicious on salads, like potato or beet salad. It has a similar texture to olive oil. I don't think you're supposed to heat it up, so use it on cold salads instead. Also, it's green!"
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Flora Sunflower Oil Certified Organic -- 17 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Cherryblossom5
fromChicago
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Daily supplement usage:1-2 supplements daily
Referral source:Other
Reason for usage:Promote overall health
Duration of use:Less than 30 days
This is an amazing oil!!
 September 7, 2011
"This is one of the best sunflower oils I have bought. The taste is great, it's fresh and especially it still tastes fresh even when it's kept refrigerated. I use it on all my salads and."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Flora Sunflower Oil Certified Organic -- 17 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
phluffy
Mmm!
 June 3, 2010
"You can smell and taste raw Sunflower seeds when you take this. I use it in cooking, I take it straight (tsp or Tbls), and I also mix it with essential oils for doing head to toe oil baths. I love all Flora (also happens to be my name:) products!"
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Flora Sunflower Oil Certified Organic -- 17 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Mitchell2
 April 16, 2010
"I use this oil for oil-pulling. It has great taste, not heavy and oily like refined, expeller pressed oil. I would recommend this product to a friend."
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Flora Sunflower Oil Certified Organic -- 17 fl oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Value:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Quality:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Effectiveness:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Taste:
5 / 5
5 / 5
speldoc
Age:18-24
Gender:Female
Duration of use:30-60 days
Great
 June 22, 2009
"I use this for beauty care needs. However, my mom does use this along with lemon and pepper as a salad dressing. She says the oil is light and has a good taste."
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Flora Sunflower Oil Certified Organic -- 17 fl oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Value:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Quality:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Effectiveness:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Taste:
4 / 5
4 / 5
soapmaker
for soap
 February 21, 2009
"good value. first time i've used it in soap. the soap turn out great."
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Ratings-only reviews for Flora Sunflower Oil Certified Organic -- 17 fl oz
Based on the average of (4) ratings-only reviews
Overall rating:
4.8 / 5
4.8 / 5
4 out of 4 recommend this product