Vitacost Ratings and Reviews

Product Reviews

Ener-G Tapioca Dinner Rolls Gluten Free -- 9.88 oz

Wheat Free. Gluten Free. Dairy Free . Low Protein. Since 1962 when we first created low protein products for renal pre-dialysis patients we have striven to meet the challenging requirements for diet restricted consumers. We not only offer wheat free gluten free products but also products for low protein diets egg free and dairy free products. Our bakery is dedicated to wheat free gluten free baking guaranteeing that contamination from gluten will not occur. Our innovative packaging gives our products a 1-year shelf life without the need for refrigeration. We bake our products as orders are received to insure that the freshest product is available. Our bread is kept fresh through a highly developed vacuum packing process and guaranteed until each best before date on the package. With a long shelf life you can enjoy your favorites continuously.
Overall rating:
3.882 / 5
3.9
 / 
5
(17 reviews) 17
Open Ratings Snapshot
Rating breakdown 17 reviews
5 Stars
8
4 Stars
3
3 Stars
4
2 Stars
0
1 Star
2
14 out of 17(82%)customers recommend this product.
Customer reviews for Ener-G Tapioca Dinner Rolls Gluten Free -- 9.88 oz
Review 1 for Ener-G Tapioca Dinner Rolls Gluten Free -- 9.88 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromLouisville, KY
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
 September 8, 2015
" These are good if you cut them in half and use them in the toaster. I use for my son who is gluten free so that he feels like he gets rolls as well as everybody else. Good price. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 2 for Ener-G Tapioca Dinner Rolls Gluten Free -- 9.88 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromIqaluit, NU, Canada
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
Use them for semi paleo hamburger buns
 September 4, 2015
" I bought these to use as GF/semi paleo hamburger buns.
I have experimented with other bun replacements: a portobello mushroom cap (EPIC NO), and a muffin top pan to make my own hamburger buns at home, and although I like the taste of what I make, they just don't "feel" like a prepackaged hamburger bun. And these are way more convenient than baking some buns just so you can have a few hamburgers. I recommend them, but they do have a few downsides:
1) They soak up ketchup like crazy, which then makes the bun all soft and squishy, so you need to eat your burger fast.
2) They crumble/fall apart, so you need to eat your burger with both hands, very carefully.
3) They taste.. a bit weird. The Ener-g Tapioca Loaf as well as these buns have a "different", almost bitter flavour to them, which I can't really describe. It doesn't TASTE like white bread, even if it looks and behaves something like it.
4) The buns are pretty dry, so you have to toast/microwave them to improve the texture.
Like I said, I still recommend them if you really want a "real" hamburger, and you are GF or borderline paleo... and lazy. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 3 for Ener-G Tapioca Dinner Rolls Gluten Free -- 9.88 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromTrenton, Mi
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Better than the Ener-G Tapiocs gluten free bread
 June 12, 2015
" I wouldn't rave about these rolls...but as a hamburger roll for sloppy joes or hamburgers, they work ok. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 4 for Ener-G Tapioca Dinner Rolls Gluten Free -- 9.88 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromEvansville, IN
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
Tasty and Versatile
 January 6, 2015
" These rolls are a must for anyone on a GF diet. They are tasty and quite versatile. I use them as sandwich buns, dinner rolls and even slice them thinly and toast to make ‘fake’ Brochettes. I’ve put them on my Set & Save program because I can’t seem to keep enough in my house! I highly recommend them to everyone as an excellent alternative to unhealthy, gluten-laden buns. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 5 for Ener-G Tapioca Dinner Rolls Gluten Free -- 9.88 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
fromVirginia
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
Not on my hungriest day!
 January 5, 2015
" These rolls are on the top of my nightmare list!! Very, Very dry. . .if you want to know what they taste like before you purchase them. . . .just go into your kitchen and get a tablespoon of flour (dry) and put it in your mouth!! These need to be taken off the market before some hurts themselves! "
0points
1of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 6 for Ener-G Tapioca Dinner Rolls Gluten Free -- 9.88 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
fromGreer, SC
Age:45-54
Gender:Male
surprisingly good
 December 10, 2014
" I can't do gluten or eggs so the better breads often are not an option for me because of the eggs. I was really surprised how good these rolls were as compared to the Brown Rice Loaf Ener-g bread is. I often use these as hamburger bun substitutes. Good flavor and not as dry as the rice loaf. "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.
Review 7 for Ener-G Tapioca Dinner Rolls Gluten Free -- 9.88 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromOman
Age:25-34
Gender:Male
Not sure how to say it. Its ok
 October 26, 2014
" I have tried other bread was better than this one. this one I use it after cut it in half then spread Jam, oilve oil with oregano (Zaatar), goat cheese and anthing that is soft.
This is really dry ones, you can't enjoy having it alone, you need tea with it. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 8 for Ener-G Tapioca Dinner Rolls Gluten Free -- 9.88 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromNC
Age:75+
Gender:Female
Ener-G Dinner rolls
 September 17, 2014
" I am not very fond of these, but would recommend trying them. I haven't found any bread that I love, but the Ener-G English Muffins are the ones I like best so far. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 9 for Ener-G Tapioca Dinner Rolls Gluten Free -- 9.88 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromJudsonia, AR
Age:25-34
Gender:Female
good product
 July 21, 2014
" these are good substitute for rolls. "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 10 for Ener-G Tapioca Dinner Rolls Gluten Free -- 9.88 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromDenver, CO
Age:45-54
Gender:Female
Very Good!
 April 17, 2014
" My husband really likes these dinner rolls. Texture and taste are good. Do not crumble. Great to cut in half for a smaller sanndwhich. Kept well in refrigerator for 2 weeks after opening package. Unopened package was on shelf for 3 weeks before opening. Still fresh. Will purchase again! "
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 11 for Ener-G Tapioca Dinner Rolls Gluten Free -- 9.88 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromHouston, TX
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
The BEST tasting dinner roll
 March 24, 2014
" My 7-yr old who is on a special diet LOVES these. I am also going gluten free and have found these to be a delicious alternative at home or we sometimes bring them with us when eating out. I am about to order lots more that we can keep in the freezer until ready to use. They are well packaged to keep fresh for a while. "
 
Other Vitacost Products I Would Recommend
Ener-G Wylde Pretzels Gluten Free -- 4 oz
4.1 out of 5(9)
 
 
 
 
 
0points
0of 0voted this as helpful.
Review 12 for Ener-G Tapioca Dinner Rolls Gluten Free -- 9.88 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
Age:35-44
Gender:Female
dry but ok when toasted
 March 6, 2014
" These make good garlic toast. When you don't toast them they are quite dry and crumbly which i've found with most gluten free breads and rolls. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 13 for Ener-G Tapioca Dinner Rolls Gluten Free -- 9.88 oz
Overall rating:
3 / 5
3 / 5
fromJonesboro, Arkansas
Not bad, not great
 January 2, 2014
" GF rolls are hard to make. That said, these aren't bad "for gluten free". My son- who has never had anything different than gf- likes them just fine. "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 14 for Ener-G Tapioca Dinner Rolls Gluten Free -- 9.88 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromCharlton, New York
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Great gluten free rolls!
 January 1, 2014
" I love these rolls. They have a very long extended shelf-life which means you can buy several at a time and keep on hand. They do not have to be refrigerated until you open the package. I love them split apart and toasted or you can heat them in the microwave for about 20-25 seconds. Also, if you are on Weight Watchers, they are only 2 points plus! "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 15 for Ener-G Tapioca Dinner Rolls Gluten Free -- 9.88 oz
Overall rating:
5 / 5
5 / 5
fromWoodward, OK
Age:55-64
Gender:Female
A staple in my pantry.
 December 20, 2013
" This is the only "bread" I've purchased more than once since learning I was celiac over a year ago. For sandwiches, hamburgers, or dinner rolls, I toast this with either organic coconut oil, butter, or Smart Balance Flax. It is the only bread I purchase, ever. It has a long shelf life which allows me to stock up. Thanks EnerG! "
+2points
2of 2voted this as helpful.
Review 16 for Ener-G Tapioca Dinner Rolls Gluten Free -- 9.88 oz
Overall rating:
4 / 5
4 / 5
Great for Thanksgiving
 November 18, 2013
" I bought these last year for Thanksgiving. It was my first year having to go gluten free and I was really depressed about missing out on regular rolls & butter. I bought these having no idea how they'd taste and I was surprisingly pleased. I've bought a couple other tapioca rolls brands since then and have not liked them at all. This is the only brand I recommend so far. "
+4points
4of 4voted this as helpful.
Review 17 for Ener-G Tapioca Dinner Rolls Gluten Free -- 9.88 oz
Overall rating:
1 / 5
1 / 5
fromTN
Age:65-74
Gender:Female
Not much to say
 November 14, 2013
" this has to be the worst gluten free item I have ever purchased. No taste and it leaves a very funny aftertaste in the mouth..all I can say is yuck! "
+1point
1of 1voted this as helpful.